We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Floroom 2

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Floroom 2
Ranked #465 of 660 Florence B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

This lovely 4 bedroom Bed and Breakfast was absolutely delightful. Really centrally located - we could walk to most places in less than 10/15minutes and it is less than 5 minutes walk from the main Santa Novella train station. The whole place was lovely and clean and we absolutely loved the decor - very modern yet chic. There was one host who was there during the morning and made our bed every morning.

We booked the Guest Room but were upgraded to the Deluxe room which was really spacious and consisted of a double bed, a sofa, a wardrobe, air conditioning system and TV with an en suite bathroom including both a shower and a bath tub. Basic amenities such as a hair dryer, shampoo, body wash and towels were also provided. Our bedroom, due to the central location, overlooked a street which gets quite noisy with revellers at night but I am a light sleeper and it did not seem to affect my sleep.

Our lovely host laid out breakfast for us every morning in the communal kitchen which consisted of fresh fruit, cheese, cold meats, bread, cereal, yogurt with juice and hot drinks. The kitchen also had delightful little touches like biscuits and pastries which you can help yourself to through the date. The fridge was also stocked with cold cokes and there was a coffee machine and tea set up too. There is a small communal living room space with sofas where you can watch TV or a DVD. There is also complimentary Wi-Fi available throughout.

We felt very independent staying here as we had our own codes to enter the building and our bedroom. The host was not around in the afternoons/evening which wasn't too much of a problem for us. The B&B is set up a few flights of stairs and there is no lift. Again, this wasn't an issue for us (the host helped us bring our bags up) but might be worth considering if you have any mobility issues.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Momina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    8
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
21
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
154 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

The B&B is in the centre of Florence close to all the main attractions, lovely trattorias around. Being in the centre it is a bit noisy with all the motor bikes and cars.
We had room 8. It was nice, well appointed. Albeit for the thin towels that were supplied. You would think hen paying in town prices the towels would be better. There was wifi for the hotel. Breakfast included. All in all a pleasant experience. Pack light as you have to climb 3 sets of stairs to get to the B&B. The service gentleman was very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaliki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

This upmarket B&B is in a fantastic location in Florence being near the train station and all the sights but for €200 a night I expected at least to feel comfortable. Room 5 was small, which is not necessarily a problem but with a bathroom laid out in a wardrobe/sliderobe space with toilet on the left (1.5 ft from the head of the bed), shower in the middle and wash hand basin on the right, it felt claustrophobic. I did not feel comfortable in the shower at all, in fact the set-up made me feel a bit ill. I've never commented on sites like this but felt compelled to after my stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GrandC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

Stayed last summer and thought this place was very cool. Its all about location, its no more than 10 mins walk from everything in Florence, in fact most of the big attractions are 5 mins away tops. This makes it a perfect base that you can pop back to for a free coffee, coke or biscotti to collect your thoughts or dump your shopping. So what actually is it? Its a handful of rooms with a shared lounge and kitchen. Every morning we were served breakfast by a cheery Thai/Italian guy, who was really welcoming. We had room 5, which is undoubtedly small with the bathroom basically in a triple wardrobe......it is tiny. I have read the other reviews about the web access and TV channels, but Florence is all about the architecture, food, art and shopping. If you are looking to lounge around the room, then go somewhere else, that isn't Florence! Would recommend as it feels typically Italian when you access your private little haven off a cobbled street.

Room Tip: the rooms are tiny, if you can trade up to a bigger one then do it! If not, get out and enjoy Flore...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Honestly I had a hugh expectation of Mrandmrssmith FLOROOM 2. The location was amazong, but the service and details HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!

The internet was so slow that it didnt even open a web page, the TV I guees was via satellite and it kept loosing reception every 10 seconds (literally), so I couldnt watch anything at all!!!!!! And the towels, both days, smelled horrible!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I didnt expect this from Mrandmrssmith, specially paying 200 EUROS per day

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bzambranog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile

Great little hotel! Feels like you are in somebody's apartment (somebody with great design taste). A kitchen and living room which you can use and where you can hang out. Rooms are small (actually tiny) but its very clean, friendly and top modern design. Also, in a city where hotel living is very expensive this is a great value for money at a location that's "spot on" for central Florence! I'll easily go back!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1234CN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Good location in the centre of Florence, easy to find from SM Novella train station. Accommodation was very good, clean, modern, air-con, coffee & pastries. Very attentive house-keeper chap who booked us in and arranged the breakfast each day. Entry to the front door, apartment and your room is all via a secure code so do make sure you have this before you arrive. We booked through Mr&Mrs Smith and there was a bit of confusion as we should have been given the code with the booking. Still a quick call to the owner, who spoke very good English and we were in.
As for sightseeing, the centre was very busy, with lots of tourists queuing for tickets and then queuing to get into the museums. In the end we did not bother wasting time queuing and walked along the riverside and up a steep hill to the Boboli gardens and Palazzo Pitti. There are great views from here to the Duomo. Also worth walking up to the piazza Michelangelo for the views but leave it until later in the afternoon when there are fewer tourists.
Climbing up the Duomo tower was the highlight. Look for the smaller side entrance, no queue in the morning as all the tourists seemed to head for the main entrance, which does not access the tower.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachellovelock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Sole
Hotel Sole
#150 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Scoti
Hotel Scoti
#206 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Duomo
Room Mate Isabella
Room Mate Isabella
#37 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Rosso 23
Rosso 23
#119 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Duomo
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
#141 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
AM Collection Florence
AM Collection Florence
#115 of 660 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floroom 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floroom 2

Property: Floroom 2
Address: via del Sole 2, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #465 of 660 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Floroom 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing