We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE place to stay in Florence for an authentic feel of the City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palazzo Tolomei Residenza d'Epoca
Ranked #7 of 660 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“THE place to stay in Florence for an authentic feel of the City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

Just back from a stay at the Palazzo Tolomei and it was everything we hoped for and more. It was very central, minutes from any of the main sights and just over a 5 minute walk from the Train and Bus Stations. Daisy and Daniella were extremely helpful and booked our Museum tickets in advance (which I urge everyone who visits Florence to do) as well as giving us advice on where to eat, best restaurants and value for money, etc. The room was vast, with lovely homely touches such as chocolates and biscuits in our room as well as a fab bottle of Tuscan red and 2 glasses to toast our stay! I admit I am not easily pleased but cannot fault the accommodation or indeed the hosts! The Palazzo gives guests a true insight to Florentine living and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trishamcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    48
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
82
326
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

The long and short of it is that this place is very unique. The service is incredibly personal and the room was sensationally beautiful. To have a 17th century fresco that was apainted for the wedding night of royalty above your bed is something that you will be hard pushed to find elsewhere, even in Florence. Daniella and her staff were amazingly helpful. Gifts of Champagne and Chianti made it a real touch. Just out of the bedlam that is weekend Florence up a little alley. Hidden gems are hard to find!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djdando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

A fantastic location just minutes from the Duomo and Accademia. We were there for New Years Eve and Daisy and Daniella could not have been more welcoming and helpful with information about what was open during the holidays and what to do on NYE. Travelling with 7 people from 2 families (3 adults and 4 teenagers) was a challenge, but they made it easy by giving us extra rooms in a palazzo just up the street which had only just been renovated - modern, spacious and comfortable. Stay here if you are going to Florence!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redaussi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2010

This is a fantastic place to stay in a fantastic location. Beautiful rooms, everytihnfg you could want to see in Florence is within easy walking distance and the staff couldnt be more helpful. When we arrived Danielle had left chocolates and champagne in the room after being told that it was my girlfriends birthday, and throughout the whole stay she couldnt have been more helpful, from directions to restaurant bookings. Thank you very much for a wonderful stay, I have never been made to feel so welcome on a stay at anywhere, Hotel or Bed and Breakfast. Simply put, i cannot reccomend this place enough!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martay174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

very majestic gorgeous old palace in an incredible location like 2 blocks from duomo! The photos are what it really looks like. Secret entrance is unmarked as this is not a cookie-cutter hotel. We booked a room for 4 ppl as we had our kids ages 9 and 15 but when we arrived we were given two separate rooms which worked great for us. The kids were way up in a little room at the top of a winding staircase - very castle like. In between us and them was our bathroom, which was gorgeous and had all the amenities. Our room was fabulous and actually had a small sofa bed too. The kids being so far away was ok since they were older but I would have worried had they been younger as there could be access from the common area. Also, their room did not have A/C which they did not seem to mind but would have been bad in August. There was a mini fridge and coffee - tea maker as well as lots of complimentary yummy goodies and wine in our room. Danielle was very helpful with dinner reservations, maps, and books and she was so kind. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2010

Palazzo Tolomei was a wonderful experience! Daniela and Daisy made us feel right at home while making sure our honeymoon was truly special. The location is ideal for walking everywhere and they are a wealth of information regarding restaurants, attractions etc. I would recommend this Palazzo to anyone wanting to stay somewhere other than a typical hotel. It is a very special place.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah200000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2010

This cute residence is run by Sig. Daniela and her secretary Daisy. They made us feel very comfortable. The accomodation is located at the 1st floor of a renaissance palace (there is a lift), just 2min away on foot from piazza San Lorenzo. Location is optimal, with a small supermarket just a couple of doors away and a pharmacy up the road.

We booked the baldacchino apartment which is roomy, nicely decorated and overlooks the street. The atmosphere is very romantic with a 4 poster bed, lots of candles and a lovely fresco on the ceiling. Even though described as an apartment, it is really a large room with a small sink, mini-fridge and 1 electric burner hob tucked away in a nice cupboard. There was also a small grill/oven (similar to the size of a small microwave) in which we were able to cook some small frozen snacks. The bathroom is not very spcious but does have a hydro-massage bath. There is also a comfy sofa and a large dining table.

The only slight problem we encountered was the noise which came from the outside on the first night mainly due to noisy passer-bys. Unfortunately our short 3 night visit to Florence coincided with the national culture week and the city was super full with tourists especially students. On the other 2 nights we slept alright and bought ear plugs just in case (which we didn't really use). Furthermore sig. Daniela let us know she was intending to install double glazed windows, which would render this apartment-suite flawless.

This is a good place to base yourself in Florence if you are looking for a spacious room with character at a very reasonable price. The very helpful sig. Daniela and Daisy render the experience even more special.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#5 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#28 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,228 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,421 reviews
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#2 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Tolomei Residenza d'Epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Tolomei Residenza d'Epoca

Property: Palazzo Tolomei Residenza d'Epoca
Address: Via Ginori 19, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 660 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palazzo Tolomei Residenza d'Epoca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzo Tolomei Residenza d'Epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Tolomei Residenza d`Epoca Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing