We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HoneyMoon at Palazzo Tolomei” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo Tolomei Residenza d'Epoca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palazzo Tolomei Residenza d'Epoca
Ranked #7 of 653 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Athens
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“HoneyMoon at Palazzo Tolomei”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

The hospitality is excellent and very friendly .The welcome was surprising good from Daniella our new Italian friend! We stained there for 3 nights for our honeymoon , and we will definitely go for our first anniversary . The Palazzo is at the center of Florence , We thought we saw Leonardo da Vinci painting Mona Liza in our bathroom! Rooms are great and roofs are greater. The wooden roof seems to be there for ages but the atmosphere is fresh and clean.It seems like we went a trip into the past.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rock S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    47
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
80
324
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

The most extraordinary place I've ever stayed; luxury, stylish with extremely friendly and personal service. The owner Daniela is a fantastic personality who makes the clients really feel welcome. The rest of the staff was also very professional and friendly. The suite had everything you can wish and the room was very spacy. The overall interior decoration was a fabulous mixture of antique and modern design, only Italians can this. The breakfast was arranged in a nice cozy restaurant just around the corner and was very good compared to the normal Italian standard.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pokis_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

What to say..............

Firstly, if you are thinking of staying here stop thinking and book it!

Secondly, The hotel is very centrally located and is absolutely beautiful. We spent our days enjoying the museums and historic sights of Florence and then went back to stay in a hotel which features incredible frescoes from the 14th century, it was like staying in a museum, a little piece of history.

And last but no means least, Daniella (owner) and Clara made our stay so special. Having a break from our 5 children (all under the age of 12) is a rariety. Daniella and Clara were unbelievable, we were made to feel special and very well taken care of. We really appreciated the break and all they did.

Daniella and Clara, if you read this..... thank you very much.

Jim and Natasha (without the 5 children)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank james w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

This was probably overall the nicest place I have ever stayed. It really was an old palace, exactly where I wanted to stay in Florence. The property was ideally located close to the Duomo, yet surprisingly quiet and filled with soft, natural light. The entire property, including our suite, was beautifully decorated in a contemporary style which nicely contrasted with the opulence of a past time. Not some people's style, but I loved it! I attached some unfiltered photos taken with my iPhone.

Our suite was large enough for a family. We had a kitchen with a large refrigerator and everything that we could possibly need (not that we had any desire to cook!) and the best wifi during our stay in Italy. Small, thoughtful touches were around every corner: A Nespresso machine in the common areas. (Why does it taste better than ours at home?!), travel books, DVDs and games in case you get bored, a basket with items that one might find helpful such as a lint roller.

The staff was helpful and friendly. The owner Daniela loves her work and it shows. She gave up her previous position as a doctor to run this palace with 10 rooms/suites. When we first arrived, we had planned on a lunch out and some sightseeing. Our suite was so beautiful, I didn't want to leave. My husband coaxed me out with promises of pasta and gelato. If I ever make it back to Florence, I am staying here!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SonyaAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromma, Sweden
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Me and my husband have just stayed 2 nights in Palazzo Tolomei in Florence.
We had their biggest suite which was just as beautiful as in the photos with ancient
paintings covering the whole ceiling in the room which was huge.
We had just booked 1 night - but could not resist staying another night - thats how good
it was - it has never happened before. Much due to the wonderful Daniella who like a fairy
magically created reservations to things and restaurants we never could have found ourselves.
Daniella and her staff are just the right people doing the right thing in life, they love serving and
helping their guests and they treat them like their own dear friends. We felt like home.
There are also several other beautiful lounges with nice sofas which you as a guest can use, filled with music, hundreds of books about Florence and other interesting things. Water and wine, pastry, fruits - everthing for you. The breakfast is outside the Palazzo in a nice café where we had fresh squeezed orange juice, croissants, omelette with cheese, ham and tomatoes and capucchino. Also here a very friendly staff which made you feel welcome.
If you want to treat yourself to something extra, stay at Palazzo Tolomei Residenza dÉpoca

Room Tip: We stayed in their best suite - which was expensive - but so worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YlvaBromma_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

We arrived at the Palazzo Tolomei at around 7.30pm and we were instantly and graciously greeted by Chiara at the door. We were taken into the reception area where we met with Daniella, the owner. They were both so friendly and hospitable. We were offered coffee and 'the best cake in Florence' (which, for the record, it definitely was!)

We stayed in room Bianca, which is the smallest room in the Palazzo. However, it was perfectly sized for us. The bathroom and its various amenities were perfect. The room was extremely clean and the bed was very comfortable.

The location of Palazzo Tolomei is perfect. We got around on foot at all times (in spite of the heat and our extremely tired feet). Its location is also convenient since it is around a 10 minute walk to the train/main bus station.

The breakfast at ZaZa (literally round the corner) was great too. The menu offered a great variety. However, we actually chose to have coffee and a croissant or a piece of torta from the hotel itself on most of the days.

It is honestly a perfect choice for one's stay in Florence. Staying at the Palazzo Tolomei just fits in perfectly with the historical and cultural Florentine experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelandfood86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Daniela and her staff were absolutely fantastic! We stayed 2 nights in May 2013. The moment we arrived, we were greeted with the best service you can possibly ask for! You are offered beverages (alcohol included) and sweets upon check-in. There are guidebooks and historical books to use. Daniela and Chiara provided reservations & great tips on shopping, galleries and museums. Make one at Giovanni's because you will not regret it! We'd do anything to teleport there now. The palazzo has been restored to admire the architecture, sculptures, and frescoes. Each room is private, clean, quiet and absolutely stunning! To summarize, topnotch service, perfect location, clean, comfortable beds, quiet and great price! We were so sad to leave, but will be back for sure!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Souksavane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,985 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,395 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#28 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Tolomei Residenza d'Epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Tolomei Residenza d'Epoca

Property: Palazzo Tolomei Residenza d'Epoca
Address: Via Ginori 19, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 653 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palazzo Tolomei Residenza d'Epoca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Palazzo Tolomei Residenza d'Epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Tolomei Residenza d`Epoca Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing