We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem in Florence” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo Tolomei Residenza d'Epoca

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Palazzo Tolomei Residenza d'Epoca
Ranked #7 of 653 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

From the moment you step foot into Palazzo Tolomei - Residenza D'Epoca you will walk around in a daze, trying to take in the beauty, elegance and charm of this beautiful accommodation. We were fortunate to be given a de-luxe room which was decorated to the highest standard, and oozed style and class, offering the most amazing facilities, the bed was just ‘to die for”!.
The guests are invited to make use of the beautiful communal rooms, which are just breath taking. It is as if you are truly living in a Palace with the exquisite furnishings and painted ceilings.
You will greeted and made to feel so at home by the wonderful staff, Daniella, Daisy and Michael, who are amazing and cannot do enough to help you, whether it be to arrange reservations for the museums or to recommend and book your evening meal. Pastries and snacks are on offer during the day for guests to help themselves and breakfast taken at a local coffee shop around the corner. Location could not be better, within two or three minutes you were in the centre.
We have been fortunate to have travelled extensively and I must say this is one of the most beautiful places we have ever stayed. It is a “hidden gem”, a must for those looking for something a little extra special. Daniella and her staff make this place memorable for their guests and from the minute you arrive are made to feel like one of the family!
A little advice if you are driving to Florence, due to parking restrictions and costs we left our car on the outskirts near “Media City” car parking is free, and right next to the tram which takes you into Florence Centre euro 1.20 each way, and only takes 10 minutes.

Room Tip: Book direct with Daniella, you will get the best deal this way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiltonsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    47
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
82
325
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Groton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed at the Palazzo Tolomei last week and, thanks to our host, Daniella, had a magical experience! The room was amazing with a full kitchen, 2 bedrooms, and a covered porch that looked out over the rooftops of Florence. Church bells wake you each morning. Original frescos on the ceiling of many of the rooms of this centuries old palace where Raphael once lived. But the best thing about the Palazzo Tolomei was Daniella. She booked us reservations at restaurants that American visitors wouldn't find on their own or get seats on busy weekend nights. Mostly locals eat there, not filled with American tourists. The food was amazing! The hotel is a very short (less than 5 minutes) walking distance from the Duomo (the center of town) and just another 5 minutes to any major sight you'd want to visit in Florence. This palace is Daniella's home and very quickly, you'll fell like it is yours as well -- if only for a few nights. Don't miss it!

Room Tip: Location and history, rolled into one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaymanCarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel that makes your feel like you are truly in Italy. The staff makes you feel like family. They are welcoming and warm. This is a unique and wonderful hotel. You will be happy if you book here. The hotel was centrally located and easy to walk everything Florence. Hotel includes coffee in your room and free breakfast at a nearby restaurant. Also, they have pastries in the morning.

Wonderful stay at this hotel. The top floor room has a view that is worth it!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kristen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

What a treat to stay at Palazzo Tolomei! Welcomed warmly with high regard for our needs (we arrived late and night and because we let them know of our late arrival made very kind accommodations for us). The rooms are large, the common spaces uniquely Florentine and the staff - classy cool and informative. Well located, nice touches like coffee, tea and sweets. The room is well equipped to bring home snacks from the lovely market close by! It was our first trip and the great staff at Palazzo Tolomei made it a fantastic time, Grazie D, M and D!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

I called in to the hotel in April to enquire about staying there when I was coming back to Florence for another visit. I found the staff most helpful and they showed me one of the beautiful rooms. The reception area alone is beautiful and the welcome was like family.. I am certainly looing forward to staying in the future in the Palazzo

Room Tip: they only have a small number of rooms so book well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stepjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed three nights in Palazzo Tolomei and will definitely return there. We did not live in a room, but in an apartment, with kitchen, dressing, bathroom, one room for the child, one room for the parents. The way to the room is a museum. The reception is a museum. The inner court is the inner court of a Tuscan medieval palace. The other family lived in an apartment preceded by a video room and a palazzo dining room. The reception is an exhibition of fine arts. Silence. Discretion. Good taste. Daniela Agnelli (that family, yes) is a wonderful host. Upon arrival you are served with Chianti wine and home made cake. Maintaining excellent links with other Florence businesses - special treatment dining at their recommended locations we were served Prosecco on behalf of the Palazzo Tolomei. Rich Italian breakfast 150 m from the Palazzo. Always in the search for best options for the guests in terms of guided tours, Florence cards, transfers, etc. 1 minute walk from San Lorenzo and Medici Chapels, several minutes walk from Piazza Republica or the Dome. Parking can be arranged at a neighboring garage - they took care of cancelling the fine for entering the restricted area. The marks for the quality of service and stay are not incidental - there is the knowledge, wisdom and art of doing tourism in Florence that is rewarded with tourists gratitude, appreciation and ranking.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valeriu_Binig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Let me just say that Daniella is the most wonderful host. She's honest, and genuinely nice to her guests, not just because she's required to be. Our room was beautiful, and although everything exudes luxury, and fairy tale, you can still feel homey.
I would recommend Palazzo Tolomei to anyone!

Grazie di tutto, Daniella, sei meravigliosa!

Edita

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edita2907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#28 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,197 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,401 reviews
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#2 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Tolomei Residenza d'Epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Tolomei Residenza d'Epoca

Property: Palazzo Tolomei Residenza d'Epoca
Address: Via Ginori 19, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 653 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palazzo Tolomei Residenza d'Epoca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Palazzo Tolomei Residenza d'Epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Tolomei Residenza d`Epoca Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing