We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best food and service we had in Florence”

Ristorante Accademia
Ranked #121 of 2,703 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$45
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: San Marco
Description: Restaurant Accademia is a family-run restaurant. Food and art are our passions. Our clients are a glorious mix of locals (lots of professors from the Art Academy around the corner) and new friends from around the globe. Our aim is to provide you with a memorable dining experience, whilst having fun, meeting people, and perhaps learning something that we are happy to share regards food and wine. An unforgettable experience.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best food and service we had in Florence”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This restaurant was outstanding and the service superb. The waiters went out of their way to make us welcome without being obsequious. The stand out dishes were mussel soup and artichoke and shrimp pasta. Had we had another night in Florence (it was our last) we would have returned.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Polly_B_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RistoranteAccademia, Owner at Ristorante Accademia, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
That is what we aim for - we want everyone to feel welcome and comfortable and well-fed. Thanks for letting us know it worked out for you! We wish you had had another night in Florence as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    889
    376
    117
    40
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely evening for a special occasion.”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We were warmly welcomed and the staff were all very attentive. We had the taster menu, they accommodated the one vegetarian in our party well and for the price of 46€ per head with wine we felt it was excellent value. There was a wait between courses but this was not a problem as we enjoyed the atmosphere in the restaurant and happily spent the whole evening there. The waiter (Cush) was very knowledgeable and entertaining.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TStein53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RistoranteAccademia, Owner at Ristorante Accademia, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this - feedback is so so important to us. Glad it was a good experience for you and that Kush kept things running smoothly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A "Must-to-visit" Restaurant in Firenze, Italy”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This was the only restaurant we've eaten twice in our 12-days trip in Italy... Just great... good food, excellent service... the toscano bread in a paper bag is great.. We had Gran tagliere misto del banconiere, Strudel di funghi con semi di papavero alla salsa di parmigiano (the best appetizer ever!), Gnocchi al formaggi and al pomodoro, Lasagne al forno casarecce, Lasagnette di grano saraceno al ragù d’agnello e mandorle tostate (one of the best pasta I've ever tried!!) and a HUGE Grilled Pork Chop alla toscana... The house wine.. great.. the best Tiramisu .. everuthing was great.. the service is awesome... A place to repeat.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RistoranteAccademia, Owner at Ristorante Accademia, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
We almost felt hungry ourselves reading this! Glad it worked for you - twice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“TOP QUALITY RESTAURANT”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

What a great find! We chose this lovely restaurant for our first night's dinner, based on its standing on Trip Advisor. The food was memorable, the service excellent, and the prices very reasonable. Every mouthful of the food was lovely and we enjoyed our visit very much.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alaskan_red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RistoranteAccademia, Owner at Ristorante Accademia, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Yippee! That's what we are all about. Thank you for finding us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All round fantastic! Will return to Florence just for the meal!”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Accademia is a modest, warm and familiar feeling restaurant which just happens to contain the best meal I've ever experienced in my life (Not an understatement either). The service was very warm and attentive. They made us feel welcome and treated us with a glass of sparkling wine each before we were seated. We treated ourselves and shared a steak which was a minimum order of 1kg! Costing 45 euros. The food was so tender and full of flavour that it blew my mind. I'm 35 and experienced my fair share of restaurants around the world. Food, good quality house wine, service and just the general feel of the place all combined made it the best restaurant experience we've ever had. It was so good that we returned later the same week after experiencing a number of other recommended restaurants and this was clearly the best. We tried different meals the second time round and these didn't disappoint either. We we're remembered by the staff and rewarded with a few extra treats such as an extra complementary appetiser and a schnapps each to finish off the meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RistoranteAccademia, Proprietario at Ristorante Accademia, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
You can have no idea how satisfying it is to have people come more than once on their trip and still be pleased! First time experiences can sometimes create unbearably high expectations of something even better second time around. Glad the magic still held for you. Thanks so much for choosing us, and when you have the chance, pop over for dinner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Accademia also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Ristorante Accademia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing