We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“really Italian” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Barrino

Il Barrino
Ranked #409 of 2,660 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$27
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“really Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Located on via Gioberti. Authentic Toscanian food. Both owner and personnel are affable. Asked to recommend me wine, and got Canaverso. Wine was too bad to drink. They changed the bottle to another one (Chianti) with no extra charge. We shared Tomato Mozzarela (4), Fresh pasta with truffles (5+), florentine steak (4) and pannacota (5). Good experience. A bit noisy, but it's typical Italian.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ernestomos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    173
    54
    23
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice restaurant a bit away from the maddening crowd”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

We had this restaurant recommended by our hotel, and we had a very nice meal at a very reasonable price. Good priced/value relationship. Friendly service and good "ambiance".

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pederfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
209 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Inconsistent, slow and disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

It is a decent restaurant, but the food served is by and large inconsistent and the service is slow and quite casual. Shrimps in Italian style, which I had, were tasting sea but, it was overcooked; stew in Chianti, was thick in sauce and over salty, which made me to think that the sauce wasn't fresh. Salad was really disaapointing. Wines in the menu unacceptably expensive. On the other hand the risotto was tasty, but not creamy as it should. Avoid the desserts, as they either very basic or tasteless such as Tiramisu. This restaurant is obviously taking so many short cuts as it is largely serving the tourists. Lastly, when the bill came I suspected that I was overcharged, but I left the restaurant instead of asking about the inflated bill.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank erolys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very good local trattoria 10 minute taxi ride from Ponte Vecchio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

This was a recommendation from Florentine friends who dined with us. We were 6 people so we had the opportunity to try many dishes on the menu. We rated this excellent as every dish was exactly what we hoped for in a local trattoria. The owner was very gracious as well as all the staff. Even though we had a reservation we waited about 20-30 minutes at the bar but the time passed quickly with a few glasses of Prosecco on the house. This is a busy place and it seemed half local and half visitors to the city. Wine selection very good. If you want to get out of the crush of center city Florence take a walk to the VIa Gioberti and enjoy this trattoria. We shared a bistecca...for the table...was cooked to perfection.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mixyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

What a great find. Recommended by the hotel. Real authentic Italian food and atmosphere. Great service, great value, great food. The florentine steak for meat lovers is a must! Make sure two of you are prepared - it's for sharing. Very friendly and helpful staff. Would definitely go back if visiting Florence again. Sort of set the standard for good dining.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Barrino also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Il Barrino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing