We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For locals ………………. and gournet tourists”

Antica Trattoria Il Barrino
Ranked #457 of 2,744 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$27
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Washington
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“For locals ………………. and gournet tourists”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Small restaurant frequented by locals. Went there with a five long time Florentines and I was the only foreigner in the place. It is out of the way from tourist spots, although still in the middle of town. For most visitors it will have to include a taxi ride. It is a family run place, with personal touch, with customers that have going for ages.

The food is indeed local for locals, not local for tourists, as other places advertise. Yes, they have the bisteca fiorentina and regular pasta, but……….. In our table we had such specialties such as beef cheeks in wine sauce, deep fried brains, pasta with tripe, fried rabbit and the traditional pasta with ragout and some salads. If you are ready to try something different, this is it. I had pasta with beef ragout as first course and slightly breaded fried rabbit as a second course (frito fiorentino). It took me a while to realize it was rabbit, I thought it was deep fried chicken. It came with fried artichokes. It was very delicate. For desert I wife had a breaded calf chop and it was one of the best I have ever tried. We had an extraordinary apple strudel.

Recommended for those that are tired of pizza and pasta

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank antoniov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    187
    57
    28
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rockport, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Rip Off”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Went to this restaurant for dinner and spent a fortune! They definitely knew we were tourist and took advantage of us! It is a nice small restaurant and the food was OK, but they way overcharged us! As soon as the restaurant got busy, the locals got all the attention and we just sat there!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tatonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“really Italian”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Located on via Gioberti. Authentic Toscanian food. Both owner and personnel are affable. Asked to recommend me wine, and got Canaverso. Wine was too bad to drink. They changed the bottle to another one (Chianti) with no extra charge. We shared Tomato Mozzarela (4), Fresh pasta with truffles (5+), florentine steak (4) and pannacota (5). Good experience. A bit noisy, but it's typical Italian.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ernestomos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice restaurant a bit away from the maddening crowd”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We had this restaurant recommended by our hotel, and we had a very nice meal at a very reasonable price. Good priced/value relationship. Friendly service and good "ambiance".

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pederfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Inconsistent, slow and disappointing”
Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

It is a decent restaurant, but the food served is by and large inconsistent and the service is slow and quite casual. Shrimps in Italian style, which I had, were tasting sea but, it was overcooked; stew in Chianti, was thick in sauce and over salty, which made me to think that the sauce wasn't fresh. Salad was really disaapointing. Wines in the menu unacceptably expensive. On the other hand the risotto was tasty, but not creamy as it should. Avoid the desserts, as they either very basic or tasteless such as Tiramisu. This restaurant is obviously taking so many short cuts as it is largely serving the tourists. Lastly, when the bill came I suspected that I was overcharged, but I left the restaurant instead of asking about the inflated bill.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank erolys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Antica Trattoria Il Barrino also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Antica Trattoria Il Barrino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing