We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem in Florence.”

Antica Trattoria "IL BARRINO"
Ranked #432 of 2,676 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$27
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in Florence.”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We loved the owner Margaritte, her friendly staff, the food {mama mia} and the ambiance! This place was so special that we went back the following night. My sister and her family went last month to Florence and upon my advise dined there as well and loved the experience, The trattoria has been in business since the 20's in the same family. I sent a birthday card for my sister to the restaurant and it was presented on the night of her birthday. I cannot say enough good things about this place, if you have one choice, make it here and enjoy the fabulous company of these dedicated Florentines! You might be the only non-italian there so practice up on you phrases! Grazie di tutto! ci torneremo! Thank you for everything, we will return!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank robertnkenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    177
    55
    26
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Turn around”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Went to this restaurant as reccomended by my hotel. My husband and I were the first to arrive and ordered the ozzo bucco and guinea fowl. Both meat dishes were very fatty and we had to ask for a glass of chianti since all they showed was bottles on the menu. While sitting there we had to deal with the mosquitos whuch does not say nice place for dinner. We asked for the check and then waited for 25 minutes until I walked up to the front to pay for it since they were clearly ignoring us. A waste of money and time and I would turn back around and find another oseteria in the area. There are several around.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank texastravelersrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“For locals ………………. and gournet tourists”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Small restaurant frequented by locals. Went there with a five long time Florentines and I was the only foreigner in the place. It is out of the way from tourist spots, although still in the middle of town. For most visitors it will have to include a taxi ride. It is a family run place, with personal touch, with customers that have going for ages.

The food is indeed local for locals, not local for tourists, as other places advertise. Yes, they have the bisteca fiorentina and regular pasta, but……….. In our table we had such specialties such as beef cheeks in wine sauce, deep fried brains, pasta with tripe, fried rabbit and the traditional pasta with ragout and some salads. If you are ready to try something different, this is it. I had pasta with beef ragout as first course and slightly breaded fried rabbit as a second course (frito fiorentino). It took me a while to realize it was rabbit, I thought it was deep fried chicken. It came with fried artichokes. It was very delicate. For desert I wife had a breaded calf chop and it was one of the best I have ever tried. We had an extraordinary apple strudel.

Recommended for those that are tired of pizza and pasta

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank antoniov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockport, Washington
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Rip Off”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Went to this restaurant for dinner and spent a fortune! They definitely knew we were tourist and took advantage of us! It is a nice small restaurant and the food was OK, but they way overcharged us! As soon as the restaurant got busy, the locals got all the attention and we just sat there!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tatonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“really Italian”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Located on via Gioberti. Authentic Toscanian food. Both owner and personnel are affable. Asked to recommend me wine, and got Canaverso. Wine was too bad to drink. They changed the bottle to another one (Chianti) with no extra charge. We shared Tomato Mozzarela (4), Fresh pasta with truffles (5+), florentine steak (4) and pannacota (5). Good experience. A bit noisy, but it's typical Italian.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ernestomos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Antica Trattoria "IL BARRINO" also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Antica Trattoria "IL BARRINO"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing