We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip Advisor - what are we missing? This place was a dump!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
Ranked #46 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Trip Advisor - what are we missing? This place was a dump!”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Lets start off by saying we always utilize Trip Advisor and have written almost 30 reviews ourselves. However, we have never disagreed with reviews or rankings like at this hotel.
I also want to preface this with saying that during our 2+ week vacation in Italy we stayed at 10 hotels and gave every one of them (because we did our Trip Advisor homeowork) an excellent (9 out of 10 hotels) or very good ranking.
Then there was this "hotel".
First off it is located in a Piazza that is filled with dirty homeless drunks asking you for money, broken beer bottles, the smell of urine, etc.
To enter you go through a large wooden door (that closes very slowely by itself leaving the outside vagrants a possibility of entering if they wish) into a dirty corridor that has businesses, residences, etc. in it.
An elevator or a few flights of stairs up is the "hotel" which has a small room for a lobby and then a few hotel rooms that actually opend into the lobby. We stayed in the Residence downstairs (since we were travelling with 2 children) which had two bedrooms.
In the floors between the hotel and us were some businesses. The whole security issue seemed weird with an old skeleton key as th room key and you could not lock the room unless you had the key on the inside (i.e. no deadbolt). So if I left to run an errand (with my family inside) they had an unlocked door or I had to lock them inside becuase I needed the same key to get out the other door into the hallway.
The room was dark, filthy and sparse. Our feet were black after taking a shower and walking accross the room floor. The A/C barely kept the room at 80 degrees. Our shower cycled between scalding hot and ice. The paint was peeling in the bathroom and the shower was lit with a light bulb hanigng from a wire.
The breakfast was far and away the worst on our trip out of 10 hotels.
When we checked in the young man that let us in couldn't find keys to our room and didn't know how to turn the A/C on.
The positives were that there was a nice veranda to enjoy the view of Florence.
The hotel did let us check out a day early after they called a plumber and could not get the water heater fixed.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Travelopalooza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferdinando2, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, 21 August 2011
Good evening,

First of all I'd like to apologise for the standard of your stay. If you found the cleanliness not up to standards, I apologise and greatly appreciate your feedback as this permits me to be more cautious in the daily inspections. Although I have to say, this came as quite a shock as we are very diligent in this field as we are in all fields respectively.
The Palazzo Guadagni is spread across two levels in a very old historic palazzo. For most clients, this enhances the trip. You clearly didn't fall under its charm, I don't know how much I should or can apologise for this.
There is only so much work you can do on state owned property as they are protected and preserved by state rule for cultural heritage reasons. As such, the archaic, antique doors remain but they are in no way less secure.

Our breakfast is continental. We serve a variety of fresh fruit, fresh fruit salads, different pastries and buns fresh from the baker, butter, jams, honey or nutella,, milk, any kind of coffee in existence, hot chocolate, fruit juices and cereals. As far as a continental breakfast goes, it definitely fits the bill.

We are so sorry the air conditioning wasn't working in the room. Some of these mistakes are unforeseeable and unpredictable and you were very unlucky. I can utterly sympathise with you and your frustration, especially in the heat of mid July.

I think it is fair to say that from the positivity of all the other reviews we have received, your stay is not what to expect from the Palazzo Guadagni, it is exceptional and for this reason we are extremely sorry you were the only ones the bad luck fell on.

Our best regards and most sincere apologies, Team Palazzo Guadagni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    264
    53
    14
    7
See reviews for
184
650
48
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Every year there are added amenities at Palazzo Guadagni which enhance the previous year’s visit. The rooms are spacious, filled with lovely antique furniture, beautiful fabrics and each has a large private bathroom with modern fixtures and hand painted tiles. No two rooms are alike.
You can eat breakfast in the morning in the sun-filled breakfast room, or sit outside on the loggia.
Palazzo Guadagni is distinct from other “hotels” in that you feel as if you are a guest in someone’s home. Wide hallways are filled with plants and sofas; or you can sit outside on the loggia to read, have coffee or a glass of wine. You can enjoy the panoramic view over Firenze and contemplate what the city looked like 500 years ago.
Palazzo Guadagni is located in piazza Santo Spirito where you are conveniently located to shops, restaurants, bars and the Church of Santo Spirito. A short walk from Pitti Palace, Ponte Vecchio and dozens of good restaurants and interesting shops. Just take a walk and admire all of the beautiful architecture and admire the fine artisans restoring mosaics, picture frames, mirrors, chandeliers, tapestries, etc. Let your mind wander and imagine what it was like when Michelangelo and Dante walked these same streets.
If you are looking for a unique experience, you should consider Palazzo Guadagni for your next vacation.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LilyLouLosAngeles_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This was a really great hotel overall.

The only problem was that I had paid for a superior room which I don't actually think I got, our room (No. 7) seemed pretty standard compared to some of them with their wonderful ceilings, but it was very spacious with a beautifully tiled bathroom and antique furniture. I also think the room may have been quieter as it wasn't facing on the piazza which tended to be lively in the evening.

They have a gorgeous breakfast room and breakfast in Continental in style with plenty of choice. The loggia was ideal for chilling out on in the evenings. The best thing was that you really felt like you were getting a taste of Florence here rather than a soulless hotel.

I liked the location in the less touristy Santo Spirito area, I always felt very safe walking around the area or returning late at night, people were always around as there are plenty of great restaurants and bars nearby. Florence is quite small so everything can be reached by foot and I preferred not staying right in the centre.

The staff are very helpful and charming as well. When I return to Florence I would definitely stay here again, it is well priced although I would double check I was in the correct room next time!

Room Tip: Some rooms are exquisite - specify the room if you go for the superior option
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissV22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

This Hotel is a gem. You could not ask for more, perfect location, amazing terrace, the best staff, wonderful rooms.
I have lived here in Florence for a couple of years and i feel that this hotel is in the best best location in florence, when ever i have guests i send them to this hotel as its just so magic and a very special. drinks on the terrace as the sun goes down, you could not ask for a better place to be.
We got married in june and our guests stayed at this hotel, everyone of them was so impressed with the hotel and how very kind the staff were, helping over and above there duty.
really a wonderful place to stay. wonderful places to eat just steps away.
Enjoy this hotel, i know it gets very booked up, we booked it over a year in advance!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ribenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

This is a superb hotel, in a great location, only a short walk from any of the attractions.
Fabulous 'village' vibe with the quaint restaurants directly outside in the piazza and small fresh food markets in the morning.
The owners were very helpful and quite understanding when we returned late for checkout after collecting our car and getting lost in the maze of 1 way streets!
Would love to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen_Alex11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights on our honeymoon. The hotel was very grand and spotlessly clean. There were some really nice reataurants in the square below and it is a short walk to the centre of Florence.
Overall we had an enjoyable stay but we had a bad experience on the morning we were leaving. Our train was leaving for Venice at 9.30am. We enquired the night before about ordering a taxi and were told that we should tell reception staff in the morning to order it. We were up at 7.45 for breakfast and asked could a taxi be booked. We were told that there was no need to book one that when they rang it should only take five minutes to come. At 8.45am the girl behind reception tried to ring for about ten minutes but was unable to get a taxi. She instead suggested that we go and get the bus. Out we went into the rain with our lugguage to look for the bus stop. Bearing in mind this was now 9.05 and Florence like every other city has rush hour traffic. We got to the bus stop only to be greeted by a bus which was packed to the rafters so we were unable to get on it. Eventually we had to ask for directions and literally power walk/run to the train station with our lugguage in the rain. We made it with literally two minute to spare.
To excuse the pun it really put a dampner on our stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claregals29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferdinando2, Owner at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
Dear Mr / Ms,
thank you for your comment.
We are glad you liked your stay to Palazzo Guadagni and your room as well.
We are really sorry about your bad experience with the taxi and we are sorry we couldn't do anythink.
Anyway we hope to see you next time you'll visit Florence.
Looking forward to hearing soon from you, we send our best regards.
Ferdinando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We were in Florence in July as my daughter was doing an art course for 2 weeks. Our stay at this hotel was fantastic! Very clean very friendly helpful staff .Rita made sure we had our favorite pastry every morning. I ended up breaking my foot the last weekend we were there and Laura was checking on me and bringing me coffee to my bed ! Very well run it had such charm and elegance it felt like you were in old world Italy ! We will definitely be back !

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hobble44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferdinando2, Owner at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
Dear Mr / Ms,
thank you for your nice comment about our Hotel.
We are really happy you liked your stay here, our staff and our rooms.
We are sorry for your foot and we hope you'll be better soon.
We are looking forward to seeing soon from you.
Best regards
Ferdinando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#55 of 412 in Florence
794 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#31 of 412 in Florence
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#32 of 412 in Florence
2,296 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#43 of 412 in Florence
2,085 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#35 of 412 in Florence
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Guadagni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Guadagni

Property: Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
Address: Piazza Santo Spirito 9, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palazzo Guadagni 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palazzo Guadagni is located in the Oltrarno district, in a characteristic piazza in the historical centre of Florance, a nighbourhood full of antique shops andold artisans' workshop, just a few minutes walk from the Pitti palace and the Boboli Gardens.The rooms are spacious and rich in atmosphere, found in Palazza Guadagni designed by Simone del Pollaiolo in 1505,have ceilings with frescos, fire places and a wonderful views that looks out onto Florence and the most important buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Guadagni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing