We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost perfect..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
Ranked #49 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Almost perfect..”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I visited Florence in 2010 and stayed near the Duomo unfortunately I came away feeling less than enamoured with the city. So when the opportunity arose to return I did my research and decided to stay on the 'other side' of the Arno. This was the best decision as I have come away with a very different view of this wonderful city.

I spent 3 nights at Palazzo Guadagni with my husband and my Aunt and Uncle. We booked the superior rooms and were convinced we had made the right choice from what we were able to glean from reviews etc prior to arrival. Let me explain the room itself was extremely spacious, the furnishings were simple in an attractive way, the bathroom was spacious. The window on to the piazza santo spirito was huge and the room was full of natural light.

The drawback was the location of the superior room in respect to the common spaces in the hotel which I might add were fantastic. The superior rooms are on the first floor and the rest of the hotel is located up about four flights of stairs with no direct lift access. The other issue with this location was the noise from the piazza which did disturb our sleep every one of the 3 nights as the music and partying went on well into the wee hours backed up shortly after by the daily market stalls setting up at 6 am. Now on the other hand the activity of the piazza was part of the appeal of staying at the hotel if your room was up on the top floor away from the noise.

The check in went smoothly and reception staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. The breakfast room was charming and spacious and the breakfast was great with a good variety of fruits yogurt cereal pastries juice tea coffee etc. We absolutely loved spending some time in the afternoon and evenings having a glass of wine on the verandah and one night in the lounge at the end of the terrace; the views were amazing. The hotel reccommended resturants close by our favorite was Casalinga. Walking around the area was fabulous much less touristed, interesting and yet a short walk across the Ponte Vecchio or Santa Trinita to the historical centre.

So to sum up I give this hotel the thumbs up and yes I would return. I would request a room on the top floor maybe room 12 as another reviewer has indicated as a good choice. I would feel more connected to the wonderful aspects of this hotel and removed from the night time noise. Why pay extra for a superior room when you risk experiencing the drawbacks as we did?

Room Tip: Be aware the superior rooms at the front of the building may come with night time and early morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Europe2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    259
    52
    13
    7
See reviews for
178
627
48
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Stayed for 4 nights and had a great experience - stayed in Room 12 which is on the same floor as the reception, breakfast room and veranda.
Large room and large bathroom - both very clean and well maintained.
Location was just perfect.... only 15 mins walk from train station, and very close to Ponto Vecchio, Duomo, and all the main sights.
Staff were very helpful with any questions we had and made a point of finding out the answer.
Breafast is served until 10am and is the usual continental selection with refreshing fruit salad to get the tastebuds going.
Only downside with our stay was that Room 12 has the linen closets on the landing area directly outside and the staff would start around 8am ish - (not chatting) but you could hear constant rustling from the plastic covers the sheets and towels were stored in. Not really an issue as it got us up and out of the bed in plenty of time to see the city sights.... besides I am a light sleeper, so this may not bother most people.
Would not hesitate to recommend or stay here again....Florence is amazing and everyday was a real pleasure.

Room Tip: Our room (11) overlooked the side street & associated roof tops so did not encounter any noise f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thegeordies40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

My friend and I recently stayed at this fabulous hotel in the Oltrarno. We had a very nice, huge room with an equally huge bathroom, certainly befitting a palazzo. Our room had a wonderful view of Florence which reminded me of the movie, "A Room with a View." It is located on a wonderful little square with great restaurants just a few steps away from the building's entrance, and a short walk to perhaps the best gelateria in Italy, the Gelateria Santa Trinita. It's an easy walk over the Ponte Vecchio and to all the main attractions of Florence. The staff is wonderful, very kind and helpful. The breakfasts are generous, giving you enough calories to brave all the must-see museums, churches, palazzi, and all that Florence has to offer. When you've had enough walking around of Florence and need to unwind, you can relax with a drink in their loggia and enjoy the view or watch the sunset. I look forward to returning to this lovely place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California City, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Stayed at the hotel for two short nights--did not have more time, but wish I did. The rooms were large, clean, and the location is wonderful--it is a great combination of authentic Firenze, away from the heavy tourist area across the river--a very short walk to all of the tourist sights--I would highly recommend this hotel and plan to stay again next year--Santo Spirito is a wonderful piazza with cute, quaint restaurants literally right outside of the hotel!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anyone2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

My family recently stayed at this hotel and had a wonderful time. The locale is perfect, right off the square and a short walk acoss the bridge to all of the sights. The real plus of this location is you get a real feel for Firenze without being surrounded by tourists. The square is charming and there is a market in the morning. There are cafes around the square as well a number of good restaurants. The hotel itself occupies the top floors of an old building and has a great terrrace where you can sit and enjoy the breeze and some wine all while surveying a nice view of Firenze. The staff was warm and friendly, calling us by name. They were extremely helpful, espcially Tara in making sure we were comfortable. She also provided great recommendations and reservations. The room was huge by European standards and very comfortable. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APedersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QUITO
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

My family and I stayed at this hotel, it is located in the last floor of the building so the view from the terrace was beautifull. We enjoyed very much the big rooms, the excellent bread at breakfast, great location near the main tourist attractions. The best of all was the friendly and smiling people that works at the hotel . !!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLAUDIAQUITO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We are a Family of six and had three rooms. Fantastic place, super service. Greatly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rossbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#34 of 421 in Florence
1,696 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 421 in Florence
2,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#10 of 421 in Florence
3,417 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#50 of 421 in Florence
1,942 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#56 of 421 in Florence
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Guadagni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Guadagni

Property: Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
Address: Piazza Santo Spirito 9, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palazzo Guadagni 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palazzo Guadagni is located in the Oltrarno district, in a characteristic piazza in the historical centre of Florance, a nighbourhood full of antique shops andold artisans' workshop, just a few minutes walk from the Pitti palace and the Boboli Gardens.The rooms are spacious and rich in atmosphere, found in Palazza Guadagni designed by Simone del Pollaiolo in 1505,have ceilings with frescos, fire places and a wonderful views that looks out onto Florence and the most important buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Guadagni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing