We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great gem south of the arno”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
Ranked #49 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2012

by far my favorite hotel from my 11 days in 4 Italian cities. the location (just south of the river) is perfect -- close to great restaurants and bars but away from the crazy tourist areas. at the same time, because Florence isn't so big, it's only a 15 minute walk from the Duomo and other sites. the room was huge, the service was fantastic, and they even catered to my dietary needs with gluten-free breakfast options. i would definitely go back!

Room Tip: wifi may not work in rooms but works well in the lobby, lounge, and patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mjscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,089)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

422 - 428 of 1,089 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

Palazzo Guadagni has become a second home for us since my husband and I just completed our sixth stay this summer. This hotel is very special to us for three important reasons. First, it is family owned and operated by Ferdinando and Laura, two very special people who take pride in their establishment and are concerned with every facet of care and operation. Second, the historical building itself located in Santo Spirito, is a real residential neighborhood where Italians live, work, eat and shop. Third, the size and décor of the rooms will make you wish you were staying for at least a month (alas, we were only there for 3 weeks in July).
All the rooms at Palazzo Guadagni are unique in size and floorplan, beautifully decorated with antique furniture, gorgeous fabrics and large modern bathrooms which include hand-painted tiles. Many rooms still contain the original frescoed ceiling and perhaps a fireplace. All rooms have an antique armoir, dresser, nightstands, table, chairs and mirror or a combination of these items. Huge framed windows offer an intersting view of the city. The most charming feature of the hotel is the rooftop loggia, which you will only find in a few Florentine palazzos. Sit outside for breakfast or enjoy an evening cocktail which admiring the view of the city.
The beautifully appointed breakfast room serves an ample breakfast which you will need for a full day of sightseeing. Please note the intricate molding on the ceiling and color scheme, isn’t it beautiful? I certainly wish I had a room like this in my house!
Lastly, Ferdinando and Laura, as well as their staff, will do everything possible to make your stay a delightful experience. If you need restaurant reservations, a taxi, museum information/bookings, or any general information, they are more than happy to help you with any inquiry.
Additionally, the hotel is a short walk to Pitti Palace, many restaurants, shops and places of interest.
I hope that you will enjoy your stay at Palazzo Guadagni as much as I do.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilyLouLosAngeles_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012


The Palazzo Guadagni was an ideal hotel for our stay in Florence. it's away from the bustle, but a short walk from most major attractions. Our room was large, quiet and reasonably priced. It's not often you find a hotel room with a painted ceiling. The continental breakfast was satisfying and the house cappacino, good (you must ask for the cappacino; it's not volunteered). The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. My wife had some problems relating to our trip (not with the hotel) and Martina, the concierge did a splendid job helping her solve them. The hotel is rated 3 stars, but I found it superior to many 4 star hotels at which I've stayed.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank quintic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

For this class of hotel, it was great. Charming painted ceilings, comfortable rooms, and
a very friendly, helpful staff made this a wonderful choice. By choosing a place on the less busy side of the Arno, I thought it might be poorly located. Not so...everything turned out to be very close by. The spacious balcony/lounge along the front and side of the building was a great place to relax and enjoy a wonderful view.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012 via mobile

The Palazzo Guadagni was a delight in every way. I was worried, traveling with my 6 and 8 year olds, that Oltarno would be too far from where we'd want to be. I was completely wrong. We were a three minute walk to Pitti Palace, 5 minutes to Ponte Vecchio. And, it turns out, I love this side of the Arno! Such an adorable piazza and we ate in the area every night. Fantastic offerings! We loved just wandering the neighborhood.

The hotel is on the top of the building, which means a fabulous view and a lovely breeze from the common porch. The common areas are beautiful.

Our room was amazing. We had the family room, which meant walking into a large bedroom (ridiculously tall ceilings, with gorgeous paintings), then a second room had beds for the kids, and then the bathroom. Lots of space. Even though we were by the kitchen, I heard nothing. The only complaint I had was that the air conditioning was a little loud and rather ineffective, but this is a gorgeous older Italian building; not a cookie-cutter American hotel. All is forgiven.

The staff is amazing. Martina and Rita made our stay so enjoyable, helping us choose restaurants (and making reservations), suggesting gelaterias, and just being kind and thoughtful.

The hotel was perfect for our family, but it would be equally perfect for a couple looking for a romantic getaway.

The breakfasts were a nice selection of yogurts, breads, cereal, jams, pastries, juices.... The staff brought out capuchinos and hot or cold chocolate for the kids.

We stayed for four nights, and I only wish we could have stayed more!

Thank jbrown68
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We found the staff at Palazzo Guadangni as friendly and helpful as any we encountered on our recent trip to Italy. We stayed in room 5, which is on the main floor and looks out upon the square. We were apprehensive when we were told to close both shutters and windows tightly to keep out the noise (and found complimentary earplugs by our pillows!), but it turned out not to be a problem. The square was indeed lively and noisy our first night, but it didn't affect us in our room.

The hotel is in a good location, about a 3 minute walk to the Pitti Palace and Boboli Gardens, and maybe 5 from the Ponte Vecchio and Uffizi. Less than a 15 minute walk to the Duomo. And, we were able to roll our suitcases easily to/from the train station (15 minutes), the only problem being the cobblestone streets and the toll they take on a suitcase's wheels.

All in all, I would definitely recommend Palazzo Guadagni to anyone looking for a comfortable hotel in an accessible but not overly touristy area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaddyinDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

My husband and I stayed @ the Guadagni last week for four nights at the beginning of an 11 day whirlwind trip through Italy, on to Monte Carlo and then ending up in Nice. We stayed in a room on the first floor that faced the Santo Spirito piazza. The walk up was not a problem, as everything in Florence involves walking and stairs. The charm of the plaza was worth early morning shouts or late nite revelers...(tip: make sure the large heavy shutters are tightly drawn closed,and the inside doors locked..won't be sound proof, but allows you to have the best of both worlds..a good night sleep AND the real Italian experience. Having just returned home, I can tell you that the staff at the Guadagni from the owner/manager to his support staff Tara and Adish, were far superior to those we encountered in other cities we visited during our Honeymoon. Our stay at the Fairmont Monte Carlo paled in comparison to the truly first class treatment we received at the Guadagni. We will remember Florence as the most beautiful and magical of cities, not only because of its rich history and extraordinary art, but because of the people we met and the recommendations they made that provided us with priceless memories and fantastic photos. Also, although close enough to the train station don't be fooled into walking lugging your bags after traveling for hours...met some other newly weds who made that mistake...ease in to the pace of Florence, don't do it pulling everything you brought behind you. EVERYTHING that is a MUST SEE in Florence is within walking distance, a bonus and Huge savings. Met countless people on tours that were staying on the other side of the river and closer to the station, ALL complained about congestion and too many tourists...not the case at the Guadagni! Breakfast in the mornings was delightful, fresh baked goodies were always on the menu. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShanHooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 410 in Florence
1,810 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#38 of 410 in Florence
2,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#12 of 410 in Florence
3,544 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#35 of 410 in Florence
1,539 reviews
Art Hotel Villa Agape
#13 of 410 in Florence
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Guadagni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Guadagni

Address: Piazza Santo Spirito 9, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £91 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palazzo Guadagni 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palazzo Guadagni is located in the Oltrarno district, in a characteristic piazza in the historical centre of Florance, a nighbourhood full of antique shops andold artisans' workshop, just a few minutes walk from the Pitti palace and the Boboli Gardens.The rooms are spacious and rich in atmosphere, found in Palazza Guadagni designed by Simone del Pollaiolo in 1505,have ceilings with frescos, fire places and a wonderful views that looks out onto Florence and the most important buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Guadagni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing