We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with character and charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
Ranked #49 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hotel with character and charm”
Reviewed 27 November 2012

This hotel is located within al thriving square which was a great place to dine (try Osteria San Spirito) and drink in the evening. As many have already said the hotel is located within a palazzo and it provides a dramatic backdrop for a hotel. We were first sent to the dreaded room number 16 which is truly miserable. We were eventually moved to room 5 which is a classic room and was pleasant. Our friends were also staying at the hotel and their room was impressive. All of the staff were really helpful, friendly and warm. Breakfast was good and the hotel has impressive views of the city. It was a comfortable base for our trip.

Room Tip: Book a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nkasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    723
    261
    53
    14
    7
See reviews for
184
639
48
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We've picked this property based on excellent reviews it got on tripadvisor and the very impressive website that it boasts that almost makes you expect you'd be living in a true palace. While the hotel has its pluses, the negatives far outweigh them and I suggest fellow travelers to look elsewhere. First, the building itself. A very impressive 500-year old historic facade with huge windows. What they don't tell you is that the hotel only occupies a part of that building with most of the property taken up by apartments and small businesses. The entrance is a huge let-down - I thought I got the address wrong - it's a dusty and poorly lit hallway of an apartment building (to get to the hotel you need to take a tiny elevator in the corner). Apparently, the building residents are not very happy about the hotel: on our first day we got attacked by a mad-looking woman who ran across the square and started yelling at my wife and myself for allegedly trying to break the entrance door (it's not immediately clear how it opens - the hotel reception gives you the key, but don't really show how it works downstairs) and gave us an angry lecture on how they `always have problems with the boarding house'. Like some other reviewers here, we were given the "attic" room that was easily one of the worst hotel rooms I've ever been too - dark, cold, with a "view" of a roof, with no carpets and, most bizarrely, with a door connecting to another room that had a large keyhole that allowed anyone curious enough to see us. To top it off, there is a very narrow and steep flight of stairs leading to it. I've asked to change the room immediately and, thankfully, we only had to spend one night there. Another room we got was far more impressive - door-size windows (easily 3 1/2 meters tall), very tall ceilings, some antique furniture. It was located in the corner of the building with noises from the square a major nuisance most of the day though. I would have rated Hotel Palazzo Guadagni a `poor' if it wasn't for its glorious balcony offering picturesque views of Florence. That almost made up for the very spartan, convent-type facilities, but not quite. The location itself is OK, a leisurely 15 minute walk to most sights and Santo Spirito church just 50 meters away on the piazza - definitely do pay it a visit, it is often overlooked. There is some value in staying at a historic building and if you don't expect much in terms of facilities, you won't be disappointed. Just don't expect a true palace with gold, marble and silken linens.

Room Tip: Avoid the `attic' room like a plague. Ask for a room in the back, the ones facing the square are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Denis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012 via mobile

We are staying in this hotel at the moment - I can't express how pleased I am at this extraordinary find!! The hotel is on the upper floors of a palazzo on piazza San spirito - a quiet and less touristy part of Firenze but in easy walking distance to everywhere. Our room has a spectacular view of the entire city with direct views of a nearby campanile from the bed and il duomo from the shower. It is exceptionally clean, the service wonderful and a daily delicious breakfast. There is a lift to get to the hotel but a walk back down the staircase is great exercise after a filling breakfast. We will stay here again and I recommend it. Hope to stay here again after a trip to Modena and before we fly out from Milan.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PortPower_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferdinando2, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, 22 December 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for your kind comment on Tripadvisor,we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcome you back in Florence.
Best Regards
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2012

This is a lovely hotel in a great spot. It is a simple, classic place to stay with large, comfortable rooms and nice bathrooms. The staff are friendly and helpful, whether it is helping with luggage or arranging a car park, they go above and beyond. The terrace is wonderful in the summer and the sofas good in poorer whether, where you can sit and have tea. It is a great base for exploring Florence and there are some wonderful restaurants nearby. I have stayed at the Palazzo Guadagni four or five times now and will do so again and again. My last trip was with my new fiancée who also loved it and wants to go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferdinando2, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, 22 December 2012
Dear Guest,
we are glad that your appreciate your stay with us
Thank you for your great comments about your stay.
Best Regards and hope to see you back
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2012

How lucky were my wife and I to include Palazzo Guadagni in our honeymoon itinerary! The walk up a couple flights of stairs was rewarded with an absolutely romantic and spacious room. Each day we greeted Santo Spirito from our personal balcony, and felt just a tiny bit of Medici hubris looking out on the people gathered in the square below us. The staff was friendly and helpful, even guiding us to an unassuming ticket booth which led us to prime access to both the Uffizi and the Accademia. Palazzo Guadagni was the splurge hotel on our trip, but they gave us a comfortable and accessible home base during our stay in Florence, and turned out to be the best value out of all the places we stayed in Italy.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferdinando2, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking your time and sending your review. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel and the city.
We hope to welcoming you again,
Best Regards
Staff Palazzo Guadagni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2012

This is a great hotel (with elevator), our favorite hotel in Firenze.
Fantastic, helpful, friendly staff. Great location away from the hubbub but close enough to get to anyplace in the city.
Right around the corner from Palazzo Pitti.
Great breakfast!

Room Tip: All the rooms have great views, but if you want quiet, ask for a room off the piazza San Spirito.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferdinando2, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Dear Guest,
It's a pleasure for us to read your review and we would like to thank you for your choice as well. We look forward to welcoming you again when in Florence.
Best Regards
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Hello - we had an enjoyable stay but probably would not choose this hotel again. We were disappointed in our room (16) which was in the attic, very dark and dowdy. Saying that we did have a good nights sleep as it was very quiet. However the bathroom needs serious attention, the shower was over the bath and there was no showed screen which meant the floor became dangerously wet/slippy. It would be far better to remove the bath and fit a walk in shower as it is a very small room and the toilet is in a bad location too.

Saying that - the balcony made up for it and it was lovely to have pre dinner drinks and nibbles after a days sightseeing. The breakfast including fresh fruit which is always welcome. We wished we had booked a more superior room but didn't realise the difference at the time of booking. Also it was not pointed out to us on booking that the price quoted was for cash and there was a significant charge for paying by credit card.

The hotel was clean and we enjoyed our stay over all spending very little time in our room.

Room Tip: do not book a standard/classic room and pay in cash
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimble59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#30 of 422 in Florence
1,478 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#22 of 422 in Florence
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#29 of 422 in Florence
2,271 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 422 in Florence
3,469 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#57 of 422 in Florence
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Guadagni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Guadagni

Property: Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
Address: Piazza Santo Spirito 9, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palazzo Guadagni 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palazzo Guadagni is located in the Oltrarno district, in a characteristic piazza in the historical centre of Florance, a nighbourhood full of antique shops andold artisans' workshop, just a few minutes walk from the Pitti palace and the Boboli Gardens.The rooms are spacious and rich in atmosphere, found in Palazza Guadagni designed by Simone del Pollaiolo in 1505,have ceilings with frescos, fire places and a wonderful views that looks out onto Florence and the most important buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Guadagni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing