We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt Comfortable Like a Home Away from Home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Palazzo Guadagni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
Ranked #56 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Felt Comfortable Like a Home Away from Home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Not only did I enjoy the relaxed but stylish accomodations (and the generous breakfast) but I also found the staff to be extremely helpful with trip planning details. The front desk helped arrange additional night's, including one night elsewhere, to meet the needs of my trip plan. They were also quick to help with storing luggage, arranging taxis and setting up day tours. My room mate and I feel like this was one of the highlights of our Florence experience... Also, the restaurants in the Palazzo out front were terrific. So nice to have them close by!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraVP1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    257
    51
    13
    7
See reviews for
172
619
46
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

The Hotel Palazzo Guadagni was one of my favorite parts of my entire Italy vacation. I loved it so much I wanted to ask if I could stay and live in my lovely room with its frescoed ceiling and expansive view. When I swung open the windows I felt I was in the movie "Room with a View". Sipping wine on the loggia and watching the wonderful sunsets unfold was my favorite part. The staff was so helpful and wonderful. It was strange, and old, and romantically inspiring. It is truly an unique experience. I would go back to Florence just to stay here. Magical!!!

Room Tip: We had number 9 and loved it. The loggia was just a step away. But each room is different and I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

This hotel not far from Ponte Vecchio and Palazzo Pitti deserves more than the 3 stars it has! Apart from the superb location at a typical little Italian Piazza, it has a wonderful and very helpful staff. The breakfast offers at least everything you need, but is the only thing that meets the expectations one has of a 3-stars-hotel. Really breathtaking are the loggia with its amazing view over the rooftops of the area, and the ample rooms:
When we at first saw our room we couldn't take our eyes off the romantic frescos covering the ceiling. I could of stayed lying in bed watching the ceiling all week!

The Oltrarno-area where this hotel lies isn't all tourists but also populated by Florentines with little antiques, artisan, and vintage stores. A hidden treasure is the little artisan leather studio Ali Firenze in the Via Toscanella 9. Here you can watch how the leather is given a new life in form of a bag or purse.
The restaurants at the Piazza Santo Spirito in front of the hotel provide a number of delicious Florentine specialities. Try the crostini fegato! (A piece of universally valid advice: Never eat where the menu has been translated!).
We will certainly be returning for more! Many thanks to the Palazzo Guadagni and its staff!

Room Tip: We had room no. 2: Large, with a beautiful painted ceiling, balcony with view over the piazza (a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toskanista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford Center, Vermont
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

This hotel has a real true feel of an old Palazzo. A little weird with the rooms on different floors in a building occupied by other organizations as well - but it's a big building and you get used to it fast. The top floor loggia is the major crown of the hotel. Low key, amazing views of distant mountains and the square below.....a glass of wine at sunset there is the perfect way to wind down after a long day walking. The restaurants in the square are superb - no need to walk another step to find some of the best food in Florence - yum - ravioli with walnut cream sauce..... The square is alive in the morning with an open air market. Some think the noise from the late night bars around the square is bothersome but I didn't find it so. Close the windows and the shutters and except for an occasional intoxicated shriek of laughter at two in the morning, you really don't hear much.
We had a huge first floor room with a 20 foot high painted ceiling, very tall window / doors that opened to a balcony overlooking the square - couldn't have been better. On a two week vacation in Italy , this was the high point as far a hotels go - just great. Would stay here in a flash if I were back in Florence!

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony - there are only two
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinando B, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your stay at the Palazzo Guadagni. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stayed in Florence.
We look forward to your next visit.
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilburg, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

The location is superb, staff are wonderfully friendly, the loggia is spectacular, and the rooms are classic Florentine. I can recommend it highly! It is in a part of the historic center which is away from the maddening crowds of tourists. This area of Florence is still occupied by Florentines!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinando B, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your review.
All the team of Palazzo Guadagni are pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us.
It's a real pleasure to have such guest like you and we are already looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

My son booked our stay in Florence first week of Septembe. I can't say enough about the wonderful staff at this 3 star hotel. The location was practical, the rooms spacious, the breakfast great. The place is clean and the staff did their best to make our experience and stay wonderful. Martina was efficient, Rita went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. Upon returning int the evening, Tara's smile and welcome made us feel we were returning to our home, asking us about our day, suggesting places to go, booking our tours, etc.. Like a concierge at a 5 star hotel. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Away from the Piazza and a higher floor. We atayed first two nights on 1st floor, it was noisy in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olfat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinando B, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your review.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are honored of the positive comments and I will surely extend them to the entire team.
Looking forward to welcoming you back
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

This was our first trip to Florence and we found this hotel through the Trip Advisor website. Everything around our stay at the hotel was simply fantastic: the staff was extremely helpful with helping us plan the stay at the Palazzo in advance of our arrival (thank you so much, Veronica!) or booking tours offered in and outside of Florence or restaurants for the dinner (thank you so much, Rita!). The lodgia at the top of the hotel is perfect for enjoying your glass of wine in the evening or starting the day with breakfast. The hotel is located on Piazza Santo Spirito which is a vivid location on the less touristy side of the river Arno with outstanding trattorias and osterias as well as sandwich shops and pizzerias in short walking distance. We would go back in a heart beat and can recommend this hotel sincerely.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinando B, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sending your evaluation: the whole staff is glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to another visit of yours,
Regards
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#28 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,398 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#46 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#49 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Guadagni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Guadagni

Property: Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
Address: Piazza Santo Spirito 9, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palazzo Guadagni 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palazzo Guadagni is located in the Oltrarno district, in a characteristic piazza in the historical centre of Florance, a nighbourhood full of antique shops andold artisans' workshop, just a few minutes walk from the Pitti palace and the Boboli Gardens.The rooms are spacious and rich in atmosphere, found in Palazza Guadagni designed by Simone del Pollaiolo in 1505,have ceilings with frescos, fire places and a wonderful views that looks out onto Florence and the most important buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Guadagni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing