We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
Ranked #49 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Biel, Switzerland
1 review
“Lovely!”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I booked only one week ahead, admittedly in January. This wonderful hotel with a gorgeous loggia, on the top floors of a palazzo, has rooms with beautiful painted ceilings. Due to our tardiness in booking, these were all occupied, but the hotel assigned us a charming very high ceilinged appartment on the ground floor, which was fully outfitted, even to a a full-size washing machie. Despite its closeness to the daily markets just outside the window, the room is very quiet.
The delicious breakfats is served in the lovely old dining room of the palazzo!
We will definitley return!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NPittet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinando B, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind words following your recent stay with us at Palazzo Guadagni.
I was so glad to read that you enjoyed the service and features of the hotel.
The staff will be glad to welcome you again in Florence
My best wishes,
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    259
    52
    13
    7
See reviews for
178
627
48
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel if you are visiting Florence!

First of all, our room (one of the "family rooms" - two connected double rooms that share a single bathroom) was lovely and very comfortable. The floor was a little cold on bare feet, so I would recommend bringing slippers if you are coming in the winter and don't like to wear shoes indoors.

The service was wonderful, both before we arrived (over email) and during our stay. We were visiting over Christmas and anxious about restaurants for Christmas Day, and the staff called around and made some lovely suggestions. Also, over the entire 4 days of our stay, everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful, but unobtrusive.

Lastly, it was kind of a personal dream come true for me to stay in a Renaissance palace that was over 500 years old :)

Room Tip: The Family Room was a great choice for a group of 4 travelling together!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenniferyellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinando B, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guest,
we are glad to read your feedback following your recent stay with us at Palazzo Guadagni.
We're really pleased that you enjoyed, all the facilities and service we are so proud to deliver.
I have passed on your kind words to my team.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
My best regards,
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We enjoyed a delightful stay at the Hotel Palazzo Guadagni in the Santo Spirito piazza in Florence. The hotel is situated on the top floor of a wonderful old building in a quieter sector of the city but still just a few minutes walk from the Ponte Vecchio and the myriad delights of Florence only some of which we managed to discover and explore in our five day stay. The room itself was a treat, with ornate old world furnishings, a painted fresco on the ceiling and double glazed and shuttered windows that overlooked the square below. The bathroom was luxurious with a full length bath and all amenities. The hotel had a lovely lounge area along one corner with an open balcony where guests could sit and enjoy the views of Florence. Free WiFi in the rooms was excellent. The daily included buffet breakfasts were a treat, every imaginable pastry, scrambled and boiled eggs, cereals, yogurt, coffee, tea, fruit juices, stewed fruit, freshly baked bread and little pots of jam and honey gave us a good start each morning. We would certainly return for another stay and recommend the establishment highly for a genteel, old world experience of one of the most wonderful cities in the world.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SFO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We were stuck in a bad rental on Santo Spirito and were in desperate search of a place near by on short notice. I actually just wandered in to the hotel and they were able to take me. We felt so relieved. They were able to give us a fairly modest room with an absolutely stunning view for a fantastic price.
We also found it great that they provided breakfast. This is a meal that typically isn't eaten in Italy, so to find somewhere that provided it was really a plus.
And everyone in the hotel was tremendously helpful and pleasant.

All in all, I couldn't imagine a better place for its value in Firenze...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shantzis62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinando B, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Client,
It's a pleasure for us to welcome your review about Palazzo Guadagni . We are very glad that you positively got impressed of our Hotel, its facilities and staff .
We really look forward to welcoming you again.

Warmest Regards
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My husband and I spent 5 nights at Palazzo Guadagni in January. The weather wasn't great, but we always felt welcomed back to a friendly 'home base' after excursions. The hotel is spotlessly clean, quiet, charming, a little old fashioned and the better for that. Our room was spacious with wonderful views over tiled rooftops to the hills and there are plenty of sofas and chairs and a feeling of enough space for everyone in this small hotel. All the staff are charming and helpful and we will definitely stay again at Palazzo Guadagni if in Florence. South of the river was the perfect location for us, and Piazza S. Spirito is charming, with it's beautiful church and a small, daily market in the square. Restaurants and cafes are on the doorstep and there are interesting side streets to explore. Taxis and buses are a step away and everything is within walking distance - churches, museums, palazzos, shops, markets and the Boboli Gardens. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Griselda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinando B, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Client,
Thank you very much indeed to write this beautiful review about our Hotel . We are so glad that you had a very pleasant and enjoyable stay. I'll share your kind and nice words with the whole hotel's staff .
We look forward to welcoming you again to our Palazzo Guadagni .

Our Warmest Regards
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Our stay was simply great. Friendly and helpful staff, clean and comfortable room, cozy interior... Everything was spot on.

Our stay started off with a very warm welcome after we found the hotel with no problem (we were able to walk from the central train station in less than 20 minutes, and through great scenery along the way). Right when we checked in we were shown around and taken to our room. Really great welcome.

We stayed in room 1 on the first level and had a great fresco ceiling and a balcony that overlooked the square. The square was quite lively at night with a few bars and cafés. I was a little concerned about the noise since there were ear plugs provided in the room. However, when we closed the shutters we closed out the world and the room, despite the activity outside, was silent. And I mean SILENT. Combined with a comfortable bed and easy-to-control climate control we had the perfect night's sleep on each of the three nights we were there, no ear plugs needed.

At one point during our stay the shower handle broke (hey, it's a lovely old building so things might come undone every now and then). We weren't too fussed as it really was a small matter but mentioned it to reception on our way out. By the time we returned later in the day, everything had been completely repaired. I really appreciated how quickly the staff jumped on even a little problem like that to make sure everything was enjoyable for us.

The view from the terrace was a real treat, and a highlight of our stay. Breakfast was simple but good and provided a great start to each of our days. Everyone was super friendly, and our bill at the end was exactly what we expected with no surprises.

Thanks to everyone for a truly great experience. I recommend totally.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FinerThingsKlub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinando B, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor: your nice comments on the style and decoration of our property, on the service we do offer to our clients. I will not fail to communicate your comment to the whole team.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and for recommending the hotel, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at Palazzo Guadagni
Kind Regards
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We only stopped for one night as we made an overnight day trip to florence.
On arrival we wasn't quite sure if at the correct address but you press the doorbell outside at the very large door and it is an electric operated door system which wasn't expected which opens into a very large entrance,you go into the lift to the third floor and someone from the hotel will be at the main entrance to greet you.
We were shown to our room which was very nice and the whole feel from the place is as if you have come to visit your well to do family member and you feel at home straight away.
We enjoyed the day out and finished off the night by eating and drinking in the square where the hotel is situated and we got back in a little late.
The balcony looks nice to have a beer and people watch from above,a bit cold that night for the wife but still I had to find out and it is.
Unfortunately for us the air con unit didn't work on the heating mode but wrapped up warm and slept really well.
Informed in morning and sure was sorted out that day.
The breakfast in the morning is really good and suits all tastes.
And Florence is a must visit place but can easily do the sites in 2 days.

Room Tip: The balcony in summer will be beautiful for a end of day chill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leccygate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinando B, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for taking time to write and share a review about Palazzo Guadagni on Tripadvisor.
We are so pleased that you had some a good time with us.
We look forward to your next visit
Kind regards
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#34 of 421 in Florence
1,696 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 421 in Florence
2,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#10 of 421 in Florence
3,417 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#50 of 421 in Florence
1,942 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#56 of 421 in Florence
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Guadagni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Guadagni

Property: Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
Address: Piazza Santo Spirito 9, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palazzo Guadagni 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palazzo Guadagni is located in the Oltrarno district, in a characteristic piazza in the historical centre of Florance, a nighbourhood full of antique shops andold artisans' workshop, just a few minutes walk from the Pitti palace and the Boboli Gardens.The rooms are spacious and rich in atmosphere, found in Palazza Guadagni designed by Simone del Pollaiolo in 1505,have ceilings with frescos, fire places and a wonderful views that looks out onto Florence and the most important buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Guadagni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing