We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room with helpful staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
Ranked #48 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights back in May 2012 while vacationing in Florence. The hotel is a great value, as it is very affordable considering how highly-reviewed it is. It definitely lived up to its reputation!

The hotel was easy to find, and its location - the Santo Spirito neighborhood just south of the Arno, very close to Pitti Palace - is very nice. It is close enough to the city center to be convenient, but far enough away to be quaint and quiet. It is located on a palazzo with several good restaurants. One in particular (Osteria Santo Spirito) had food so good that we went there several times.

The staff are all polite and accommodating. Prior to our trip I asked them about how to go about getting tickets to Uffizi and Accademia. They booked reservations for me, which I really appreciated.

The room was quite large compared to our other stays in Europe. The bed was comfortable, the surrounding area was quiet at night, and we had a nice view from our window. The complimentary breakfast was pretty good as well. Perhaps the best part about the hotel is the rooftop garden bar, which is large enough for many people to enjoy, and provides a nice view of the surrounding area.

We highly recommend the Palazzo Guadagni!

Room Tip: Rooms on the side away from the palazzo are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

297 - 303 of 1,122 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed one week . Staff always very kind and efficient, lovely atmosphere of an historic fiorentine palazzo, perfect location for us - away from crowd and few min. walk to main sights. We suppose difficult to find better with such a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Inform about your own criteria (quiet, easy access, outside view, etc ) when booking, as in such an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJP42424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinando B, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Guest,
It's a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at Palazzo Guadagni.
I’m sharing your kind words with the entire team.
We look forward to your next visit,
Kindly,
Martina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I booked this based on the Trip Advisor reviews and I'm glad I did. It's a great find, reasonably priced, great breakfasts, unique rooms, comfy beds, etc. One night we grabbed some wine and food and ate in one of the many beautiful lounging areas. One night we "bar hopped" in the Plaza - many have free food from 7-9pm! Definitely enjoyed our stay in every way! Staff was wonderful.

Room Tip: We were in room 10. Large and nice. Same floor as breakfast and lounge areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llamenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinando B, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review and for letting us know about your experience with us.
We look forward to welcoming you again when in Florence.
Best Regards
Martina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This was my first stay at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, but my 4th to this charming neighborhood and Piazza Santo Spirito.

The location is perfect for my preferences, away from the crowds on a beautiful square lined with cafés and restaurants and a daily outdoor market.

There are many great restaurants within a block or 2 from the hotel. It is close (5 min. walk) to the river, and just on the other side of the river are all the main sights in Florence.

The hotel is set in a historic building directly on the square up on the top floors. There is a 2 person elevator to take you nearly the whole way up- you have to climb maybe 10 steps to get to the hotel door once off the elevator. Easy, but folks with mobility issues may want to know that.

The staff were lovely and helped us get settled in our room and also showed us the covered loggia overlooking the square and the sunny breakfast room.

I was traveling with a friend and room #7 was perfect for us. It had 2 large windows with a beautiful view of the Boboli gardens and Palazzo Pitti and the surrounding rooftops. There was excellent storage and plenty of space to spread out including a small table and 2 chairs. The bathroom was very large and sunny with colorful Italian tiles and a skylight.

Breakfast was simple and plentiful. (pastries, fruit, yogurt, meat and cheese plate, cold cereal, coffee and juice) The coffee was just ok to me- but that would not keep me from coming back! The dining room is stunning- I couldn't get over what a beautiful space it was. We ate late (10 am) and had the entire dining room to ourselves.

I adore this neighborhood and am thrilled to find a new place to stay when visiting Florence- perfect location, warm welcome and beautiful quiet rooms. I am looking forward to returning with my family soon and trying out one of their family rooms.

Room Tip: We had room #7 which was large and sunny and quiet, overlooking Palazzo Pitti and the Boboli Gardens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
Trip Advisor Florence
It would be difficult to find a better place to stay in Florence than the Hotel Plazzo Guadagni, situated in the charming S. Spirito Square with picturesque romantic fountain, colourful flower, fruit and vegetable stalls and of course, several typically alluring Florentine eateries and wine bars.
Occupying the top floor of a 500 years old building and entered through massive arched doors that open electronically, there is a 2 person lift to take you to an elegant high ceiling top floor residence featuring an impressive Romanesque colonnade terrace that wraps around the corner of the building, from which stunning rooftop views across to the Duomo and distant snow capped mountains will simply take your breath away. It is a bit like stepping back to a bygone era or entering a film set, except that the towering stone columns are real and not Styrofoam – a true pinch me moment!
My chandeliered bedroom was huge and sparsely but elegantly shabby chic furnished, embellished with theatrical window drapes. There was a picture book view of the Domo dome, which incidentally I could see glistening in the morning sun from the comfort of my King-size bed, which was set into a large arched alcove, beneath an artistically ornate painted ceiling. The sitting area was vast and included a stained carved wood and marble wash stand and mirror with a small but immaculate, modern and well appointed shower room and toilet suite through a door to one side.
The location is not only perfect as it is in a quieter quarter of Florence but it is only 5-minutes by taxi from the train station and 3-minitues walk to the Ponte Vecchio and 10-minutes to the Duomo. The too numerous to mention famous sights of Florence are all within easy walking distance. Although more of a stylish bed and breakfast, the charm and eccentricities of Hotel Plazzo Guadagni make this a special place on your itinerary of must stay places. When you arrive you ring the bell and introduce yourself, the door then opens as if by magic and you enter a huge internal atrium stair well big enough for horses and carriage to drop off their passengers. You then make your way to the top floor by lift and a small flight of steps up, atop the cavernous stairwell will take you to the impressively solid front door of this grand residence. At check in you are given keys to activate the electric doors at street level, to the residence and to your room. There are no staff on the premises at night – that’s right, you and the other guests have the numerous lounge and terrace areas of this magnificent abode to yourselves. It is a bit like house sitting for a wealthy nobleman.
The breakfast is not fancy and there are no hot cooked items, but the buffet is healthy, appetising and more than adequate. This Hotel is more of a wow factor bed and breakfast, with a calm and tranquil atmosphere. I will plan to stay longer on my next visit and with breakfast included the rates are also a very attractive feature of this unique grandiose guesthouse. I could not fault the staff and the hotel was clean and well maintained – excellent value for money at this level of hotel in a prime location.

Room Tip: Speak to the hotel direct and tell them what you want - they are very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed one week at the Palazzo Guadagni and had de chance to use two different rooms,
The first one on the piazza Santo Spirito, first floor, with a marvelous ceiling with old fresco's and the second one at the third floor, very quiet and cosy, with a view on the Giardino di Boboli and the Palazzo Pitti. This hotel was absolutely perfect for us and if we go back to Firenze, no doubt we will go there. The location is really good and not far from the very crowdy and touristic part of the city, the piazza Santo Spirito is really nice and you can find a lot of restaurants and cafés in the area, the staff is so nice and helpfull, the breakfast is simple but there is all you need and good food quality... It's so nice to live for a while in a real old palazzo from the Renaissance...This hotel has at least a soul...

Room Tip: All rooms are not at the level you can reach with the lift so if you don't like steps, make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Therasse I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinando B, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us following your stay at Palazzo Guadagni.
We are happy to hear that you found the hotel charming and that the rooms were beautifully decorated. I have passed you nice comments to all the team.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of asssistance
We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Martina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Excellent location, authentic, no chi chi, old fashioned charm, very large rooms, phantastic loggia, nice people. have written about it in my blog http://www.trustandtravel.com/blog/my-favourite-hotel-florence-italy/.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katharina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinando B, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your kind words following your past stays with us at Palazzo Guadagni.
Your continued support is very much appreciated.
Kind regards,
Martina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#40 of 410 in Florence
2,279 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#28 of 410 in Florence
2,418 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Pendini
Hotel Pendini
#35 of 410 in Florence
2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#44 of 410 in Florence
1,882 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#59 of 410 in Florence
1,220 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#38 of 410 in Florence
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Guadagni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Guadagni

Address: Piazza Santo Spirito 9, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £64 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palazzo Guadagni 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palazzo Guadagni is located in the Oltrarno district, in a characteristic piazza in the historical centre of Florance, a nighbourhood full of antique shops andold artisans' workshop, just a few minutes walk from the Pitti palace and the Boboli Gardens.The rooms are spacious and rich in atmosphere, found in Palazza Guadagni designed by Simone del Pollaiolo in 1505,have ceilings with frescos, fire places and a wonderful views that looks out onto Florence and the most important buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Guadagni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing