We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy hotel in the perfect place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
Ranked #45 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Huelva, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cosy hotel in the perfect place”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

If you look for a luxurious or a design hotel in Florence this is not your place. But if you value a perfect location and a great value/price accomodation where to stay after sightseeing this beautiful city, this could be a perfect choice.
This old Palace has what is needed, a spacious and well disposed room, a decent breakfast well serviced by a professional staff.
Its location might be one of the best in Florence, because is very lively, close to must-see places (Palazzo Pitti, Capella Brancachi or Ponte Vecchio), surrounded by enoteques and trattorias, whilst not being noisy.
Good value!

Room Tip: Try second floor with a view to il Duomo and Palazzo Vecchio
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GorgueA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinando B, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for taking time to write and share a review about Palazzo Guadagni on Tripadvisor.
We are so pleased that you had some a good time with us.
We look forward to your next visit
Kind regards
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    715
    259
    53
    14
    7
See reviews for
181
635
48
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed at the Palazzo Guadagni for 5 nights in February 2014. Having booked well in advance we had a choice of rooms and, following an exchange of emails with the hotel, opted for room 8 for the views. We were not disappointed. The picture postcard rooftop vistas of the city and Duomo from both the bedroom and bathroom exceeded our expectations. Having said that all the rooms we were fortunate enough to view during our stay were special in their own, but different, way.

This hotel is not high class luxury but it oozes old Italian charm, elegance and hospitality. The staff could not do enough to make our stay as enjoyable as possible, providing advice, booking restaurants and taxis. It is difficult to imagine staying at another, or better, place in Florence.

Ivor

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivor M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinando B, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for your detailed review. I am very glad to read your words of appreciation.
We are very glad that you positively got impressed of our Hotel, its facilities and staff .
I hope I shall welcome you again on your next visit to Florence.
Best regards
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

My challenge when reviewing this hotel is based on completing the review either culturally or as a hotel.

The reason I booked the hotel was because of its history, 16th century building in a quiet and historical part of the city away from the commercial activities.The location met my expectation, the building fascinating and the room likewise.

We booked and were helped with Martina, who completed a superb job, booking me into the room she described, high ceiling, painted in the decor of the time, overlooking the piazza with a balcony to take in the views. On the top floor a terrace where you can drink a glass of wine, with superb views across the region.

For pure culture, exactly what I booked , I received.

As a hotel and surrounding area, I would rate the "experience" quite differently- perhaps a 2

Firstly there are many stairs and a tiny lift, this may put off some visitors.
Secondly the service was average, I mentioned my mini bar / fridge was not cold twice and not repaired.
Breakfast is basic, coffee not great and a 2€ supplement for a better quality one.
The local piazza is home to many dogs, drinkers and a resident vagrant group. At night what should feel like a quaint traditional area feels run down. The 1st floor houses language students so they sit on the steps outside the church alongside the vagrants, drinking into the night.

As such the evening can become noisy for those wanting to sleep before 23:00
The morning is no better, with the church bells starting to chime and the market stall traders setting up from 6am-

We left, tired and with a feeling of what might have been.

BUT- I had not booked for a modern, double glazed hotel in a chic modern area of Florence - so received what I wanted. A most majestic room,,with character second to none....

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank CarricktoRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights back in May 2012 while vacationing in Florence. The hotel is a great value, as it is very affordable considering how highly-reviewed it is. It definitely lived up to its reputation!

The hotel was easy to find, and its location - the Santo Spirito neighborhood just south of the Arno, very close to Pitti Palace - is very nice. It is close enough to the city center to be convenient, but far enough away to be quaint and quiet. It is located on a palazzo with several good restaurants. One in particular (Osteria Santo Spirito) had food so good that we went there several times.

The staff are all polite and accommodating. Prior to our trip I asked them about how to go about getting tickets to Uffizi and Accademia. They booked reservations for me, which I really appreciated.

The room was quite large compared to our other stays in Europe. The bed was comfortable, the surrounding area was quiet at night, and we had a nice view from our window. The complimentary breakfast was pretty good as well. Perhaps the best part about the hotel is the rooftop garden bar, which is large enough for many people to enjoy, and provides a nice view of the surrounding area.

We highly recommend the Palazzo Guadagni!

Room Tip: Rooms on the side away from the palazzo are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed one week . Staff always very kind and efficient, lovely atmosphere of an historic fiorentine palazzo, perfect location for us - away from crowd and few min. walk to main sights. We suppose difficult to find better with such a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Inform about your own criteria (quiet, easy access, outside view, etc ) when booking, as in such an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJP42424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinando B, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,
It's a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at Palazzo Guadagni.
I’m sharing your kind words with the entire team.
We look forward to your next visit,
Kindly,
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I booked this based on the Trip Advisor reviews and I'm glad I did. It's a great find, reasonably priced, great breakfasts, unique rooms, comfy beds, etc. One night we grabbed some wine and food and ate in one of the many beautiful lounging areas. One night we "bar hopped" in the Plaza - many have free food from 7-9pm! Definitely enjoyed our stay in every way! Staff was wonderful.

Room Tip: We were in room 10. Large and nice. Same floor as breakfast and lounge areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llamenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinando B, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review and for letting us know about your experience with us.
We look forward to welcoming you again when in Florence.
Best Regards
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This was my first stay at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, but my 4th to this charming neighborhood and Piazza Santo Spirito.

The location is perfect for my preferences, away from the crowds on a beautiful square lined with cafés and restaurants and a daily outdoor market.

There are many great restaurants within a block or 2 from the hotel. It is close (5 min. walk) to the river, and just on the other side of the river are all the main sights in Florence.

The hotel is set in a historic building directly on the square up on the top floors. There is a 2 person elevator to take you nearly the whole way up- you have to climb maybe 10 steps to get to the hotel door once off the elevator. Easy, but folks with mobility issues may want to know that.

The staff were lovely and helped us get settled in our room and also showed us the covered loggia overlooking the square and the sunny breakfast room.

I was traveling with a friend and room #7 was perfect for us. It had 2 large windows with a beautiful view of the Boboli gardens and Palazzo Pitti and the surrounding rooftops. There was excellent storage and plenty of space to spread out including a small table and 2 chairs. The bathroom was very large and sunny with colorful Italian tiles and a skylight.

Breakfast was simple and plentiful. (pastries, fruit, yogurt, meat and cheese plate, cold cereal, coffee and juice) The coffee was just ok to me- but that would not keep me from coming back! The dining room is stunning- I couldn't get over what a beautiful space it was. We ate late (10 am) and had the entire dining room to ourselves.

I adore this neighborhood and am thrilled to find a new place to stay when visiting Florence- perfect location, warm welcome and beautiful quiet rooms. I am looking forward to returning with my family soon and trying out one of their family rooms.

Room Tip: We had room #7 which was large and sunny and quiet, overlooking Palazzo Pitti and the Boboli Gardens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cafecarlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#27 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,246 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#37 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,440 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#56 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#51 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Guadagni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Guadagni

Property: Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
Address: Piazza Santo Spirito 9, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palazzo Guadagni 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palazzo Guadagni is located in the Oltrarno district, in a characteristic piazza in the historical centre of Florance, a nighbourhood full of antique shops andold artisans' workshop, just a few minutes walk from the Pitti palace and the Boboli Gardens.The rooms are spacious and rich in atmosphere, found in Palazza Guadagni designed by Simone del Pollaiolo in 1505,have ceilings with frescos, fire places and a wonderful views that looks out onto Florence and the most important buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Guadagni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing