We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrace views are great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
Ranked #49 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Terrace views are great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

The view from the Terrace was great. The location has its good and bad points. It was nice to be away from the city center a little, but it was not the most scenic walk to and from the hotel. Found some wonderful restaurants on this side of the River (best eating during our week in Italy). Service was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We requested a room away from the square. Sacrificed the view some, but it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beads97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    704
    259
    52
    13
    7
See reviews for
179
627
48
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We recently had three nights here and just loved almost everything about the hotel. The room was nicely sized and very comfy. The staff were attentive and helpful. The location was so perfect that we felt we really lucked out. And the price was fantastic - a real value! Our only complaint was the internet was constantly going in and out, making it difficult to do facetime with our son and other tasks. We definitely plan on staying at this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkland, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We have usually stayed on the busier side of the Arno, but after reading some good reviews, decided on Hotel Palazzo Guadagni. First, we were greeted but such friendly staff, especially Tina.. First impressions are important, and they never disappointed. Second, the room faced the square but never interrupted our sleeping. Third, Breakfasts were varied and very good. This is a quieter side of town but a 10 minute walk across the bridge. I would not hesitate yo stay here again and hope I do.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzannetr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
299 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We loved this hotel and the Oltrarno district. We stayed in the huge room with the high frescoed ceiling. It is a bit funky but extremely comfortable. Contrary to what others have said, we didn't find it noisy. Once you close the windows ( more like French doors) and if necessary the shutters it's not noisy at all. The only negative to staying in the huge room is you have to walk up a number of flights or take the elevator to get to the breakfast room and the loggia. I might want to try one of the rooms on that floor if we return to Florence (but i note that my partner did not have any of my concerns). The staff are wonderfully helpful, one member made multiple calls to local restaurants so we would have a reservation for a busy Saturday night. Breakfast was excellent, loads of choices, scrambled and hard boiled eggs, fruit, good croissants, cereal, yogurt, etc. As others have said, every place in Florence is walkable from the Palazzo Guadagni. Don't miss the San Miniato Church near Piazza Michelangelo as well as the Chiesa Santa Croce. They are magnificent and interesting. We enjoyed them much more than the Uffizi.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkNYTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We were very pleased with this hotel. Situated directly on St. Spirito Square, we enjoyed a lovely room with beautiful views of the Duomo and Palazzo Vechio. Breakfast was delightful with a bounty of sweets and savories; staff were very warm and welcoming; the loggia was a great place to relax and catch our breath. We felt very safe, as this hotel is on the upper floors of an historic palace. We plan to return to beautiful Florence and will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willik14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

The hotel is on the corner of one of the liveliest squares south of the river which means there is lots going on. It's 5 minutes walk from Ponte Vecchio and probably even less distance to the Petit Palace so location is perfect. Out of the main tourist areas of Florence in the area where the locals eat and drink. All the local restaurants are busy in the evening and there can be some noise at night. We were in the ground floor apartment which is massive which shuttered windows looking out onto the square. If you are a light sleeper then the noise with probably disturb you at night and one night a rock band were playing the square to celebrate liberation day so that did disturb us quite a bit. The hotel staff were brilliant and moved us to the family room at the rear of the hotel which was much quieter. We can't thank them enough although we are told that room 10 is the best room in the hotel.

Great view from the loggia and the staff very friendly, helpful and certainly go out of their way to make your stay the best possible. Breakfast typical European with bread, cheese, meat and pastries - something we love.

Florence centre is extremely busy and if we had a recommendation it would be to visit Siena if you possibly can. We did a 12 hour coach tour - I know that sounds a heavy day but you get to do Siena (with a guide), vineyard tour with lunch and wine (quite a highlight) plus San Gimi and Pisa after lunch. Book with CAF tours they were excellent.

Also if you have time go up to the Piaza Michelangelo and the church above it, the Palazzo Pitti and the Bobolo Gardens. Whilst there if you buy a combined ticket visit the costume museum (worth a look) and one of the other museums which has fantastic Trompe-l'œil ceilings and columns so much so that you have to really look closely to see where the paint effect finishes and the columns start. Probably the best we have ever seen in the UK.

If you are at the Palazzo Guadagni visit Santo Spritio the church at the end of the square - it doesn't look very exiting from outside but inside is just beautiful. Watch out as it isn't open that often.

Enjoy your trip and enjoy the friendliness of the Florentines.

Room Tip: If you don't mind a little noise but would like a giant room then choose the apartment downstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJWardWokingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Without any doubt, visitors to Florence will be delighted with the Palazzo Guadagni. The views from our room and the terrace are superb, the staff extremely helpful and excellent service. I would not hesitate to recommend staying here to anyone - we will certainly be making a return trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#34 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#10 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,418 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#56 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#50 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Guadagni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Guadagni

Property: Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
Address: Piazza Santo Spirito 9, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palazzo Guadagni 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palazzo Guadagni is located in the Oltrarno district, in a characteristic piazza in the historical centre of Florance, a nighbourhood full of antique shops andold artisans' workshop, just a few minutes walk from the Pitti palace and the Boboli Gardens.The rooms are spacious and rich in atmosphere, found in Palazza Guadagni designed by Simone del Pollaiolo in 1505,have ceilings with frescos, fire places and a wonderful views that looks out onto Florence and the most important buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Nozio Netplan srl, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Guadagni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing