We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but could be better.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
Ranked #49 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location but could be better.”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

So we were there over Easter weekend, sorry this review is a long time coming. We can't say enough about the location-it is ideal. We walked everywhere, and Santo Spirito is fun with a market on the weekend and lots of restaurants.

The hotel itself has tons of potential, with its amazing views from a beautiful terrace, where you can enjoy a cocktail and look out over the city. Unfortunately we had 2 rooms on the 1st floor which you either bring your luggage up a full flight of stairs or down a flight where the elevator stops. Not that big of a deal but worth noting. One of the rooms was beautiful with high ceilings and nice bath. The weather was cool so we noticed cold stone floors, no slippers provided. They were also a little gritty. The furnishings were fair but not unusual for Europe. We looked out on Santo Spirito and didn't have too much trouble with sound but they did provide ear plugs. The other room was in the back and had a terrible smell of air freshener-not sure what the trouble had been but we took out all 3 plug ins and it was tolerable. The bath in that room was not good-dark and barely functioning shower. The furnishings there were not as nice but it had two rooms with total of 3 beds. Breakfast was fair, scrambled eggs were powdered, but there were others things to choose from.

The service was both great and horrible, don't know how else to describe it and maybe it was due to the holiday weekend. Martina was amazing, arranging restaurant reservations and giving us help with tourist info (both via internet & while we were there). She gave us wine glasses to enjoy the view and have a bottle among the 4 of us. Unfortunately she wasn't there all weekend and the others weren't so friendly, denying us wine glasses on another evening. Also one of the morning breakfast staff had real issues with working on the holiday weekend-not happy or friendly. The cleaning staff didn't clean the glasses in our room and took a package from under the desk to throw away- Fortunately we found her and retrieved it, and understood it was a couple feet from a can of garbage but still not their place to decide if it was garbage prior to checking out. All and all we would not stay here again, it has potential but needs some room upgrades and some better management.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank needtogetaway2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    721
    261
    53
    14
    7
See reviews for
183
638
48
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Simply lovely! The piazza around which this hotel is located is lively and full of delicious and affordable trattorias, pizzarias, cafes, and restaurants. The location is on the side of the river opposite the central area with museums and typical shopping, but that's why we enjoyed it so much. The streets were quainter, and more artisanal shops dotted the area. The hotel itself is elegant and accommodating, rustic wooden beams, antique furniture, and beautiful fabrics and colors throughout. The breakfast was delicious, with pastries, hard-boiled eggs, fruits, meats, and cheeses. Still, perhaps the best part was the terrace overlooking Florence. It was the perfect spot to enjoy a morning espresso or evening cocktail.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOE7171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, Limburg, Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The entrance makes you think 'This was a mistake', but once you've entered the upper floors of this very old palazzo, your skepticism changes in pure enthusiasm in seconds. What a view from the terrace over Florence and what a lovely rooms.! Ours was very large and had a beautifully painted ceiling. The furniture is a bit scruffy, but that's ok in this very very Italian ambiance. Located at the left bank at a very nice square. Follow the restaurant advices from the hotel and you'll have super dinner nights. Breakfast 100% OK. Wishes we were still there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The pros: Palazzo Guadagni is centrally located in a fantastic part of Florence. Far enough from the tourist center to not be overwhelmed when you step outside, but close enough to reach any destination within a 10 minute walk. There are plenty of restaurants steps from the hotel, three of which we enjoyed during out short stay. The rooms are incredibly spacious! Beds clean and comfortable. The bathroom decor was something to admire! Having stayed at other accommodations in Florence, I would recommend this hotel. Some people complain about the "feel" of the hotel, but that is Florence...it's a town with an old soul and the hotels in the area reflect that.

The cons: The breakfast is not impressive, I've had more appealing spreads at lower priced hotel accommodations in the area. There is "American" coffee out in a pot but order an espresso, even if you are an avid American coffee drinker. Reading previous reviews, I can see how some people has difficult stays at the hotel given the downstairs noise level and stairs. We stayed upstairs and has a fantastic nights sleep, even as light sleepers. Our cousins however, were on the ground floor and needed ear plugs as they were near the piazza. There is a convenient elevator in the lobby which some may have missed. Take the elevator! The check in desk is about eight flights up.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are quieter. Take the elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raanana Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had the most wonderful four days in Florence staying at the Palazzo Gaudigni. The location is excellent, near enough to the centre but far enough from the crowds, and situated on Piazza Santo Spirito with its fantastic restaurants and cafes (we went to Volume for happy hour which included unlimited and very tasty snacks, and to Tamero for great fresh pasta).
The room at the Palazzo (we had a superior room) was big, airy and very clean, but what made the biggest difference was the service: on our first day at breakfast we asked if there were any vegetables (these aren't part of the usual buffet) and as a result every morning we were greeted by a bowl of juicy, ripe plum tomatoes served with a smile. We chose the hotel as a result of the reviews on Trip Advisor and we're really pleased we did.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shraga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed here in March. Martina made some reservations for us before we arrived and both her and Tara were very helpful during our stay. The location was lovely and our room was quiet as it did not overlook the piazza where the restaurants and bars are. It was on the first floor which is accessed by the lift. It was really large, a deluxe room I think!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theflyingpa43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
122 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the apartment on the first floor and loved it! Spacious, clean, cute! The views from the top are amazing and breakfast was perfect. Such a gorgeous place and Palazzo San Spirito is great.

We loved that it was slightly off the beaten path and slightly less touristy than the rest of Florence.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#23 of 422 in Florence
956 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#30 of 422 in Florence
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#57 of 422 in Florence
786 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#28 of 422 in Florence
2,268 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 422 in Florence
3,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Guadagni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Guadagni

Property: Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
Address: Piazza Santo Spirito 9, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palazzo Guadagni 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palazzo Guadagni is located in the Oltrarno district, in a characteristic piazza in the historical centre of Florance, a nighbourhood full of antique shops andold artisans' workshop, just a few minutes walk from the Pitti palace and the Boboli Gardens.The rooms are spacious and rich in atmosphere, found in Palazza Guadagni designed by Simone del Pollaiolo in 1505,have ceilings with frescos, fire places and a wonderful views that looks out onto Florence and the most important buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Guadagni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing