We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
Ranked #48 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Central Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“What a find”
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Thanks to Trip Advisor I knew that we were looking for a large door and not to expect too much when the door opened. However, not as bad as some had mentioned in their reviews. The door is large and in keeping with the building, leading into a large entrance area which is shared with private dwellings and at least one other business, but a lift takes you straight up to the top 2 floors of this marvelous building.

We were greeted by a charming Australian girl who quickly checked us in and took us up to room 15. Everything in the room is very in keeping with the 14th century building being slightly on the old side, but it would have been so wrong to have modern items in the large, light, airy and delightful room. The bathroom was modern, but because of the windows in here there wasn't much choice but to put a mirror around one of them, which caused quite a bit of hilarity and some photo taking. I couldn't believe what I was seeing when I turned round to look out the window straight over to the Duomo. What a sight to greet you in the morning.

Breakfast was fine, once we'd helped ourselves to crockery from the sideboard, a very smiley waitress brought us some coffee and kept the croissants topped up.

We only stayed one night at the start of our trip, but had already booked to return to a superior room for a couple of nights on our return. This room was larger than the previous one, with a view of The Pitti, which was great, but didn't quite have the same wow factor as the view from our first room.

The Loggia which runs around part of the main floor is the ideal place to sit and sip a glass of proscecco while the sun sets over this lovely city. Situated within a short distance from a great selection of restaurants and bars, this hotel is to be seriously recommended. It gave us our faith back that Italians can actually smile and that you are welcome in their country.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotsbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    727
    263
    53
    14
    7
See reviews for
184
644
48
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2010

My wife and I stayted here on our honeymoon and we liked it. Yes, it is on a piazza and just like if you stay in any other older hotel on a piazza in Italy you'll have some noise. The room we had was huge and had a balcony that overlooked the piazza. The staff is wonderful and the room was very clean. Although it is on the southern side of the Arno it is about a 10-15 minute walk away from the Uffizi and Duomo, and the Pitti Palace entrance is probably less than 5 minutes away. There are very good restaurants in the area and we had really delicious food at all of them. If you're going to Florence to stay in the room and sleep then it's probably not for you, if you are planning on going to Florence for vacation and sightseeing it's a good option!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterAndros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverton, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

We stayed at this location at the recommendation of a friend who loved the area. We loved it too and enjoyed staying in a "neighborhood" rather than a touristy section of the city. Loved the price and the room was surprisingly large. We wanted two twin beds and so we received a room on the 3rd floor which did not overlook the Santo Spirito Square. Therefore, we had no real noise problems. We did hear a bit of traffic (motorcycle noise), but it was still sleepable. We woke to a bazaar in the square on a Sunday morning with lots of fresh foods, cheeses, spices. What a treat! We could easily walk to the touristy areas to see the Uffizi, Academia, Ponte Vecchio Bridge and more. The rooms were sparsely decorated but very clean. The breakfast was plentiful and we were allowed to eat and drink until we were full. The staff was extremely kind...we forgot to bring an alarm clock, but staff was willing to come by on our final morning, and knock on our door to make sure we were awake in time to make a wine tour we had scheduled with Tuscan Trails. We only had two nights in Florence. Sure wish we would have had more time to explore and enjoy this little community (Santo Spirito) within the bigger city of Florence. If you are looking for a "right-priced" room in an area with lots of local character, this is a great place. The hotel is nicely decorated in the halls and has a huge balcony on the 3rd floor that provides excellent views of the city. We would go back!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atwell4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

My partner and I stayed in this hotel for a few nights, and were left feeling somewhat disappointed.

There are pros and cons to this hotel (I'll start with the positives):

Pros:
- location - its not in the 'centre' of Florence, however it is only a 10 min walk from it. ITs located in a square with somw shops, restaurants and markets. Due to the distance form the centre, you get much larger rooms for your money.
- room size - our room was massive. it could have fit 4 king sized beds in it. We heard other travelers talking about their rooms and a common remark was that they could barely walk around the bed due to lack of room.
- staff - staff were so nice and friendly. They really made this place. They were welcoming, helpful and gave us local tips to help us get around.
- lodge - the hotel has a wide balcony that you can sit at and look at the square, enjoy the scenery and views.
- bfast - was ok. One type of cereal, crossiants, breadrolls, cake, fruit, yoghurt, juice, crackers.

cons:
- noise - this hotel was so completely noisy, it was hard to sleep. after reading some reviews on trip advisor, we specifically asked for a back room, as the front rooms are directly above the square (they have ear plugs next to the beds in anticipation). However the room we got was next to the kitchen, and so each morning at about 6am we were awoken with the staff setting up for bfast. it was also near reception so we could hear the office all the time, and he phone ringing. There were rooms at the back on the hotel on the other side, which i suspect wouldnt have had either the square noise or the kitchen noise. If you book here, my suggestion is to ask for a back room at the far side of the hotel.
- mossies - lots of mossies so best thing to do is dont open your windows.
- rooms very basic - this is really what would make us not go back. The rooms were advertised as having tv and minibar, which they didnt have. Having a fridge was a key thing for us re having cold water and being able to keep a few bits of food, as well as tv for the nights, so we felt a bit ripped off that we had paid for this and it wasnt provided.
The rooms really were 3 star at best. In one room, the cupboard/closet was literally a big rectangle hole in the wall with a curtain hanging in front. bathroom was basic, but clean, and they did provide many towels.
- hotel advertised a roof top bar. we saw no signs of this.

I hope this review helps others in their choice. Overall, if you want a hotel that is basic but gives you lots of room, you can handle noisy nights, and dont need any extras such as tv, fridge, iron, then this hotel may be ok for you.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holiday888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2010

We stayed here on our return to Florence after a few days in Rome. This hotel, like our previous one, is on the southern side of the river so well away from the tourist attractions. We were attracted by the terrace, on which we enjoyed some wine and pizza on our final night. The service here is of a very high standard, and they are happy to give excellent recommendations from places to eat, to where to purchase the best wine. The room was nice with everything required. We had a room at the front, and noticed they supplied ear plugs and on our first night we realised why. The room overlooked the square, and opposite was a bar with loud live music quite late - this makes sleep without them difficult. Added to this, there is a market in the morning and this is set up very early. Bear in mind if you stay here and have a room at the front!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boyvision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2010

Stayed here for a couple of nights - great location, really friendly and helpful staff.
Probably worth staying in a superior room if you want complete silence.
Definately recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkSamG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisonburg, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2010

I stayed at the Palazzo Guadagni at the end of a 3 month stay in Florence. For most of this time, I was living in an apartment quite near the hotel, so I came to know the neighborhood well. It's the best location in Florence, I think. The hotel overlooks the beautiful and fascinating Piazza Santo Spirito. There's always something happening in the piazza there--daily markets (with all kinds of great stuff) and lots of terrific restaurants (cappuccino at Cafe Ricchi is a must!). The hotel has a stunning loggia (balcony/terrace) which overlooks the square. It was terrific to sit out there in the late afternoon/evening, sip a drink and look over the happenings in the square. The Oltrarno is the best choice for accommodations in Florence--much less touristy than the main part of the city, with a more "authentic" feel, yet still quite close to all of the attractions one might want to visit, requiring only a short (and very interesting) walk to reach places like the Uffizi or the Duomo. I'd also note that it's about a 15 minute walk from the Santa Maria Novella train station--if you have a lot of luggage that's not so practical, but I made the trip many times with a single suitcase with no problem. Taxis are also, of course, widely available.
The rooms at the hotel are great--huge, with plenty of space to spread out in. Great views from most of them (you can see the Duomo from some). Big comfortable bed, great baths, terrific towels (not always a certainty in Italy). The breakfast was great--lots of variety, really good coffee. This may sound strange, but I also loved the way that the hotel smelled--sort of lavender-ish and extremely pleasant.
The staff at the hotel are fabulous as well. I should mention that I stayed at the hotel when the volcanic ash cloud stopped air travel for a few days in April of 2010. Our departure date seemed to change every minute (no one knew when flights would resume, or which flight you might be able to get on if they did). The staff at the hotel were terrific. Very accommodating, helpful, flexible and sympathetic. Loaned me an alarm clock, arranged taxis for me and otherwise just very helpful.
Overall, I think that the Palazzo Guadagni is an excellent choice for accommodations in Florence. The location is great and the hotel itself is beautiful, comfortable, and unique. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSP2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#32 of 411 in Florence
1,490 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#56 of 411 in Florence
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#31 of 411 in Florence
2,287 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#36 of 411 in Florence
781 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#47 of 411 in Florence
2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Guadagni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Guadagni

Property: Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
Address: Piazza Santo Spirito 9, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palazzo Guadagni 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palazzo Guadagni is located in the Oltrarno district, in a characteristic piazza in the historical centre of Florance, a nighbourhood full of antique shops andold artisans' workshop, just a few minutes walk from the Pitti palace and the Boboli Gardens.The rooms are spacious and rich in atmosphere, found in Palazza Guadagni designed by Simone del Pollaiolo in 1505,have ceilings with frescos, fire places and a wonderful views that looks out onto Florence and the most important buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Guadagni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing