We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet and subtle experience...perfecto!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
Ranked #49 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sweet and subtle experience...perfecto!”
Reviewed 14 January 2011

We have visited Florence several times before but have never enjoyed it as much as we have this trip. Staying at the Palazzo Guadagni allowed us to relax into the great atmosphere of the 'other side of the river'. The staff..especially Ferdnando is exceptional.
GRAB some fresh flowers upon your arrival and settle in for a lovely stay.
PS. They serve great morning coffee.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marshmallow50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    259
    52
    13
    7
See reviews for
178
627
48
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2011

My husband & I stayed here based on trip advisor reviews.

We enjoyed the following:
- breakfast was ok
- service from wait staff was good
- upon arrival, the manager showed us around and was very helpful
- wifi access

The following was off-putting for us:
- the room seemed very "cold" - sparsely decorated, not homely or relaxing.
- the hotel itself seemed deadly quiet - I hate to say it, but it felt like I was living in a convent. Don't get me wrong, we are not looking to "party" but it just didn't have a welcoming feel
- we found it strange that we were asked to check out the night before
- english channels on tv non existent
- wifi difficult to use

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josa001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2011

From the moment we arrived we knew it was exactly what we wanted. The unassuming brass plaque at the door to the palazzo and the magnificent entrance and staircase were a fitting introduction to the hotel. The reception area and public rooms, furnished with antiques, and especially the terrace overlooking the Piazza Santo Spirito, are welcoming and beautiful. Our room was large, elegant and simply furnished with many original features and a large bathroom.

Service was friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

The area around Santo Spirito is pretty bohemian with many small side streets, beautiful buildings, interesting shops of many kinds and lots of interesting people. On the square itself there is a market in the mornings, which is mostly food on weekdays and mostly antiques and collectibles all day Sunday.

There are a number of good small restaurants, pizzerie, ice cream places and bars within a few minutes walk. A perfect location.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muggyno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2011

not words or my english can describe the aura of this hotel.. A boutique hotel located in the upper floors of an old palazzo, in the heart of the old city. Royal class room, authentic toscany decoration, helpful and originally kind staff.
We fill lucky that we stayed in such a marvelous place in our road trip to Europe. We'll always looking forward to go back there.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

We just returned from our vacation in Italy. The Palazzo Guadagni was hard to leave! The rooms are gorgeous and roomy, the staff (Rita, Laura and Ferdinando) are fantastic, warm and accomodating people, the location is perfect. You can walk to all of the sights from this location. The rooms are immaculate and filled with gorgeous antiques. The bathrooms have the deepest tubs we found in all of Italy and the tiled floors are gorgeous. The beds are extremely comfortable and the linens are high quality. There is a beautiful view from the rooms and from the terrace. The building is very secure and there are great restaurants nearby. Breakfast, while not hot, was very fresh and the pastries and breads were top notch. Service is outstanding. We will definitely recommend the Palazzo Guadagni to all of our friends and hope to return here someday. The neighborhood is adorable and a very short walk from Pointe Vecchio. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccmacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

Decided to celebrate Christmas in Florence as part of a 4 city, week long tour. Hotel Palazzo Guadagni was certainly one of our favourite hotels during the trip. Clean, quiet, rooms with character and a view of the Palazzo Pitti. The staff were extremely helpful especially with regard to restaurant bookings were the owner went out of his way to identify a restaurant open on Christmas night. He kept on calling until a table was booked when other hotels would have shrugged their shoulders and stopped. The hotel terrace was also memorable although December weather meant we had to spend more time indoors. Everything was just perfect.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandJ_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2010

A truly straightforward and delightful pensione, with all the charm and style of Florence, and a breathtaking Loggia overlooking Piazza Santo Spirito to the hills beyond. Comfortable, spacious rooms with good bathrooms, beautifully restored high ceilings, antique furniture, some with views toward the Duomo and Palazzo Pitti. Helpful staff , good basic breakfast and a homely unfussy atmosphere. Lovely to come home to and convenient quiet location.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolamallows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#34 of 421 in Florence
1,696 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 421 in Florence
2,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#10 of 421 in Florence
3,417 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#50 of 421 in Florence
1,942 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#56 of 421 in Florence
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Guadagni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Guadagni

Property: Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
Address: Piazza Santo Spirito 9, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palazzo Guadagni 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palazzo Guadagni is located in the Oltrarno district, in a characteristic piazza in the historical centre of Florance, a nighbourhood full of antique shops andold artisans' workshop, just a few minutes walk from the Pitti palace and the Boboli Gardens.The rooms are spacious and rich in atmosphere, found in Palazza Guadagni designed by Simone del Pollaiolo in 1505,have ceilings with frescos, fire places and a wonderful views that looks out onto Florence and the most important buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Guadagni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing