We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable in a good way.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
Ranked #49 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Memorable in a good way.”
Reviewed 23 January 2011

I would stay again, but first I would like to have known about the four restaurants in the piazza below, which go until early morning, so there's a noise issue. Although there were complimentary earplugs by the bed ! And plenty of good food.
The rooms are basic, and the building is typical old Italian, with a communal central stairway and ancient paved courtyard, inside. There is a tiny elevator.
We were there in summer, and it was cool inside. We were offered a cocktail on the loggia when we checked in, which was fantastic, and we made G&Ts on the loggia a habit during our four nights there.
Florence has a lot to offer, including side trips to places like Siena. We sometimes found it difficult to find a car park, and the hotel needs your rego plate to register it with the council, which videos every car that drives into the neighborhood. The location is an easy walk to Ponte Vecchio and the Uffizi.
It was a comfortable and convenient stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunCoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    259
    52
    13
    7
See reviews for
178
627
48
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2011

The perfect place to stay in such a beautiful city, the kind staff and the great settings of the rooms made it seem as if we were living in another era!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnM78ozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

I came to Florence for a business trip, and stayed in this wonderful place, very nice rooms, the staff was very kind and pleasant, and the breakfast was great!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitby84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

This was, hands down, the best place my boyfriend and I stayed in Italy. Our room was almost unreal in how beautiful it was. It had an original fresco on the ceiling, a window the size of a sedan (I swear! It was huge!) and wonderful period furniture. The ceiling seemed two stories tall. As a gay couple, it can be risky ending up at a hotel with prejudiced staff, but everyone at the hotel was incredibly friendly. The breakfast buffet was also delicious and far beyond the cornetto and cafe we were getting at other B&B's.

A quick not to other travelers: if you're someone that likes to be next door to gucci and prada boutiques and feel like a beverly hills princess, this hotel is not for you. Although the rooms are luxurious, the location is on an ultra hip piazza with many different kinds of people and income levels. If you like being around bars that artists and college students and intellectuals go to, stay here. But if you want to be in a more fussy neighborhood where they arrest people for looking homelesss, stay on the north side of the river. If you know San Francisco, staying at this hotel is like staying in the mission (culturally vibrant, diverse, artsy) rather than staying in union square (all corporate hotels, designer boutiques, soulless). Personally, I prefer the mission and so I had a marvelous time at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bearerfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papenburg
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Palazzo Guadagni a gorgeous place to be quiet and simply furnished spacious room
comfortable and beautifly tiled bathroom floor , very frendly and kind people Laura,
Ferdinand and beautifull daughter, and their lovely and helpfull staff specially Rita and
all other members.
The area around pretty atractive many small streets with a great number of excellent
restaurants, and old beautifull buildings, art and more art every corner of Florence
is a wonderfull city looking forward to go back.
Thanks,
P.Zoyganelis

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patriciapapenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 January 2011

I had a great stay here in January 2011, the staff were extremely kind and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. Large, spacious clean room, would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zyphon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2011

We have visited Florence several times before but have never enjoyed it as much as we have this trip. Staying at the Palazzo Guadagni allowed us to relax into the great atmosphere of the 'other side of the river'. The staff..especially Ferdnando is exceptional.
GRAB some fresh flowers upon your arrival and settle in for a lovely stay.
PS. They serve great morning coffee.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marshmallow50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#34 of 421 in Florence
1,696 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 421 in Florence
2,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#10 of 421 in Florence
3,417 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#50 of 421 in Florence
1,942 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#56 of 421 in Florence
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Guadagni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Guadagni

Property: Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
Address: Piazza Santo Spirito 9, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palazzo Guadagni 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palazzo Guadagni is located in the Oltrarno district, in a characteristic piazza in the historical centre of Florance, a nighbourhood full of antique shops andold artisans' workshop, just a few minutes walk from the Pitti palace and the Boboli Gardens.The rooms are spacious and rich in atmosphere, found in Palazza Guadagni designed by Simone del Pollaiolo in 1505,have ceilings with frescos, fire places and a wonderful views that looks out onto Florence and the most important buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Guadagni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing