We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Giant room in 15th c palazzo, complete with frescoed ceilings.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
Ranked #48 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2011

The Palazzo Guadagni was a very pleasant place to stay, right next to Santo Spirito and near the Palazzo Pitti, well away from the crush of tourists, and welcoming place to return to after a day sightseeing. The hotel is located on the top floor of an historic mansion in OItrarno, across the river from most of the principal sites, but only a 10 minute walk to most of them. The room was very large, and so was the bathroom. The decor was nothing special, a bit bare and cold, but it was still a pleasant and comfortable to rest. The nicest part of the hotel is the open, collonaded top-floor porch, but it was too cold to enjoy it in February. We we're encourage to spend an extra E20 on a room with fireplace, which made me expect to find a cozy room with a blazing fire. The fireplace was boarded up, nothing but a mantel and fireplace surround. Breakfast was very good. Staff was accomodating, whenever we had questions or requests, and service was good. All in all, a pleasant, comfortable, quiet place to stay, in a quiet neighborhood with lots of good, little neighborhood restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank impatiens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,089)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

673 - 679 of 1,089 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2011

my husband and i stayed here as part of our honeymmon and loved it. the suites themselves are spacious and the way the hotel is set up, inside it has a very private and exclusive feel. much of the furnishings seemed to be antiques and very lovely. thre were some pieces that seemed a little out of place though. that is our only critisim of the place and a nite picky one at that. everything else was spot on. perhaps the most memorable aspect of this hotel was the service. the staff was in a word incredible and from the moment we entered we felt like honered guests. we felt very priviliged to have been able to enjoy this hotel as part of our honeymoon in florence.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcgoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Located on the 4th floor overlooking the square. From the moment you arrive you are treated like a friend although you are in a boutique. Just 7 minutes walk to the Ponte Vecchio bridge and the city sights. At the end of the day of walking it was great to come back to the room to enjoy the comfortable surroundings and sit around the outside balcony and watch the views across the residential area of Florence. Definately worth the time to stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dalziel02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

I would stay again, but first I would like to have known about the four restaurants in the piazza below, which go until early morning, so there's a noise issue. Although there were complimentary earplugs by the bed ! And plenty of good food.
The rooms are basic, and the building is typical old Italian, with a communal central stairway and ancient paved courtyard, inside. There is a tiny elevator.
We were there in summer, and it was cool inside. We were offered a cocktail on the loggia when we checked in, which was fantastic, and we made G&Ts on the loggia a habit during our four nights there.
Florence has a lot to offer, including side trips to places like Siena. We sometimes found it difficult to find a car park, and the hotel needs your rego plate to register it with the council, which videos every car that drives into the neighborhood. The location is an easy walk to Ponte Vecchio and the Uffizi.
It was a comfortable and convenient stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunCoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

The perfect place to stay in such a beautiful city, the kind staff and the great settings of the rooms made it seem as if we were living in another era!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnM78ozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

I came to Florence for a business trip, and stayed in this wonderful place, very nice rooms, the staff was very kind and pleasant, and the breakfast was great!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitby84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

This was, hands down, the best place my boyfriend and I stayed in Italy. Our room was almost unreal in how beautiful it was. It had an original fresco on the ceiling, a window the size of a sedan (I swear! It was huge!) and wonderful period furniture. The ceiling seemed two stories tall. As a gay couple, it can be risky ending up at a hotel with prejudiced staff, but everyone at the hotel was incredibly friendly. The breakfast buffet was also delicious and far beyond the cornetto and cafe we were getting at other B&B's.

A quick not to other travelers: if you're someone that likes to be next door to gucci and prada boutiques and feel like a beverly hills princess, this hotel is not for you. Although the rooms are luxurious, the location is on an ultra hip piazza with many different kinds of people and income levels. If you like being around bars that artists and college students and intellectuals go to, stay here. But if you want to be in a more fussy neighborhood where they arrest people for looking homelesss, stay on the north side of the river. If you know San Francisco, staying at this hotel is like staying in the mission (culturally vibrant, diverse, artsy) rather than staying in union square (all corporate hotels, designer boutiques, soulless). Personally, I prefer the mission and so I had a marvelous time at this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bearerfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 410 in Florence
1,810 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#39 of 410 in Florence
2,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#12 of 410 in Florence
3,544 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#35 of 410 in Florence
1,539 reviews
Art Hotel Villa Agape
#13 of 410 in Florence
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Guadagni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Guadagni

Address: Piazza Santo Spirito 9, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £90 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palazzo Guadagni 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palazzo Guadagni is located in the Oltrarno district, in a characteristic piazza in the historical centre of Florance, a nighbourhood full of antique shops andold artisans' workshop, just a few minutes walk from the Pitti palace and the Boboli Gardens.The rooms are spacious and rich in atmosphere, found in Palazza Guadagni designed by Simone del Pollaiolo in 1505,have ceilings with frescos, fire places and a wonderful views that looks out onto Florence and the most important buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Guadagni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing