We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "Must" on your list of restaurants to eat at in Florence.”
Review of Il Boccale

Il Boccale
Ranked #2,095 of 2,712 Restaurants in Florence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Uffizi
Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A "Must" on your list of restaurants to eat at in Florence.”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We discovered this small hidden gem on our wanderings around Florence. The owner is a super nice person and an amazing chef. All menu items are home made and were by the far the best we had in all of our Italy travels.
The restaurant itself it small and unassuming (sitting just under 30 total). The service is amazing and you can tell the owner takes pride in his restaurant and the happiness of his patrons (even as tourists!). It is located right acrross from Hotel Torre Guelfa, near the Ponte Vicchio. He usually has a refrigerated cold drink chest out front to grab a drink on the honor system (there's a cup inside to pay for your choice), but I highly recommend going in for a major meal! Bring you appetite!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mom2SJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    54
    33
    18
    81
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Authentic and rustic”
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed meal...45euro for one starter, 2 mains and a bottle of red wine. Service was slow but we loved just sitting and chatting and enjoying our meal. If u want a nice tasty meal where u are not rushed, try this place as its excellent value for money with some locals.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mollymoozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Average...Decent food.. Decent price.. Nothing more..”
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

With many restaurants in the area, I wouldn't go back but it was an ok meal.. Food was decent..nothing special.. One item never was served, as waitress forgot but I was full anyway, so they took it
Off bill...I'm not sure if they have dessert, since it was never offered, but was around corner from our hotel, so after a lot of walking and a big lunch in Florence, it was fine for dinner.. Quick it wasn't but that was fine.. Food was made to order.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LOVETOTRAVELNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Mediocre at best”
Reviewed 28 March 2013 via mobile

Our food was nice, but we waited an hour for it. As we were the second lot of people in the restaurant this was surprising.

Everyone else's experiences seemed more telling. The couple next to us gave up after waiting an hour and left. Another coupled argued with the waitress over how much the meal was worth, and I noticed when we were leaving that another couple had eaten very little of their meal before going.

For a restaurant that is out of the way they did not make much effort.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank argy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olney, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We loved this friendly place.”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Our service was wonderful and so friendly. The food was terrific. The atmosphere is warm. They brought us two rounds of complimentary limoncello after dessert.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Boccale also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Il Boccale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing