We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded Expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Acqua Al 2

Acqua Al 2
Ranked #201 of 2,679 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Duomo
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
123 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We had a great and unique dining experience here! We waited a little bit for a table and the manager provided all of us with a complimentary glass of wine. Lovely. Even though this is a "chain" of sorts, it doesn't give that feel. It is a busy, noisy and bustling restaurant and it's fun. We enjoyed the sampler plates which gave us a ton of tastes of the various pastas and desserts but loved the balsamic steak as well as the blueberry steak. Might sound unusual or unappealing but it's GOOD! I'd love to eat here again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nancy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    766
    423
    156
    92
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
419 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We where recommended the place and shall have a serious talk with our friend that recommended it. Arrogant, but friendly service. Only tourists and friends of the staff visiting. The "fresh" pasta was more al dente (harder to chew) than raw fresh pasta. We had their 5 different pastas to start and then the reduced balsamic beef. It´s late portions so we shared and that was more than enough. Am not going back to that place.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lars P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food & Excellent Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

So good we went back the following night , Francesca was so helpful and patient with us ! We both had steak with their unique sauces so good . Leonardo was also a great host looking forward to Acqua Al 2 coming to London ! We will be one of your 1st customers .

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joolsouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fab meal in a beautiful city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Just eaten here and had a fab meal. Started with the pasta to share, followed with three taster steaks (to share) and then the taster pudds. Food was really enjoyable, waitress was really helpful and friendly and the wine tasty too. All in all a brilliant meal in a buzzing atmosphere at a very reasonable price. Shared our table with some lovely people who despite not being English managed to exchange friendly conversation. Would definitely recommend and wouldn't hesitate to visit again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HollyDolly55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and extensive choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Teeny tables so you're squished in but it adds to the experience! Book or go early. Menu is full of choices- some work, some not so great. I'd suggest you share the balsamic steak and get the taster option for pastas ( 5 small dishes served depending on what else is coming out of the kitchen). Finish with the tasting option for dessert- 4 different desserts to savour. House wine is divine and we ended up ordering more than was good for us! Prices are more than fair and staff are super helpful. Loved it!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jolo336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Acqua Al 2 also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Acqua Al 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing