We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A BIG highlight of a GREAT cruise!”

Guido's Tours - Wine Tours in Tuscany
Ranked #34 of 142 Food & Drink in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wine tasting tours in Tuscany. Wine and country tours in Tuscany. Educational wine tasting tours in Tuscany with certified sommelier, wine and olive oil expert
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A BIG highlight of a GREAT cruise!”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Six of us – who were so fortunate to be enjoying the fantastic entertainment of the Garrison Keillor Prairie Home Companion cruise in August – spent a day with Guido seeing rural Tuscany and enjoying some good wine. It was an incredible experience – one of the highlights of a cruise full of highlights!

Guido is a sommelier and knows everything about wine. So, naturally, the two wineries we visited were excellent and informative. But Guido also grew up in the Chianti region and it was like having an Italian cousin personally driving us around for the day, showing us all the best the area has to offer with great enthusiasm. (His command of English, even its crazy idioms and humor, is impressive.)

He picked us up at our ship in Livorno in a very comfortable, air-conditioned van and we headed straight for the tower-spiked hill town of San Gimignano so we could visit there BEFORE all the tour buses arrived. He dropped us off at the town gate to spend 90 minutes or so on our own enjoying the medieval town before meeting him back at the van.

He also dropped us off at a great little cafe in another small town for lunch, where we appeared to be the only tourists. We enjoyed some great food and wine on an outdoor terrace with beautiful views of the countryside. The local family at the next table was celebrating a birthday and it was fun watching their two kids enjoying it all.

All the rave reviews you'll read about Guido's Tours are absolutely true. The six of us shared the cost of the tour, all established ahead of time, and for the 9 hours we spent with him, it was probably less than half of what a typical all-day cruise-line shore excursion would have cost each of us -- without the usual long stops for shopping, which not everyone enjoys :)

The friend in our group, who arranged the tour for us, said Guido replied to her advance emails promptly and answered any questions with a lot of good information. Go to his website and book Guido early so you don't miss out on this very personal and fun way to experience Tuscany. He not only is an outstanding, very professional guide and a great value -- he obviously loves Tuscany and it rubs off effortlessly on his clients.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LOSTATSEA87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    0
    0
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
“Guido is amazing!”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Hands down the best wine tour guide that we have ever had! Guido has a vast array of knowledge on Italian and French wines, his passion and enthusiasm shine and you can tell that he truly loves his craft. A Tuscany wine tour is definitely different but we enjoyed the more intimate feel of a smaller tour as compared to Napa or Sonoma, CA. The Tuscan countryside is absolutely beautiful and the Italian restaurant that Guido recommended for lunch was superb. Guido is professional as they come and just a genuine great guy!! I highly recommend him if you have a passion for wine. :)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Tuscan Perfection”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Guido was absolutely perfect. I cannot say enough about him and his tour. I have to say that Guido is an authority on the Tuscan wines but admittedly our party was not too interested in wine. He changed the itinerary to match our interests which focused more on olive oil, something else Guido is an authority on! We did gain an appreciation for the wine that we were not expecting. Guido picked us up right at our hotel and took care of the driving and everything else. Please don't hesitate to contact Guido when you want a tour of the Tuscan wine and/or olive oil country. He will tailor the tour to your likes and desires. Easily our favorite part of our trip to Italy!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fenway302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Best of the Best!”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Be in no doubt that Guido is the absolute authority of Tuscan wine when you book with him. We had a full day touring some of the gems of Brunello and the whole experience was organized to perfection. A great mix of vineyards (rather than the traditional one or two ‘celebrity’ sites) an excellent lunch, amazing wines and a very very knowledgeable host all combined to make an unforgettable day. Guido’s English is excellent, as is his experience in wine making, and of course, tasting. We had a wonderful day and would whole heartedly recommend his tours. We will be back for more next year!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrSleath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must-do for a Florence/Tuscany trip”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I have now had the pleasure of being on two trips with Guido--a tour through Chianti with my family, and a tour through Montalcino with friends. Both groups agreed, hands down, that our day with Guido was a highlight of the trip. Guido plans every element to make your day perfect. His knowledge is seemingly endless, and you spend the morning driving through the gorgeous landscapes of Tuscany while learning about the wines of your destination. Every winery he selected has been more unique, charming and gorgeous, with charismatic winery owners to give you a private experience through their winery. He ensures that you see other aspects of your chosen region, whether stopping at an 11th century abbey, still in use, for a visit, or stopping at various Chianti towns to allow for exploring. He is professional at every turn, and takes an obvious pride in both his homeland, as well as ensuring the very best experience for his guests. I cannot recommend him highly enough, and if I'm lucky enough to find myself in Tuscany for a third time, I'll likely be booking yet another tour with Guido.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleItaly551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Guido's Tours - Wine Tours in Tuscany also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Guido's Tours - Wine Tours in Tuscany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing