We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante Alfredo Sull'Arno - CLOSED

Ristorante Alfredo Sull'Arno
Price range: US$27 - US$49
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Pitti
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

After a busy day in Siena and an early start planned for the next day we decided to have an earlyish dinner, 7.30pm. We'd seen the reviews of the restaurant and although there were only a few couples eating we decided to take a chance, hoping that the place would fill up.

We were initially offered the table sandwiched between the other couples but I asked for the corner table by the window where we had a fantastic view of the bridge and the kayak polo (or whatever the game is). The food was disappointing especially considering the price. Shortly after ordering our food the other couples left and up until we left at 8.45pm nobody else came in. This meant we had 3 waiters hovering by our table, constantly asking if we needed anything else. In the end we declined coffee and dessert and left so we could go somewhere else and chat in peace.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mico62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    93
    41
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very pleasant all-around. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We were a group of 10. We arrived relatively early for dinner in Italy. About 7:30. We were happily greeted. And a large table was quickly prepared for us by the open windows overlooking the River. Attentive service continued throughout our relaxed 2-1/2 hour stay. We had two waiters who did there very best to accommodate the varying needs of our group. 2 of us needed to leave early for a night tour, and their meal was served quickly, as requested. It appeared by the empty plates at our table that all the meals were better than satisfactory. Eggplant pasta dish was very good. Steak was cooked perfectly. Caprese appetizer, also wonderful. House red wine very good. We only sampled two of the desserts: creme brûlée & the tiramisu. Both excellent. My only two minor issues... The first appears to be customary. I prefer to have my dessert and coffee served together. But, our visit in Italy has shown that dessert comes first and coffee is delayed. As was the case here. The second is more of a physical aspect of the restaurant: though our table was in a very nice location, because of the height of the window, our view was minimal while seated. A simple fix would be to maybe raise the tables. Or reconstruct the windows. But that would be a bit much. Again a wonderful visit. Thanks to the wait staff, who even took the time to give a us some pointers on Italian.

Helpful?
Thank Randy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, amazing view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a good restaurant with a great view, that is a place to go. Make the reservation close to sunset time, you won't regret!

Helpful?
Thank FELIPE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Dine by the Ponte Vecchio”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

It was my birthday and we wanted a table overlooking the river and the Ponte Vecchio. We booked it for 7pm (when they open) - probably no need if you get there promptly but it did soon fill up. We started with the pate on toast - which is served hot and looked rather unfortunate but tasted nice. We then had chicken with mozzarella and tomatoes which was absolutely gorgeous. We ordered a bottle of white wine which was left on the table - no ice bucket. The trouble was, by 7.45 we had been served and eaten both courses. It would have been nice not to have been so rushed through. We didn't want a dessert and felt odd ordering another bottle of wine so we left, meandered back to one of the squares and had a bottle of wine at one of the pavement restaurants to watch the world go by.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Juliette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very special location, reasonable food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

My husband and I ate here with his parents, who treated us to dinner. It was quite an expensive dinner I think, but a special place to eat together with a great view of the river and bridge on a perfect summer evening. My father-in-law had booked a table out on the patio for us.

The food was reasonable. I had the fillet steak with mushrooms and rucola. The steak was nice and tender, but the mushrooms were quite salty and sloppy and detracted from the flavour of the steak. I also had fried seasonable vegetables (zucchini, eggplant, and a few french fries), which were probably not a good match for my main dish as they were also salty. For dessert I had the ‘zuppa cotta’, which was a bit like a lemon meringue pie but with a non-lemony sweet custard and sponge cake. It was incredibly sweet and served in a portion that would have been enough for 3 or 4 people! My husband and father-in-law had the bistecca Fiorentina and enjoyed it but weren’t raving about it.

Our service was fine - polite and sufficiently attentive. The young waiter we had fixed up our wobbly table for us, as others have mentioned also.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DrUrbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Alfredo Sull'Arno also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing