We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST STEAK IN FIRENZE!”

Osteria Cocotrippone
Ranked #733 of 2,763 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: US$30 - US$60
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Firenze, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“THE BEST STEAK IN FIRENZE!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

On this Sunday....we walked to our larger supermarket nearby and passed this little Osteria/Trattoria and decided to have lunch there. IT IS DELICIOUS!! The best steak prepared Tuscan style and with real people who live nearby and know good food. It is a family run very small place...but not on top of each other. There are not alot of choices...typical Florentine foods...pastas, steak and a dish of Trippa which is a much loved organ meat here in Firenze. We loved the meal and the feel of it. It was a refreshing change for Sunday lunch which we usually do at home in the summer but today we pleased to make a new friend here. The owner/waiter was a very warm and lovely man who was very helpful. To find this restaurant which is NOT in the centre...you can of course take a taxi which would be easy...but to walk....if you are at the COIN department store on the SIDE entrance, walk down until you can go no further...for point of reference you will pass a post office on the right and a CONAD on the left, keep going and when you come to the ASTRA THEATRE on your right cross that big street, on your left on the first block past the famous coffee shop SERAFINI is COCO TRIPPONE. It is not a difficult walk, no more than 20minutes and when you have done it and realize there is an entirely different part of Florence with NO TOURISTS you will now be in a real neighbourhood and can explore a bit more. There are wonderful shoe shops and wine shops, etc. in this area. Give it a try.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rtdFirenze_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    99
    32
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food with an amazing staff!!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This was our first meal that we have had in Italy and we could not be more happier about our experience!

The food was amazing, highly recommend the pepper steak and the house wine, both were amazing! We met Fabio and he made our experience that much better, he provided great recommendations for food options and made our dining experience unforgettable.

This provided us with a local dining experience and was everything we were looking for, the food was fresh, the steak was made perfectly and the atmosphere at the restaurant was very home like. We might as well have been eating dinner with our family.

We will definitely be coming back again and would recommend this to all our friends!

If you are looking for something local and with fresh food then look no further! I would recommend trying the Limoncello shots at the end of your meal!

Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikhail I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“AWESOME & UNFORGETTABLE”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Well.... our friends suggested this place to us but we didn't know what expected us.
MAMMA MIA, it is a very cosy restaurant with an awesome and kind team(a family) who work there and accept italians and tourists very very warmly as well as the FIORENTINI(local people) .Yeah that's the point. we did want to taste the ORIGINAL FIORENTINA(the delicious typical food of Florence)but we wanted to have it at a good price.YEAAAH we did it. it is situated in just 10-15 min from the center on foot. As I said you will got impressed by the kindness and hospitality of the restaurant staff who offer you generously to make you pass an unforgettable time there. they took us another dessert for free and put the whole bottles of tonic liquor for us. Well if I want to summarize don't miss your opportunity to taste their great foods. ( SPINACH IS HIGHLY RECOMMENDED AS THE CONTOUR) buon appetito

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“excellent off the beaten track.”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Excellent fresh food, delicious wine. nice family run place that will not serve anything bot at the market in the morning. Tagliata perfectly cooked and delicious. Not touristy, a nice quality in Firenze.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RalphGleason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quality food and fantastic service”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife just came back from a lovely dinner at the family runned Osteria Cocotrippone. The pasta and the Fiorentina steak was great and the family who runs the restaurant had big smiles on their faces throughout the evening. Also, don't miss out on the spinach side dish!

Helpful?
Thank Björn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria Cocotrippone also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Osteria Cocotrippone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing