We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A guesthouse that will never be missed!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cicerone Guest House
Ranked #229 of 675 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mosta, Malta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A guesthouse that will never be missed!!”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Stayed there for 3 nights and really was not pleased with our room!! (Rm 6). The room was so small there was barely any space to move around!. The same goes for the bathroom - the toilet was almost touching the shower, the shower was small you can barely shower properly plus because the shower was so small the shower curtain constantly sticks to you, there was no place to hang the towel to dry not even outside the bathroom.. we had to use clothes hangers and hang them on the bathroom door!!! Everything was in the way especially the wardrobe which was just outside the bathroom and which when opened we couldn't pass and had to close it or the bathroom door each time! Room service (towel and bed sheets change) every four days and cleaning I think after each stay as it was never cleaned even when there was room service. As other reviews mentioned at night it is noisy even with windows closed. The only positive thing I could mention is that it is very close to the train station and is in a convenient location to main attractions in the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    70
    30
    1
    11
See reviews for
23
95
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed for 4 nights in June. The hotel is a short walk from the train station and you could easily walk everywhere in Florence. The Accademia is right down the street, Duomo is about a 5 min walk, Piazza Signoria & Uffizi about 10 min walk, and Ponte Vecchio maybe 15 min walk. There was no elevator, so be prepared to carry your luggage up a few stairs (pretty common in Italy). The room was larger than I expected, even had a big desk. Everything was clean and comfortable. The room was a bit noisey at night as there is a bar nearby, but we also visited during the World Cup when Italy made it to finals. Never the less, the noise didn't keep me awake at night. I would definitely stay here again. The staff was very nice and recommended a great affordable restaurant near Piazza Signoria... best food we ate in all of Italy!! We also got free champagne for being referred by Cicerone. Great Stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Not my first choice for lodging in Florence, but the only one in our budget that was available. Our family of five had one room with five twin beds. Lots of space for clothes, but the bathroom was tiny. So noisy at night, I thought the windows were open but they weren't. Convenient location within walking distance to the train station, but beware--Florence's sidewalks are very narrow, making it difficult to lug suitcases. A 10-minute walk to the Duomo and Piazza della Signoria. Mahmoud, the attendant, was very accommodating. Let us stash our suitcases in a locker until we could check in. No coffee pot or kitchen facilites. We grabbed breakfast at Bar Fibi across the street.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shebees57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgman, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

This is only a fair place to stay. The manager was available to answer our questions and spoke English well. He also stored our luggage for us after our morning checkout. The room we had (sleeps 5) was clean and big… but really nothing more. The bathroom was a bit small, but not a big deal. The street outside got a bit noisy at night (a number of loud scooters, some screaming from various thugs, and a bit of pounding on doors). Since this place is on the second floor, we felt pretty safe. It would have been nice if the windows closed a bit tighter to keep out the noise and cold.

One evening on the way out for a stroll we opened the door to the street and saw a guy smashing in the window of the liquor store on the other side of the road with a big tire iron. A guy inside was trying to hold the door shut, but in the end, the tire iron won and he got in and the guy holding the door ran away pretty fast. My guess is they were arguing about how long they should wander the halls of the Uffizi gallery. After a brief view of the scene we closed the door and went back to the room until the action calmed down. We then went out and explored the city without incident.

While not our favorite hotel of our journey in Italy, I would be OK with staying here again to avoid higher prices and to be close to the train station – but I would certainly look for alternatives first.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnMichaelHauck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Good:

Location - Right in the heart of the old town and no more that a 15 minute leisurely stroll from the Palazzo Vecchio, Uffizi Museum and other sights.

Management - The hotel is run by a very nice man called Mahmoud who I believe also lives in one of the rooms in the hotel. Mahmoud will help you out in every way possible as you arrive (parking, luggage, directions to hotel, etc...) and will sit down with you with a map and go over the main sights in Florence.

Price - We are a family of four (2 adults/2 small children) and paid 65 Euros a night for a triple. We thought that was quite reasonable.

Room pluses - Plenty of storage place, really nice towels, comfortable bed and pillows, and good sized bathroom with plenty of hot water.

Bad:

Basic - The room essentially is four walls, a ceiling, and small in size (to be expected). Definitely only worthwhile if you spend the vast majority of your time exploring and just use the room to sleep. This is not a place where you can relax and while away a day carelessly. Also, our room overlooked the interior of the building which was the haunt of various cats. We know as we heard constant meowing during parts of the night. Nothing to keep you up but just letting you know they are there.

Television - Only three channels available, enough said.

Wifi - Non-existent during our time there. Our devices saw the Wifi emission but could never connect to it. This was a problem that other people in the hotel had as well.

Parking - Expect to pay 21 Euros a night for the pleasure of parking your car. Not exorbitant when you consider the going rate in most major Italian cities but a bother none of the less. Also, the hotel is very, very close (one block) from the Firenze ZTL which can present expensive problems to those driving in and not used to Italian driving laws.

Bottom line: This hotel is great for young adults, single travelers, or people planning a very short stay in Florence. We didn't dislike our stay at the Cicerone but since we have two small children we will upgrade a bit and stay somewhere else during our next trip to Florence.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ulical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

This guesthouse is very basic but has air conditioning and comfortable bed and space. They don't provide breakfast but Bar Mama round at 57 serves cheap breakfast. Round the corner this restaurant called Brincelli (or something like that) serves the true blue (and bloody) Florentine steak. A must try (to share) for lovers of chunky medium rare steak.

The service was very good even though the lady speak little English, we were able to make out what we were trying to say to each other. She let us place our luggage locked up in a corner before we set off for next destination. She even called a taxi to the train station for us as it was raining very heavily.

Room - clean and simple.
Convenience - just 5-10 minutes away from the Saint Lucia Statione and some tourist attractions

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissMah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Central Florencne, Clean, Helpful and not too expensive. What more do you need. Perfect for short stays, travellers, young couples and people who dont mind the basics,

Received a friendly welcome where the owners talked us through exactly where to go and what to see on our one day in Florence which helped a lot. Room was basic but spacious, clean and cool (free air con). View from window wasnt great but didnt mind as wasnt in Florence to sit in my room.

Late night arrivals may be a bit nervous as its not that easy to find but dont worry, area is nice. Close to station as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thom3k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Loggia Fiorentina
Loggia Fiorentina
#175 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
San Lorenzo
Locanda Daniel
Locanda Daniel
#199 of 675 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
San Lorenzo
Locanda dei Poeti
Locanda dei Poeti
#18 of 675 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Soggiorno Pezzati Daniela
Soggiorno Pezzati Daniela
#241 of 675 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
San Lorenzo
Locanda dei Guelfi B&B
Locanda dei Guelfi B&B
#151 of 675 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Casa Howard Guest House
Casa Howard Guest House
#183 of 675 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cicerone Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cicerone Guest House

Property: Cicerone Guest House
Address: Via Guelfa 45/black, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #229 of 675 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cicerone Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Cicerone Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing