We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cicerone Guest House
Ranked #237 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Totowa, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I was here in April 2014 with my husband and we thought the guesthouse was great! The breakfast was amazing (lots of food!), the room was clean and a good size (yes the shower stall is very small but manageable), lots of light in the room because of the huge window, we absolutely loved it and would stay here again!
Thank you!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solange1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    68
    29
    1
    11
See reviews for
22
93
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We were happy enough with this place. Its more for travellers though, than for tourists. Lol. You get a bedroom and a small bathroom in a one-floor facility. No breakfast, no amenities (well, wifi was free), but clean and run by good, honest people. And, good location.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

The room we had was large, the bathroom was a little awkward but manageable. Room was fairly clean, although everything in the room was dark - perhaps lighter color bedding would brighten the rooms.
Host was a nice man, didn't speak much English but catered to us even though he had this policy that he'd shut off the air conditioning during the day and turn it back on at 5pm.
Wifi worked really well while we were there.
A little difficult to find at first, but once you do it is close to a lot of things.
Other than that, I think it was a good stay for what you pay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank e_moshun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Super close and very easy walk from train station. Entry is one flight up from very plain door - just buzz and wonderful Mohammad will guide you through. Very secure three key system for entry. Centrally located, market around corner - great coffee! great prices there. you can shop for leather all day. Beds are comfortable, bathroom is large, but shower stall is small. there is a remote for the AC and TV. We were room #4 - it faces the street which was very interesting to look out onto on a rainy night - but it is noisy. We use earplugs so it was no bother. Room was spotless clean. I think Mohammad - a calm and kind presence makes this place great.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigresatiffany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

This is a great place to stay in Florence if you are on a budget. It is within walking distance of most of the city, but the trade off is that the walls are not well insulated, so you can hear almost everything outside. The "family" room (5 beds) is nice, but I would say the loudest, as it is on the street corner. Great value, clean rooms, and a normal shower, so in all a good "American" style place in Italy.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gatrfan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

The best thing about Cicerone Guest house is the location - once you find it. The guest house has no sign whatsoever and it's located in the second floor of a very basic Florentine building. Just follow the map. It is there. Very close to Mercato Centrale (you will be happy the breakfast isn't included to your room price!) and only a short walk away from the railway station and the historic center.

Once you get to your room you will be positively surprised, though. Make no mistake: we are talking about a basic accommodation. But the rooms are clean and quiet and have everything you might need. A real bargain in an expensive city! The owner may seem a little confused but don't worry: everyhting will be taken care of.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosta, Malta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

Stayed there for 3 nights and really was not pleased with our room!! (Rm 6). The room was so small there was barely any space to move around!. The same goes for the bathroom - the toilet was almost touching the shower, the shower was small you can barely shower properly plus because the shower was so small the shower curtain constantly sticks to you, there was no place to hang the towel to dry not even outside the bathroom.. we had to use clothes hangers and hang them on the bathroom door!!! Everything was in the way especially the wardrobe which was just outside the bathroom and which when opened we couldn't pass and had to close it or the bathroom door each time! Room service (towel and bed sheets change) every four days and cleaning I think after each stay as it was never cleaned even when there was room service. As other reviews mentioned at night it is noisy even with windows closed. The only positive thing I could mention is that it is very close to the train station and is in a convenient location to main attractions in the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Loggia Fiorentina
Loggia Fiorentina
#170 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
San Lorenzo
Locanda Daniel
Locanda Daniel
#210 of 659 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
San Lorenzo
Locanda dei Poeti
Locanda dei Poeti
#17 of 659 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Soggiorno Pezzati Daniela
Soggiorno Pezzati Daniela
#249 of 659 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
San Lorenzo
Locanda dei Guelfi B&B
Locanda dei Guelfi B&B
#156 of 659 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Casa Howard Guest House
Casa Howard Guest House
#183 of 659 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cicerone Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cicerone Guest House

Property: Cicerone Guest House
Address: Via Guelfa 45/black, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cicerone Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cicerone Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing