We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was good but maybe lack of activities”
Review of New Ostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
New Ostel
Ranked #228 of 301 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It was good but maybe lack of activities”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Although the ratings were bad, but I felt that I should give it a try. Everything turned out ok, the staff were friendly. The bed and toilet were acceptably clean, most of my hostel dorm mates were very friendly too. We hanged out together as well. However, there is no activities going on in the hostel to encourage more social activities. They have a nice lounge area though.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sylzanith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    20
    31
    17
    27
See reviews for
1
19
34
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yerevan, Armenia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I stayed in the residential rooms, property of the hostel, building across the street. Convenient location - 10 minutes walk from central train station, large clean rooms, English speaking staff (not helpful tough), credit cards accepted with additional commission, towels are for rent, beds are very good (one king size and one single). Free WiFi. Shared bathrooms are dirty. No breakfast included in the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Narekjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We booked a double room online through hostels.de. When we arrived they said they sent us an email (only 1 hour before we showed up) saying there is a problem and they could not give us a room for that price, they claimed the problem was with the website and not themselves, although we had a confirmation email with us. They then said we had to pay double the price for a room or put us in a dorm price for the price we reserved. We had tours booked that day and didn't have time to search for other accommodation so we stayed in the dorm room. The owner who checked us in, assured us that the fault was with the website. The room was ok, the bathrooms were dirty, flooded with water, and lacking toilet paper. We were also across the street and the wifi was very slow or didn't work at all. The desk lamps in the dorm room we were i, lit up the whole room when turned on and I woke up several times when the girls turned on the lights repeatedly during the night. As well, they want €2.50 a person if you keep bags in the luggage room after 2pm, which I think is ridiculous. One of the female owners said we could keep our bags for free, however when we picked up the male owners gave us a very hard time. One owner suggested that it was indeed their fault (not the websites) but that it was also our fault for thinking we could get a double room at that price. (Using the same website, we have booked 4 star hotels, including breakfast for that same price). The other owner was rude and made ignorant and rude comments to my boyfriend and where he was from. We asked for a receipt which they said they sent to us in an email but we have not yet received anything from them. Avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Nice on arrival with a lovely outdoor area. Beer from vending machine only €1 too. pretty friendly host.

We stayed across the road (still part of the hostel) in a pretty clean with clean sheets on the bed. Great sized bathroom too. Kitchen on the other hand was pretty bad. No forks, only 2 plates to eat from. No matches to light gas and only one element working.

Don't expect much for €16 a night and maybe bring your own eating utensils.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FazJak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Great prices, people, beds, sheets, living spaces for socializing, strong wifi, and great location! The front desk and other employees are energetic, excited, and fun to share stories with! There is a computer to use if you don't have a laptop, tea and coffee, and very comfortable sofas to relax the traveled body on!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gisaacson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Toscana, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 15 December 2012

staff were extremely hospitable, helping me and my friend with whatever problems we had or questions that needed answered. rooms where recently done up, new beds, sheets changed regularly, cleaned everyday, great wifi connection. There's a kitchen with everything you could possibly need, and nice seated areas to sit in and relax. you can rent towels or pay 6euro to have your washing done. we felt very welcome and would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone!! it is very near the train station and so the centre is easily accessible. it was also a popular hostel so there where always new people to meet

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catania, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

The hostel is over the average and the position is ok, if you need to stay close to the train station. The rooms are very nice, colourful, they look very clean...just DO NOT look under the bed... The owner is an annoying person, very arrogant.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frasak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
Santa Maria Novella
Ciao Hostel
Ciao Hostel
#77 of 301 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Hostel Santa Monaca
Hostel Santa Monaca
#213 of 301 in Florence
3.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Ostello del Chianti
#10 of 30 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hostel Gallo d'Oro
Hostel Gallo d'Oro
#20 of 301 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Bigallo Hostel
#58 of 301 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
7 Santi Hostel
#44 of 301 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Ostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Ostel

Property: New Ostel
Address: Via Iacopo Peri 3, 50144, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 301 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your New Ostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing