We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite nice”
Review of Gusta Osteria

Gusta Osteria
Ranked #220 of 2,744 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Description: A charming & authentic dining experience in the heart of Florence, Italy. Short menu, changed weekly, of freshly prepared dishes typical of the region.
Berwick St John
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Quite nice”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We were pleased the restaurant could fit us in on Good Friday night though it was a bit chilly outside. The food was fine but not a patch on La Casalinga around the corner.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank AttitudeAdjuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    263
    101
    28
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basel
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome second choice”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We were heading for Gusta Pizzeria, since it was too crowded we went for Gusta-Osteria. Recs: Primi, go for the Gnocchi with Asparagus. Secondi, meet loaf aka Polpettone or Tagliata di manzo was delicious. And don't forget the espresso!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank cody R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longwood, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Never has such good gnocchi!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We were looking for Gusta Pizzeria and found Gusta Osteria. Not realizing they are two different restaurants (and owned by the same family) until we noted there was no pizza on the menu, we decided to stay. It certainly didn't disappoint for lunch. My husband & I had the gnocchi (with asparagus in cheese sauce and seasoned with truffle oil) and the penne pomadoro and we loved them both. We felt their opposing flavors complimented each other so much so we kept trading plates! It was a very tasty & fun experience. The gnocchi was the pinnacle of the meal. It was so good it melted in your mouth! Not gummy, hard or chewy like in the US. Only problem is we now have to hunt down Gusta Pizza AND make it back to Osteria. I love having these kinds of problems!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank damellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We ate here twice. The food was delicious, service was good and prices were reasonable. Loved the atmosphere, a traditional Italian restaurant frequented by local people

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mick f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food and much better than we remembered it.”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Came here 3 years ago and the food was quite average after reading the reviews we decided to give it another go. Luckily they had a table when we arrived. Crostini with parma ham, artichoke and parmesan. For the main we had a meatball with roast potatoes. Amazing tomato sauce. A bottle of house wine and a very good price. Oh and pear tart to finish. I would recommend this highly and hope to come back in this visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gusta Osteria also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Gusta Osteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing