We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Florence location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
B&B La Dimora degli Angeli
Ranked #17 of 672 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Lyon, Michigan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perfect Florence location”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Great central location overlooking one of the best squares in Florence. We stayed in the extension wing which is a block from the main B&B. There were only 3 rooms on our floor and our window had a great view of one of the most active squares in Florence. It wasn't the best view of the duomo, but it was great none-the-less. In room fridge, wi-fi, and safe were very useful and the on floor coffee station helped rejuvenate us more than once! The breakfast places were nice, but strongly recommend the local place (over Red which is a bookstore with a small cafe). The staff was amazingly helpful and always ready to help! The noise cancelling windows were great too! Only drawback (and a slight one at that) was you could hear activity in the other rooms/hallway, but with only 3 rooms on the floor it wasn't something that caused too much of an issue. Overall strongly recommended as a base camp for all things Florence!

Room Tip: The extension rooms were all beautiful and on a less populated floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derekzell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    802
    139
    19
    5
    0
See reviews for
107
654
30
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed in Dimora for 4 days in early February 2014 (10-14). Located right in the center of Florence, overlooking the Duomo Square! The room was incredibly decorated (felt like home!) and the price was more than fare. The coffee room was an excellent + (you can take a coffee with delicious biscuits any time of the day!). Receptionists were all very helpful and polite. The view from the room was superb and we felt that everything was within minutes walk from our room!The b&b doesn't offer breakfast, but instead they give you a voucher to use at a nearby espresso bar where there is a variety of Italian pastries and panini to choose from.The voucher in itself is only for a pastry, coffee, juice per person, but you can get anything you like for an average of 2-3 euros pp. Overall, we consider la dimora a great stay in Florence and we highly recommend it! We should also mention that the b&b is within five-minute walk to the central railway station of Florence, where you can get the bus from and to the airport and trains to Venice.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view to the duomo
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pavlosalexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We are a family of five and stayed in two Superior rooms with views for four nights in early July.
La Dimora degli Angeli is in an excellent location in Florence. We had no trouble walking from the Santa Maria Novella station with three cases following directions provided and a google maps print out. The B&B is well signed and is located between Max Mara and a Chicco children's wear store on a quiet upmarket street. It is one block from Piazza Republica (the centre of Florence), one block from the Duomo and shops and a 5-10 minute walk to the Uffizi and Arno river. Many other hotels located on busy streets or piazzas have the disadvantage of the noise from night time crowds, buskers and street vendors.

B&B
The bed and breakfast is in an old apartment building which has a large heavy exterior door accessed with your key. Inside there is a large lobby. Reception is on level 3 and can be accessed via an old style cage lift (works fine but holds 3 people) or a large stone and wrought iron staircase. The reception door is closed 8pm-8am when reception is not manned. There is a key to access the reception area after hours. I hope that clarifies the arrangement as I previously read some concerns on tripadvisor. This is quite normal for older buildings and it works well.
We were warmly welcomed by Silvia and the owner Claudio on arrival and provided with breakfast coupons, one for each person for each morning of our stay. They have extended the options for breakfast to two venues Robiglio (left out the door the first left and two blocks down) or Red the cafe inside the La Feltinella bookshop which is over the road next door to Hard Rock Cafe. Silvia noted the locations and opening times of both places on the map for us. Robilgio opens at 8am. Red opens at 9.30am. The breakfast includes 1 hot drink, 1 cold drink, 2 sweet pastries and 1 savoury sandwich. We tried both breakfast locations and while we preferred the service and food at Red, the later opening time did not suit when we had tours. You may want to plan later morning starts to ensure you have time for breakfast (you can take pastries away the night before if you prefer). The two guys at Robiglio were lovely but we did find one of the ladies a bit abrupt in an efficient way. The breakfast is huge and a lot of carbohydrates. Note that a hot drink does not include hot chocolate at Robilgio and Red do not make hot chocolate. The extra cost is 3E if you want one. This meant the kids did not have a hot drink.
We arrived around lunch time with three hungry teenagers. Claudio kindly gave us a couple of vouchers to Mangia pizza which was one of the best pizzas we had during our time in Italy. Mangia is a new modern venue that does individual wood fired pizzas with a very thin crispy base. Loved it. Thanks Claudio!
As previously mentioned, fruit, lollies, tea and coffee are available in the common area.

Rooms
Both of our rooms were located on the third floor where reception is located. Our three teenagers were in Vittoria. Vittoria is a corner room with two large windows. It was set up as three singles. Margherita was a double. Both rooms had a nice view of the Duomo. All of the rooms have lovely high ceilings and large windows that open out to the street as well as shutters for block out. The bathrooms are modern with large rainfall showers and good water pressure. This was fantastic after our previous hotels where the shower is over a small bath. The hair dryer is new and works well. There is a mini bar in each room with reasonably priced drinks. Also a small safe but it does not hold ipads. The free wi-fi was weak and dropped in and out. Wi-fi reception was better closer to our door. We queried this but apparently they already have a booster. There is good flat screen tv. Sky cable channels may have multiple audio language options. Press "i" on the channel to change language. Beds and pillows were comfortable. Note that towels and sheets are changed over after three days. As our stay was four nights, Silvia said they would change the towels in the middle of our stay and this worked well. To receive a five star rating the only small change needed is a daily change of towels.

Laundrette
There is a self serve laundrette called "Wash and Dry" at 29R Via del Sole which is a very short walk (about 10 minutes). It is 4E for each wash or dry and detergent is 1E. The load takes 30 minutes. Santa Maria Novella piazza and church are just at the end of this street which is a nice place to wander while waiting for your washing. Silvia will show you where it is on the map.

We were very happy with our stay at La Dimora degli Angeli. We would definitely choose to stay here again when in Florence.

Room Tip: You don't really need to see the Duomo from your room as it is just outside the door. Lovely if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Perhaps Ghiberti's "Gates of Paradise" should be moved from the Baptistery to Dimora degli Angeli :-)
We have just returned from a wonderful 5 days in Florence staying at The House of Angels & we were completely bowled over by the establishment. Wonderful service, beautifully kept rooms, fantastic location, & the arrangement they have for breakfast is superb.
We shall return.

Room Tip: Rooms with the Duomo view are worthwhile
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This hotel is right in the middle of it all, walking distance from the train station, perfect for exploring Florence. The elevator is a bit tricky and small but that's just Italy for you. The staff are friendly and helpful, very nice. We checked out at 10.30am and left our luggage in the hotel until 3pm without any problem. If you're travelling Europe yous hould know Italy have a slightly different plug but the staff gave us an adapter for a 5 Euro deposit which we got back when we returned it. The rooms have heigh ceilings and are very elegant with flowy curtains (which are hiding a bin behind them FYI). The tv offers english channels which was a nice change and the bathroom was modern and stylish. Very happy with this hotel and it's staff, would hgihly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We visit this b&b for our last night in Florence

It was very well design warm feeling, well design and a side view on the duomo from the side if you look out the window i think is one of the best location in Florence every think perfect maybe the 10h30 am check out could be extend to 12 am it will be better

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Johann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed 2 nights in the other building on Piazza de la repubblica. This is an excellent location close to all sights. The room was stylish, quiet and clean. Service was excellent - staff was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the breakfast in "PASTICCERIA ROBIGLIO" round the corner, with a great selection of sweet pastries. Next time in Florence we choose La Dimora deli Angeli again with no doubt.

Room Tip: Our room in the other building was just great, so do not be afraid to stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarekProc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,079 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#55 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#22 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#41 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,440 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#27 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B La Dimora degli Angeli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B La Dimora degli Angeli

Property: B&B La Dimora degli Angeli
Address: Via Dei Brunelleschi 4, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 672 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B La Dimora degli Angeli 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Dimora degli Angeli is a charming and intimate B&B with a view, in a beautiful setting with a view of the Cathedral, private bathrooms and the highest quality comforts.Each room has its own style, with unique wallpaper, furnishings and decor with different influences and design, where everything comes together to create a place for the experienced world traveler.La Dimora degli Angeli is located in the old quadrilateral of Roman Florentia, in via Brunelleschi 4. The 19th century building has windows facing piazza del Duomo and piazza San Giovanni, providing the opportunity to admire the Cathedral, Brunelleschi's Dome, Giotto's bell towers, and the S. Giovanni baptistery directly from the rooms.This B&B has twelve rooms on 2 floors, a free-tea room available to customers, 24 hours a day and free Wi-Fi at no extra charge.In a warm and welcoming environment, you can relax and enjoy the beauty of Renaissance Florence while experiencing a vacation with the comforts of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your B&B La Dimora degli Angeli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast With a View La Dimora Degli Angeli
b&b With a View La Dimora Degli Angeli Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing