We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good if not better than a four start hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Black Sheep Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #122 of 657 Florence B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I don't think I can add more to the reviews posted here. Not one bad word and every bit as true. Of you read my other reviews you will know that I have complete faith in TA reviews...and This place did not disappoint. To sum up the important things to consider:

Near central train station
Clean rooms
Fantastic host
Updated facilities
Did I say clean bathrooms! most important.
Wifi available
Across police station

What more do you look for? I was at first scared of what I might find because I'm not used to B & Bs but it's just as good, even better than a hotel.

Four of us stayed here and we occupied two rooms and I can say both are unique and exceptionally comfortable. We loved the hospitality so much, we even gave Donatello a parting gift of a guest book to remember everyone who stayed there. He has excellent recommendations in food and day trips. Be sure to make this your stop in Florence!

Room Tip: Choose those that have clean bathrooms ...look at traveller photos
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melody1715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2013

It is our 'virgin' trip to Europe and Florence, the beautiful city of the arts is eventually one on the list. And to add on, we came across this B&B in tripadvisor. It was located in a very GOOD location. Just 5 minutes walk from Firenze train station! And for those who are pretty worried about coming back late nights from your daytrips or outings, rest assured that the central police station is conveniently located next door. Good security huh!

Though the unit is on the top floor, upon arrival, we were greeted by Donatello who helped us with our heavy luggages. The rooms were tastefully and perfectly done up by himself and very spacious too. We decided to be a little bit different and chosen the room with 2 single beds. Best time to avoid hub's snoring for 2 nights...LOL!!!

We felt bad that Donatello had to drive all the way from his countryside home to arrive early and prepare breakfast for us. Reason being we need to catch an early train to Montevarchi. He even accompanied us to purchase our train tickets. That touches us most.

He is very informative and never stops giving us all the valuable infos. From places of attractions, good restaurants and the dos and don'ts in Florence. Btw, Donatello, we like Ostaria dei Centopoveri very much! We even met Claudia and Cesare whom we made frens during our stay there. They were helping us with our Venice trip though. With very minimal knowledge in English language, we had an interesting communication by using google translator. So peeps, language is never a barrier.

All we can say is we loved the place very much and really feel at home.

Thanks again Donatello for the superb hospitality and as what you've mentioned, we will definitely come back to our 2nd home again :)

So peeps, why the wait and stop considering cos The Black Sheep B&B is definitely the best place to stay in Florence.


Alfred & Maria
Sin City

Maria & Alfred

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natrasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We were referred by our friend who stayed there before.

As you know, it's very hard to find a decent and clean hotel in Europe.
You need to pay a lot of money to stay in a very nice place.

I really have to recommend this place. Amazing hidden gem in Florence.
no.1 it is clean.

We stayed in their master bedroom. And loved it!
It was spacious.

What made the stay special is the host, Donatello.

Charming guy and very helpful and gave us a lot of recommendations what to do in the city.

He cooked for us in the morning for breakfast.

So the whole experience it is like staying in your friend's home.

The only downside is probably, the inn is located in 3rd floor walked up apartment.
It's quite difficult for big luggage.

Usually Donatelo wil help you to carry the luggage.

I would recommend anyone to stay at this place.
Convenient location, clean, and most importantly is good value for your money compare to other expensive places

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank -nat7580-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

From Donatello’s excellent communications in planning our visit to his assistance in arranging transportation to the Airport, we felt welcome. Centrally located in the heart of Florence, with easy access to all major attractions as well as the train station, The Black Sheep B&B is the perfect place to stay when visiting Florence.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

A wonderful base to explore Florence. We stayed for 3 nights in spotless and very comfortable accomodation. Located just a 5 min walk from the train staion and an easy walk to the sights, museums and galleries. We had heavy cases and although we hadnt realised the apartment was on the 3rd floor, Donatello greeted us and insisted on carrying our cases up the stairs. The apartment was exactly as the photos show and Donatello was a great host asking what time we would like breakfast ,where the most amazing organic croissants were served and also helped us by recommending where to eat and where to avoid. We would recommend this great accom to anyone visiting Florence.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jas1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Black Sheep B&B was one of the top highlights of my recent trip! First of all, the location canNOT be beat--an easy 5 minute stroll from the train station, then 5-10 minutes from downtown, close to restaurants, piazzas, a post office, and a small grocery store. Everything you need is close and convenient!

Our room was great--we had 2 single beds, a big screen TV, our own fridge, and a little sitting area. It was decorated flawlessly and perfectly comfortable. There was a common living area shared between the three rooms of the B&B that had a computer, big screen TV, kitchen area and living room.

There were times during my stay in Florence, when it was hard to decide whether I wanted to be out in the city, or just stay at the B&B and soak up its atmosphere. The owners, Donatello & Francesca, were lovely people who spent 3 years renovating this Florentine apartment into a beautiful and unique B&B. The result is a gorgeous, contemporary, cozy and modern domicile with fantastic and original decor. It felt so good to curl up on the purple sofa in the common living area and watch Italian TV, using the free wifi to Skype with my friends and husband back home. It felt a lot like getting to come home for a little while after a day of sight seeing. There is a desktop computer available for use, which could be used for printing boarding passes, looking up things like train schedules without having to use the tiny screen of my iPhone all the time.

Breakfast was amazing--coffee, juice, super yummy pastries from somewhere local, cereal, yogurt, etc. We enjoyed spending time conversing with Donatello about Italy and life in general.
My aunt became ill during our trip, and Donatello kindly picked her up some cough syrup and some special foods she requested, after I texted him what was going on. He really went the extra mile for her!

I would go back to Florence just to hang out at the B&B Black Sheep! It was a true home away from home, and I will definitely plan to stay longer next time!! I can't recommend it enough!

Room Tip: The rooms are all gorgeous! 2 have ensuite bathrooms and the 3rd has a private bathroom, outside of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thisismebelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I found the Black Sheep on the internet and booked a room with them. It was located at an excellent area just minutes walk (literally minutes because you can probably see it from the Florence train station!) from the train station after I arrived with my wife. We lugged our stuffs over and were greeted with a very interesting room. It was a long climb though as it was on the 3/4 floor. However, Donatello has done a good job of renovating the place. It even feels like a boutique hotel rather than a B&B to us.

Donatello was a very gracious host who actually catered to our timing when we asked him to arrive a little earlier (because our day trip starts at 730am in the morning). He was very friendly and makes a good coffee! The food he prepares for breakfast is pretty much all organic and he makes it a point to cater to each of his guests. Chatting with him during breakfast was a joy also. I would recommend anyone visiting Florence to give this B&B a try. You might just discover a gem :)

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wizchamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#163 of 410 in Florence
396 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#92 of 410 in Florence
864 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#78 of 410 in Florence
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Boccaccio
Hotel Boccaccio
#218 of 410 in Florence
497 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
La Locandiera
La Locandiera
#79 of 657 in Florence
266 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Stella della Casa
Stella della Casa
#208 of 317 in Florence
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Sheep Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Sheep Bed and Breakfast

Address: Via della Scala 53, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 657 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your The Black Sheep Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing