We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Sanctuary, yet so close to Florence!”
Review of A Casa di Olivo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Casa di Olivo
Ranked #126 of 657 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2011

This B&B is what dreams are made of! Set in an olive grove with sweeping views of Florence and the Duomo Dome, yet only some 5 kms out of town. It is easy to commute by bus from a nearby bus stop, visiting all that Florence has to offer and then escape to the tranquility that is provided by both the environment and your hosts Laura and Mauro, who provide answers to all questions and make you feel most welcome.
The rooms, facilities and breakfast are all first class, providing exceptional value compared to other offerings in town.
Undoubtedly the best B&B we stayed in during our European holiday and a definite return visit is planned.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Devrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2011

We have just returned to SA after s 2 week holiday in Italy - certainly one of the highlights if out trip was our stay in Florence and our stay at this wonderful little B&B. At  A Casa di Olivo one really has the best if both worlds - a delightfully little villa tucked away in the tranquil  countryside surrounded by picturesque olive groves - yet only a 15 min bus ride from the centre of the bustling city centre.  Our hosts Laura and Mauro were incredible - insisting on fetching and carrying us to and from the nearby bus-stop each day and even dropping us at the their local pizza spot in the evening. The room itself was spotless with all the amenities one would expect - including excellent wireless connectivity - something we battled  with at the other B&B's we stayed at - and to top it all we had  amazing views of the surrounding area. Our hosts really went out of their way to ensure our stay was pleasurable including waking up one morning at 6.30 to ensure we had breakfast as we had booked an early tour. Speaking of breakfast they were continental with home baked tarts and lots of fruit from the farm itself.  I highly recommend thus B&B.  Some tips to fellow travelers don't forget to pack mosquito repellent.  

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We have just returned to SA after s 2 week holiday in Italy - certainly one of the highlights if out trip was our stay in Florence and our stay at this wonderful little B&B. At  A Casa di Olivo one really has the best if both worlds - a delightfully little villa tucked away in the tranquil  countryside surrounded by picturesque olive groves - yet only a 15 min bus ride from the centre of the bustling city centre.  Our hosts Laura and Mauro were incredible - insisting on fetching and carrying us to and from the nearby bus-stop each day and even dropping us at the their local pizza spot in the evening. The room itself was spotless with all the amenities one would expect - including excellent wireless connectivity - something we battled  with at the other B&B's we stayed at - and to top it all we had  amazing views of the surrounding area. Our hosts really went out of their way to ensure our stay was pleasurable including waking up one morning at 6.30 to ensure we had breakfast as we had booked an early tour. Speaking of breakfast they were continental with home baked tarts and lots of fruit from the farm itself.  I highly recommend thus B&B.  Some tips to fellow travelers don't forget to pack mosquito repellent.  

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We stopped in Florence as part of Europe road trip and I booked A Casa Di Olivo for our over night stay. I was a little worried about it's location as it was outside florence but it looked so beautiful so I took a chance and I'm so glad I did what a fabulous place it's a old farm house at the foot of an olive grove overlooking Florence in the Tuscan hills.

You definitely need a car to get to it as it's up a winding steep hill when we got there Laura welcomed us and told us that we had the house to ourselves no one else had booked that night and she stayed in a property next to the house. Laura explained to us how to get to Florence by a short drive to a free car park then a short bus ride into Florence it worked out very well.

When we got back we had bought some food and cooked it in the kitchen there and sat outside to eat it. It was so quiet and tranquil absolutely perfect. The rooms are basic but comfortable ours had the onsuite bathroom. Laura served breakfast the next morning and it was lovely.

It isn't the flashiest place I've stayed in but it definately was my favourite of the trip because of it's beautiful setting and peaceful feel. An absolute bargain in the heart of Tuscany.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sez35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stayed at Casa di Olivo for 3 nights whilst sightseeing in Florence and the surrounding area. The beautiful old house is located up on a hill overlooking Florence, amongst olive groves. An idyllic setting made even better by Mauro and Laura who were very kind and helpful.
The rooms are large, very clean and stylishly decorated with the personal touch of Laura's artworks.
I'd highly recommend staying here if you'd like to get away from the hustle and bustle of Florence town centre but still be close by.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

If you want to get a sense of the Tuscan countryside with a view of the Duomo and rolling hills, Casa di Olivo was the perfect place to stay in Florence. It is a quiet place outside of the overcrowded center of the city, which is accessible by train or car (It's probably best to have a car if you want to go back and forth often). Mauro and Laura are great hosts and the breakfast is lovely. There are a few places to sit and eat outside in addition to the interior options. Our room was beautiful and clean, and the shower had multiple jets. I would definitely stay her again if I were to go back to Florence and would recommend to any friend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bmlwtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We just got back to Singapore today after 3 weeks in Italy and France. The highlight of our whole trip was of our fabulous 4 nights stay at A casa di Olivio. Mauro and Laura's extremely warm Tuscan welcome and hospitality continue to bring back fond memories of our stay at this well organized and managed b and b. We feel that of our two weeks in Italy, our accommodation at A casa di Olivio was the best of the best. The rooms were very large by European standard, newer and cleaner than the rest we have stayed in. We moved freely around the whole villa and garden including the free use of kitchen. We highly recommend this b and b for families and couples.

Room Tip: Lauro and Mauro recommended a couple of fantastic restaurants!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 22Raffles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
My Friends Guesthouse
My Friends Guesthouse
#111 of 657 in Florence
157 reviews
Le Ginestre B&B de Charme
#283 of 657 in Florence
74 reviews
B&B Fifty Seven
#114 of 657 in Florence
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Il Grillo di Firenze
#12 of 657 in Florence
483 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
La Campanella
La Campanella
#455 of 657 in Florence
29 reviews
I Parigi
#81 of 657 in Florence
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Casa di Olivo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Casa di Olivo

Address: Via di Montalbano 12, 50135, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 657 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: £63 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Mauro and Laura, owners and managers of this small and snug b&b, located on the hills of Firenze Sud. Dipped into the nature, to whom e play to improvise us as farmers, we always keep an eye on Florence, that we can overtop by ours windows and ours olives groves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your A Casa di Olivo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing