We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice quiet place”
Review of Loggia Fiorentina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loggia Fiorentina
Ranked #175 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice quiet place”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We arrived at the hotel fairly late in the afternoon. The place was pretty difficult to find at first as there isn't much of a sign. The staff had already left by the time we got there so the doors were locked. We asked the shop owner next door and he told us the code to enter the building. Once we were in there was another locked door with a code which defeated our triumph of getting in the first door. We called the number on the door and the owner told us the code to get in and where our keys and room would be. This may sound like a pretty bad start but it wasn't too bad. It only took about 15 minutes to get in (which is faster than some hotels take to check you in!).
Once we got all of our things in and settled down it was quiet cozy. We had a room with a queen bed, a private bathroom and a balcony. Most of the time spent at the hotel was in the common areas. There are a couple areas with couches and a computer to use (also, the WiFi couldn't reach the room).
For a small fee, we got breakfast at the hotel. It was served in a nice side room. We got fruit, espresso, tea, cold cereals and toast and it was a really good breakfast!
There are quite a few good restaurants in the area but they were mostly packed. Luckily its in a good central walking area so we found a table.
The service was excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Overall, really nice place.

Room Tip: Careful when booking: Some rooms have private bathrooms while other are communal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fletchda1775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    179
    54
    24
    16
See reviews for
54
224
54
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We arrived in Florence at about 5:30pm and when we got to the hotel we were told they had given our room away (despite having pre-booked and paid in advance). What was worse was that the other people hadn't even turned up yet.

Despite my efforts, I was told it was this other room or nothing so we went from a double bed with private bathroom to a room with two single beds and a shared bathroom which had a very poor shower. Bizarrely, our room also had a bidet, which might be a common feature throughout the hotel but was a bit odd. I was only refunded the difference between the rooms after I asked for it.

Apart from cold showers and uncomfortable beds the rest of our stay was uneventful. It is in a good location, just a short walk from the Duomo and il Ponte Vecchio, but I just found the whole experience left a bad taste in my mouth and coloured my view of the rest of our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aqui2388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Must admit that the low cost of this hotel was immediate draw, and so was the location to a certain extent (walkable to Duomo and the museum that houses the statue of David with plenty of eateries around). Even at the price, I was slightly surprised that the toilets were communal and there were no lifts (and lots of stairs). Also, the room's heater was a little wonky (we had to keep telling the nice reception staff that it wasn't working too well and they rectified it immediately) and there was an odd smell of lamb or some stewed meat that wafted through the corridors and permeated the rooms. It was pretty noisy at night; we could hear youths shouting and lots of ambulances (or were they police cars...?).

However, the excellent service evened out the somewhat uncomfortable experience. The staff spoke excellent English, were really helpful in recommending and booking great tours and went the extra mile to provide advice on transport. The cleaning lady kept the rooms spotless and even helped us with our luggage down the stairs (since the lift couldn't be used). There were many cosy corners to read and drink the free coffee provided by the hotel as well.

All in all, can't really complain about Loggia Fiorentina, since it was really cheap. You should definitely consider it if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salome C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamplona, Spain
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Good location, close to Duomo square.
But when I arrived bedroom, it was so cold, open window, and it was December in Florence.
There was a strange smell in the bedroom, maybe due to water quality.
By the way, reception people were so friendly and the blond guy help me so much.
I would not suggest this hotel, althougt price was competitive. Florence its so expensive.

Helpful?
Thank Chemavel
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This place is located just blocks from downtown. Staff on part time schedule covering front desk. Place is grungy. Room had private bathroom, very small. Room next to communal bathroom very noisy with guests. Sheet and towels clean and room was too. If on a budget, it is a place to consider.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TXurista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

At about 20 euros pp/night, this was a good deal. The rooms and bathroom were clean, the hotel had great ambiance and the reception desk answered our queries quite efficiently. It's a 10-minute walk to the Duomo and 15-minute walk to the Firenze SM train station. The only downside was the free wifi - we couldn't get wifi signal in our room.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhebbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Hotel was cozy. Rooms were clean. Staff was very helpful, They gave very good reccomendations about the restaurants, places and also the route that we shold follow. 5 minutes walking to Academia and 10 minutes to Duomo Basilica. Also free wi-fi on the hotel. Reccomended to everybody.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BerkayDikici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#133 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#138 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#152 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#127 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ferretti
Hotel Ferretti
#266 of 420 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Hotel Masaccio
#268 of 420 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loggia Fiorentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loggia Fiorentina

Property: Loggia Fiorentina
Address: Via San Gallo 31 | Piazza San Marco, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#97 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#138 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Loggia Fiorentina 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Loggia Fiorentina the most loveliest one star hotel of Florence with the best relationship of price and service in town.The hotel has a superb location in a charming Florentine building in the historic center only 50 meters from Piazza San Marco and the Accademia where you will find Michelangelo’s famous David. All museums, churches, tourist attractions, markets, congress and exhibition center are in walking distance and you can reach us easily by foot from the main railway station Santa Maria Novella. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Loggia Fiorentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loggia Fiorentina Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing