We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (604)
Filter reviews
604 results
Traveller rating
458
111
28
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
458
111
28
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationpastrylocal cafearound the cornerwalking distancefirst floorconvenient locationgreat roomcomfortable roombusy streetair conditioningmajor attractionssupermarketluggagepisashutterskeys
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 604 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2015

The Residenza dell-Orafo is ideally located. It is literally a 5-minute walk from the main train station and an additional 10-15 minutes to the Duomo or (in a different direction) the Ponte Vecchio. Additionally, the staff takes ample time to explain good less well-known sights to see and also offer recommendations on where you can eat for little (or more) money. We found the complimentary breakfast just down the street to be more than adequate and the coffee is, as you might expect, excellent. On the whole, the hotel is clean, well-situated, and possessed of an excellent staff.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Thos123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laresidenzadellorafo, Receptionist at La Residenza dell'Orafo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2015

Dear Thos 123,

we thank you for your kind review!!

We're happy you had a good experience with us and that you had appreciated our suggestions to visit and enjoy Florence!!

We hope to welcome you in the future, in the meantime we send you our greetings from Italy!

Elisa and The Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2015 via mobile

Great location ! Jus three minutes from train station ! With clear direction in email which sent by staff Alice days before trip, I can more easily to find the location !

Very nice and polite staffs ! They all sincerely introduce the attractions I. Florence and I really appreciate that!

Comfortable and clean room ! More bigger than I expected !

Highly recommend La Residenza dell'Orafo

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank rita720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laresidenzadellorafo, Receptionist at La Residenza dell'Orafo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2015

Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your kind review.

We are happy to know that you appreciated our B&B service during your stay . We
always try to provide and improve our services for our guests to make their
holiday memorable.

Hooping to welcome you again,

Kindest regards
Greta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2015

This B&B has the potential to deserve a five star rating but on the basis of some minor niggles I think it has to drop to four. First the good points, which far outweigh the bad. The B&B is located close to the main station SMN and relatively easy to find. The residence is on one edge of the historic city centre so all the important sights are within easy reach on foot. (Many of the local buses also stop near the station which is useful if you want to visit sights outside the city centre.) There is also a very useful supermarket located a few doors away. The room itself and the adjoining bathroom - actually having a large shower rather than a bath - were both spacious and spotlessly clean, and the bed very comfortable. Although the residence is located on a relatively busy street, the sound insulation is very good with the windows closed, and the air conditioning fairly quiet so that it can be left on at night without disturbing your getting to sleep. The room has a small refrigerator which is very useful, and each day there was complimentary fruit, which is a nice touch. The wardrobe had plenty of coat hangers - too many hotels seem to only provide hangers for a stay of one or two nights rather than for a week long stay. There was also a room safe which avoids having to carry around money and other important travel documents. The reception staff are very friendly and helpful and speak more than adequate English. The breakfast is taken in a nearby café, which initially seemed off putting but in practice was fine - though don't expect the breakfast to set you up for the day! The niggles were too minor to complain about at the time, but are the sort of things which a routine inspection of the room by the staff could have avoided. For instance, the wardrobe door would not close which meant it banged against the entrance door on entering the room. The light in the vicinity of the wardrobe also did not work. Similarly the loo seat was loose and needed a new fixing screw. The shower also appeared to have side jets, but there was no indication of how to operate them or indeed whether they worked at all. There is also the issue of the reception hours. Reception is manned from about 7.0 a.m to 7.0 p.m. which is fine if you arrive during these hours. The B&B claims that you can arrive outside these hours if you give them prior notice, but personally I would not feel confident arriving in a strange city at night having travelled from afar, when there is no certainty that you will not be delayed en route. Not withstanding these issues, I think the most important question is whether the accommodation offers value for money, and on this score my answer would be a definite "Yes".

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank OandA-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2015 via mobile

We chose this hotel for two reason; close to S.M.N train station and great reviews in trip advisor. We stayed here 2 nights during Sept 28and29.The location was indeed very convenient, just opposite to the train station. However, we were disappointed with the room when we arrived. The room was small (and yes it did mentioned when we made a booking) and somewhat dirty. We found several hairs on our unused blanket. I tried to be positive by telling myself that it must belong to a careless care keeper not a previous customer. It gave me odd feeling sleeping on that bed through out the night. The shower in the bathroom wasn't function properly. It could only function at rain shower. I had a weird experience trying to take shower without having my hair get wet. No they did not provide shower cap. The welcomed fruit basket came with soften and wrinkle fruits that I wondered how long had they been there. We didn't have them but decided to give them to street beggars both nights we stayed. Our room faced back of the street but it didn't help us with the noise. I kept waking up at the middle of the night by noise from upstairs; footsteps, dragging object, and door slamming. I gave 3stars for the stay only because of the location and the staff we met who were very nice, otherwise 2stars for accommodation alone.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Bee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2015

If you are looking for a convenience place that feels like home, no doubt that you should book this b&b. Location wise no need to emphasise how easy to reach. Instead the 3 ladies are like Charles Angel to assist your needs. Everyday with smiling face to greet you and always let you feel free to ask questions. If you want to enjoy a wonderful trip, stay with them.
Cheers!
3 angels, on behalf of my family, thank you and stay healthy!

Room Tip: Each room has their own character
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank twychung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laresidenzadellorafo, Responsabile reception at La Residenza dell'Orafo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2015

Dear twychung,
thank you very much for your words! We always try to do our best to let our gest feel like at home.
We hope to see you soon for your next holiday in Florence!
We wish you and your family all the best.
See you
3 Charles Angels :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews