We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a great place with the quite of the country”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
Ranked #22 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“what a great place with the quite of the country”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

this was a perfect place to unwind after a day of sight seeing.a great location with great atmosphere.clean,quite,friendly and accomadating.staff were very helpful through out our stay.the only problem we had was the bus schedules.we could not find where to get the bus from the city .there sould be better help in information for the patrons who are staying later in the city to get back to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank owls76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    795
    217
    38
    11
    3
See reviews for
175
663
18
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We stayed 2 nights at Mulino in May. It is a very attractive and comfortable hotel on the outskirts of Florence. The rooms were large and comfortable. The sitting areas around the bar were very nice with artifacts from the mill that used to be there. The restaurant was small but the food was very good. One night I had the special of the day - ravioli stuffed with asparagus and chees and covered in a white sauce - it was simply amazing - the best ravioi I have ever had! The complementary breakfast had many choices,including eggs and bacon and pastries and fruit and etc., etc., etc. The hotel is a little out of the way but the free shuttle service was more than adequate.
Overall, it was very enjoyable stay and when we return to Florence we will stay longer at Mulino di Firenze.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FinnOnTheFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

We arrived after a delayed flight and were delighted to find the restaurant open. Good food, and well appreciated. In the morning after a good night's sleep we opened the window of Room 6 to the best view we've ever had in a hotel. Clean rooms and comfy, helpful staff, good food - what more could you want? We liked the location, we both drove into Florence and took a cab. By the time we paid for parking and then a cab back and forth to the car it was about the same as taking a cab to and from the hotel. One of our fellow guests took a bus but we didn't have the time or the inclination.

The GPS announces you're at your destination but it lies. The hotel is ahead of you, down a one-way street. Turn right at the light just before the one-way and drive around a real warren of high walls and narrow road. Always make left turns and follow the signs. The parking is opposite the sign for the hotel, parking garage entrance is to the left.

We gave it 5 stars for value. It's not cheap but worth the stars, we were, after all, on vacation!

Room Tip: Ask for Room 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2011

we stayed at the mulino for 3 nights and totally loved everything about this hotel. Lovely views, amazing room and amazing breakfast to start the day overlooking the river.
The only reason I ve not given it stars is the location, although perfect for those not wanting to be in the middle of all the excitement. The complimentary shuttle into the city is great in the mornings but the last one back is around 7 30 pm which means coming back early and not having time to stay around to experience florence late night although this meant enjoying tdinner at the hotel restaurant. We ate here twice and loved it, apart from one meal- it was veal and was really chewy and difficult to eat. Priced a bit expensive but I wont complain ( 80 euros for 2 people with wine).
Shame we couldnt enjoy the pool as it was just being reopened the day we were checking out.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanya1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mulinofirenze, Direttore at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this review, 11 June 2011
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at our Hotel, we really appreciate.

Thank you for the comment about our restaurant also and we are sorry if sometimes we do wrong but we really think that thanks to reviews like the one you did we'll be able to do always better.

Regarding the way to reach the Hotel from the city center late in the night, the girls at the reception are able to give all the informations you may need about the night buses available or, if you wish to reserve a taxi, they are glad to do it for you.

Thank and hope that your stay has been a beautiful experience at the Mulino.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We stayed here for 5 days in April. The hotel is a little hard to find, but totally worth it. The reception staff were superbly friendly and helpful (particularly in helping locate my partners baggage which had been lost by the airline). The renovation of this site has been performed with taste and care. Each room is different in design and decoration. There are many interesting little nooks & alcoves to explore, and overall a warm stylish ambience. While the evening meal was presented beautifully, and accompanied by a varied wine selection, the menu was fairly simple. There was a good range of foods available for breakfast. There is ample secure offstreet parking, but of course the hotel also operates a free shuttle into the town centre. Be aware though that the shuttle operates to a timetable, and bookings are required.

Overall we had a very enjoyable, relaxing stay here. It is a great "jumping off" point to explore Tuscany, and we will be more than happy if we get the chance to return.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZKDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

We loved this hotel - we really did. Very romantic, very charming, great views, rustic charm etc etc. The service was great - they really went out of their way to help us with all our questions.

The breakfast was brilliant as far as hotel breakfasts in Italy go. We got lunch once (sandwiches) which were a single slice of meat with swiss cheese (???) and we ate dinner there ocne too. (Pricey, half the meal was good half was off base - but I say this knowing it is a hotel restaurant)

The thing I want to explain is the location - it is on the outskirts of town and around a $20-25 taxi from the train station and about $15-20 to and from to most places of interest. There is a bus but you have to walk about 5 minutes to catch it and it seemed to run infrequently.

There IS a shuttle for the hotel - however it has weird times - like 3 drop off/picks from 8AM-11AM and 3 from like 4PM-7PM. So either way you need to find a way back late at night or a way in mid day. It was sometimes convenient. If they had like a 10/11PM pick up it would have been very helpful.

Again, you stay at this hotel for the feel, the location (aesthetically), and to be away from noisy, smelly, crowded downtown Florence at night. In spite of the location away from downtown I would definitely stay there again.

Also, Antonia, if you read this - Thanks so much for being so helpful - you were the best employee we dealt with in 2 weeks!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SoxPats155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

After non-stop sight-seeing in Rome, we wanted our stop in Florence to be relaxing. This is a great hotel to stay if you're looking for the same. It feels like a little gem outside of the city, yet you are close to the city (especially with the complimentary shuttle to/from the city center.) The view from anywhere in the hotel is lovely. It's right on the river and is in a very relaxing area.

My only complaints are that we specifically booked this hotel for the pool. We knew it'd be 80 degrees in Florence, and being from Seattle, were looking forward to some sun and swimming. Unfortunately when we arrived, we were told the pool was not open yet because it's not Summer. The pool was fully drained. I didn't see on the website anywhere where it said the pool was closed. Fortunately, the hotel has a sister property within bike-riding distance, and loaned us a pair of bikes to ride to the sister property - which was a "take my breath away" property. Beautiful. It was a blessing to actually ride the bikes around the village and ride up to a breathtaking hotel with a wonderful pool.

My second complaint is that the dinner at the restaurant was not very good, and very expensive. However, being so far out, it's the easiest option to just eat at the hotel vs. go into town for dinner.

Overall, I very much enjoyed our stay here. It felt very quaint and the staff was very helpful and friendly. AND, the complimentary breakfast was the best I'd ever had.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FashionD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mulinofirenze, Direttore at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this review, 25 May 2011
Dear Guest, we thank you very much for the compliment and for considering our Hotel “a little gem outside of the city”.
Regarding the pool, we tried to mantain the peculiarity of the place (it was an old Watermill) by creating a natural pool with a mechanism that can make the water be self-purified by some algaes.
We wanted this to be a surplus to our guest but, obviously, this means that the maintenance it takes more time and has to be done with particular wheater conditions (sunny and hot). That's the reason why we decide to open the pool on June.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#16 of 421 in Florence
738 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 421 in Florence
1,840 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
3,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Hotel Villa Agape
#13 of 421 in Florence
390 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
818 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 421 in Florence
2,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mulino di Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mulino di Firenze

Property: Hotel Mulino di Firenze
Address: Via di Villamagna 119, 50126, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mulino di Firenze 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mulino di Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing