We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would not stay here again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
Ranked #22 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Would not stay here again.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

This hotel is a renovated mill and is quite charming, but it is beset with several flaws which made our stay in Florence much less enjoyable than it should have been. Firstly, we had a room in an outside extension of the hotel, not in the main building. The room was small and very dark, made worse with too much large, dark furniture. This room was not well soundproofed, and were awakened each night by the sound of loud, partying guests outside our door, in the courtyard. Secondly, this hotel is located a good 20-30 minutes from the center of Florence. Although it offers a shuttle, the times and availablilty are limited. That leaves you with a taxi trip into town at 25 Euros a pop. Thirdly, while not big TV watchers, we do like to keep tabs on what's happening in the good old USA while abroad. This hotel had not one American news channel out of 400 channel choices. They had channels for many other countries, but none exclusively for the U.S. (Sorry, but BBC isn't an American channel, dispite arguements to the contrary). Lastly, breakfast was good, but service was erratic. Both mornings, we finished our meal before our coffee was served, although we ordered it as soon as we sat down. All in all, an ok hotel to use as a base to explore Tuscany. But if it's your first visit to Florence, and you want to be a part of the city, then stay in the city, not the burbs.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main building of the hotel. Avoid the outbuilding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sketteroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    796
    217
    38
    11
    3
See reviews for
175
664
18
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

We were both amazed by Mulino di Firenze, in every aspect! The staff made you feel so welcome, they gave you the feeling you were a guest at a good friends house, and at the same time were taken care as if in a 5star hotel. All that in the busiest time of our trip - an other ( 5star) hotel blamed their poor service to the busy period- that was absolutely no problem for the Mulino staff. actually nothing was a problem for them, always with a smile they connected with their guest taking care of each one individually-they even offered me coffee and company when I stayed in the hotel alone because I was not feeling well. The location is unique and the sound of water is so relaxing... The center of Florence is a short drive (or complementary shuttle bus service) away, what I considered ideal to be close enough to points of interest but safely away from the superbusy Florence during peak period. Mulino di Firenze is characterfully decorated and it is well worth half an hour of your time to explore its history. A big big thank you, for one of the best hotels we have stayed at and the best hosts ever!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nadia2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed here for two nights on our way to corsica. We had a really great time. The pool was perfect for the kids (two boys). The lunch was great. Awesome tiramisu. The location is out of town. Obviously. Butbwe really liked it. Made it nice to dip into town when we liked. Would recommend it to anyone. The view over the river at night is stunning and the service is great

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angussullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

A beautiful converted mill located just outside Florence on the banks of the river, full of history and lovely art work. It has only been opened a year and there are plans for another pool and conference centre in the future. A spa is available for private hire and several treatments on request, massages are very good. Courtesy bus to and from the city is useful. Hotel staff are friendly, happy, courteous, Amilio in the bar is charming! thank you! Restaurant is excellent both quality and variety, also fair price compared to the city and the staff are amazing. Congratulations to the owner for creating such a wonderful retreat and for keeping his staff so happy!!

Room Tip: Superior room overlooking pool and river. Room 202 excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

I booked this hotel as a surprise wedding anniversary trip for my wife. What a find. arrived to find a bottle of champagne in the room.Very nice gesture. The service was excellent, nothing was to much trouble. The room was brilliant, with a balcony overlooking the beautifull courtyard with it's fountain. Nice jacuzzi bath to unwind in after the walks and the free cycle hire (which has to be on your things to do). Free shuttle bus a great way to get in and out of the city. Being on the outskirts of the city is just great, away from the crowds and hustle and bustle. Everything about our 4 night stay was excellent and must give high praise to everyone at the Mulino di Firenze. I doubt very much that there is a better hotel with this service and ameneties in Florence. IF YOU DON'T BELIEVE ME TRY IT FOR YOURSELF.

Room Tip: Room 9 with a balcony overlooking the beautifull courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andywhuCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mulinofirenze, Direttore at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
We thank you very much for your review.
We are happy that our staff has lived up to expectations and made your wedding trip amazing...we work hard about it!
Thanks again for recommending our Hotel and hope to have you and your lovely wife again at the Mulino.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

In Florence for a special wedding, this hotel proved to be a gem. The setting on the river/weir is tranquil(in summer), and pretty. The hotel has an excellent restaurant; the quality food & presentation is superb. All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We found the rooms very comfortable and cool! The decor in the common areas is stylishly Italian with antiques, art & history giving a classical feel, whilst in a modern setting. The cocktails went down a treat! Staff enhanced the atmosphere with warmth & great service, not just in the bar but throughout the hotel. We had 4 days and wanted to stay longer - all of us feel we will return to enjoy this really memorable location again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spursbabe_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mulinofirenze, Direttore at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Dear guest, we really thank you for describing our Hotel as a gem, we really appreciate!
We try every day to do our best to satisfy any expectations so we are happy when this came out from your lovely reviews. Thanks from the all staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

I couldn't recommend this hotel more! Don't be put off by the fact that it's not in central Florence, if anything this is a plus, as you avoid the noise and there's a free shuttle service into the middle of Florence, multiple times a day.
For me the best part was by far the breakfast. There was a buffet with so much choice- cakes, eggs, toast, fruit, bagels, cereals, fruit juices, bacon, sausage etc. The waiting staff were also extremely friendly and spoke very good English.
The swimming pool was another highlight, although unfortunately it wasn't heated. The rooms were lovely too, comfy beds and air conditioning. The only downside was that, although there was a t.v, there was only one English channel and it was BBC world news. Overall the experience was excellent and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reading93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#16 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,843 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Hotel Villa Agape
#13 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mulino di Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mulino di Firenze

Property: Hotel Mulino di Firenze
Address: Via di Villamagna 119, 50126, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mulino di Firenze 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mulino di Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing