We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BIG ROOMS!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mulino di Firenze

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
Ranked #22 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
118 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“BIG ROOMS!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

This hotel was wonderful... from the friend staff, the wonderful food, the pool and scenic/peaceful view of the Arno, to the spacious rooms and bathrooms. The hotel is about a 15 min DRIVE from the city center but so worth it. They have shuttle running to help with taxi costs, but honestly I found it very limiting. The morning times to the city center of Florence were fine.... but they LAST shuttle was 7:30pm back from city center to the hotel. This means you couldn't have dinner in city and get back to your hotel without a 25 Euro taxi ride. So plan on that. Also the shuttle runs about 15 mins behind..every time. So plan accordingly. The included breakfast spread was massive and very tasty. It is the exact same every morning so can get kind of boring, but hey ... its free! (Well, included in the cost of your room). Overall a very pleasant experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Delilah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    789
    217
    36
    11
    3
See reviews for
174
658
18
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Excellent hotel. We were all through Italy and numerous hotels and this was our favourite. Their restaurant is top notch, one of our two favourites on the whole trip. The staff is really friendly and the place is well maintained. It's quiet yet very close drive to the downtown and some major attractions. I would stay here again if we ever went back to Florence.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Mulino Di Firenze 9/2-9/10 and had a wonderful experience. The staff is friendly, attentive and eager to please. Emelio is a delight and a talented bar tender. We ate at the hotel several times and found the food to be delicious and plentiful. The hotel is a rebuilt water mill and it is lovely, furnished with beautiful antiques. This hotel emulates a taste of Tuscany in all ways. The shuttle service was ok. We usually opted for a taxi to come back in the evening. This Hotel was more than we expected and it should be a 5 star hotel. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: We had a superior riverside room. The view was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

What a gem! We stayed for 2 nights but would have happily stayed longer. This has to be one of the prettiest hotels I've stayed in. The standard rooms aren't huge but very nicely furnished with a big comfortable bed. The location for the city centre was ideal if you want a retreat from the bustle of the tourists.. The free shuttle bus operates regularly during the day. The staff throughout the hotel are kind, friendly and genuinely helpful. The standard throughout the hotel was excellent. Breakfast was adequate. The pool is situated by the canal and has the water wheel situated in it. The hotel offers free bike hire, the bikes are basic but well worth taking out along the canal. We used then to ride up to Ponte Vecchio and then came back past the hotel on the opposite side of the canal as far as we could go, probably a 15km trip but with some stunning views. I would highly recommend this hotel and would use again myself.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

Currently on honeymoon and spent 3 nights here and I'm now in Poetofino for final 3 days and regret not spending them at Mulino Di Firenze :-(
We had a stressful drive from tuscany and the lovely receptionist immediately relaxed us and we were helped to our room efficiently and by a happy man (this means a lot after driving)
The view from the room was perfect and shortly after starting to unpack there was a knock on the door and we were brought a complimentary bottle of prosecco on ice to celebrate our honeymoon! Hooray!
The hotel itself is a lovely building. The pool was lovely and really different with a big mill wheel turning around. The views were beautiful.
Breakfast was a feast with great service, friendly, efficient
Shuttle bus was great but could have done with more afternoon pick ups as we wanted to return early one day but there was no pick up until 5.30
Wish I was there now and not in portofino xxxx
Oh and we had a T bone steak at the hotel restaurant and the wine and meal was delicious. Having worked in management positions in hotels and restaurants I was thoroughly impressed!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

This is a gem and, if I'm not mistaken, somewhat new (or at least refurbished) as part of the "Romantik" hotels chain. It's certainly "romantic." Setting is lovely, with water mill, pool and a nearby dam over the Arno River supplying plenty of atmosphere. Rooms are excellent, and food at restaurant was super. Wines were very good but could have used a better selection of vino by the glass. The decor is interesting and stimulating.
I would recommend this for anyone looking to be close enough to shuttle to central Florence but perhaps more interested in relaxation than whirlwind sightseeing on a daily basis.

One comment on the pool, since it provoked a spirited debate on other posts: I do understand one poster's concerns, but I think they are rather overstated. There is a lot of concrete around, including a fountain in the middle of the pool, so if you are doing laps (as I do), you have to watch yourself and your head. Otherwise, if you're just into wading, splash-splash, and swimming a dozen yards or so at a time, it is fine. I would agree it is not really geared toward children or others (young or old) who do not have a mature, responsible regard for safety and risk. In other words, it's not a venue for roughhousing or devil-may-care swimmers, but instead a strikingly attractive pool for those who accept its limitations.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HooferNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel was absolutely beautiful and so accomodating. It is a wonderful restored water mill on the banks of the river. Ample opportunity for romance and trips into Florence via hotel shuttle.

The rooms were clean and beautiful as well as the grounds. The staff was friendly and very helpful, making copies of maps for us and explaining how to get around. The breakfast buffet was wonderful as well.

I would definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laura t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mulinofirenze, Direttore at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review, we really appreciate the enthusiasm and the nice words spended for our Hotel...we really hope to have you here again as guest in our hotel and give you an even better service.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#17 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,985 reviews
Art Hotel Villa Agape
#14 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#28 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mulino di Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mulino di Firenze

Property: Hotel Mulino di Firenze
Address: Via di Villamagna 119, 50126, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mulino di Firenze 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mulino di Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing