We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
Ranked #31 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Excellent hotel, perfect location, secure garage and minibus transport to and from the city so no transport problems or parking issues.
The hotel has excellent facilities and such a perfect location alongside the river. It is 10 minutes in a minibus from the centre of Florence and all of its' attractions. The countryside around Florence is easily reached by car without going into the city and a very secure garage is available. We visited several surrounding towns and villages and also the Adrea Bocelli concert at the Theatre of Silence is about an hour away.
The hotel bosts an excellent restaurant and bar facilities as well as fitness centre and a nice outdoor pool, the only small criticism was the quality of the breakfast. Real fresh fruit should not be out of the question in a hotel of this standard in this area.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms overlook the river but those in the courtyard may not be so attractive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andyclassix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

362 - 368 of 1,125 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2013

Mulino di Firenze was a really special hotel, and it was an experience of its own just staying there. We were there in the low season, so it was very quiet and relaxing, although I imagine it would provide that relaxing atmosphere at any time. Our room was very comfortable with a nice view - it had Italian charm with American (style) plumbing and heating! (After our hotel in Rome, I was happy to have plenty of hot water!)

It is a beautiful hotel, but what really sets it apart is the staff. The staff was truly exceptional, greeted us by name every time they saw us, and really went above and beyond the norm to make it an amazing stay. The Chef, Domenico, was great and the food was absolutely delicious. Brunch had a greater variety than most and the morning staff - Ray - was happy to assist with made-to-order drinks. Aldo and Emilio were wonderful to chat with at dinner and the bar. The desk staff helped us with booking several tours during our stay, which was very helpful. (Company called My Tours -- we found there information in booklets in the lobby)

There is a small town you can easily walk to, and nice walking paths along the river. It would be nice if the shuttle ran all year; after October, your options are a bus from the local town or a cab ride (about 20-25 Euros each way). Many of the tour companies will arrange pick up and drop off for free or discounted prices which was helpful. Even though we spent more than anticipated on cab rides, the hotel was worth the extra back and forth. Florence is beautiful but crowded - this was a nice respite away from the city hustle.

Definitely the best hotel we stayed in Italy and really one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Hope to visit there again!

Room Tip: Room 202 was very comfortable with a nice view of the river and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed at this lovely inn on the Arno river for a week, and thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our visit: exquisite pool, with adjacent pond overlooking the river; amiable and capable staff in the hotel, the bar, and restaurant; quiet and charming "room with a view." Of special note, Roberto and Emilio made us feel as though we were longtime residents rather than just visitors.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colletteandwilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mulinofirenze, Direttore at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear Guest,

the best thing to read in a review is that our guests feel like they were longtime residents rather than just visitors...this make us proud of our every day hard work beacuse it means that you felt at home in our Hotel.

Thank you very much for your kind words and wish you a very merry Christmas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The old watermill hotel or as we fondly called it the hotel with the moat is beautifully located in the surrounding Tuscan countryside We arrived at 22:30 and were luckily enough to catch the local bus to the nearest stop, it was still a good 30min walk, but my husband and I didn't mind it one bit, it was our chance to soak up Florence at night. (GPS on phone is really handy). FYI the local buses are very cheap 2:40 Euro, but we were lucky the bus driver let us on for free that night, as we didn't know where to get tickets from and it was just about to leave.

We stayed here for 3 nights and took advantage of getting the free shuttle bus to the city and back again everyday. The breakfast spread was amazing, I really like the muesli and the nice selection of tarts and yummy custard.

The second night we had dinner at the restaurant here and the food is top notch. My husband enjoyed his pork medallions with silky smooth mash, and I had home made ravioli stuffed with spinach and cheese, both meals were quite tasty but pretty expensive I thought, (my dish didn't really fill me up that much). For dessert the home made Tiramisu hit the spot. It was really quite lovely sitting outside looking over the river and relaxing.

The third night, we had dinner in the city and caught the local bus back to the hotel. FYI, If you want to catch the last free shuttle bus back to the hotel, you have to be there by 18:30.

The pool area looked amazing, the roses were in bloom and the old water wheel still turning did give the area charm, but it was freezing, it might be alright in August to go swimming, but we were arrived here in mid June. There was a nice look out point to get a better view of the flowing river behind.

The staff were great, and our room was a bit small, but it had a spa :) We could have upgraded, but were on a budget, hence the walk to the hotel from the local bus stop, otherwise the taxis would have racked up some coin.

Room Tip: I think a river view room would be nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sherree C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Mulino di Firenze was by far our favorite hotel we stayed in while in Italy. Everywhere you went in the hotel was absolutely beautiful. The staff was always friendly & helpful. We left our car in the car park and took advantage of the shuttle service which was very convenient. We enjoyed breakfast & delicious dinners on the terrace overlooking the river, which was absolutely beautiful. The grounds were meticiously kept & absolutely breathtaking with great views anywhere you went on the grounds. We definitely hope to return here in the near future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryAnne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My husband chose this hotel for our honeymoon based on the fact that we both love city walk but equally love wine and the beauty of wine country. This was our final stop on our honeymoon and I'm so glad we chose this place. Breathtaking views, stellar service, complimentary breakfast spread every AM, only down fall is we couldn't stay longer!

We were given apartment 2 which overlooks the beautiful river and scenic mountain views, perfect for a couple on their honeymoon! We arrived mid afternoon after the restaurant had already closed for lunch and they were still able to accommodate us and make us something to eat anyways. Shuttle runs every AM and night so reserve a day in advance. Unfortunately the last shuttle back in at 7:30pm so we had to take cabs back nightly, around $25 euros but all drivers knew of this hotel and it was about a 2.5 drive.

We are already booking our return and will definitely be staying here!! We were a short drive to the wine region and to the city center. Service is A+; couldn't be happier with this hotel

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krisj40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

A lovely hotel that has gracefully integrated rustic elegance and beauty into what was originally a mill on the Arno River. Our room with a river view (#115) was on the smallish side but certainly adequate for two people; the luxurious and comfortable bedding, large windows and pristine marble bathroom with a view of the restaurant terrace and the river more than compensated. Staff was friendly and helpful; we loved sipping limoncello in the evening in the bar and adored the gentleman who tended the bar, Emilio - a charming raconteur. Breakfast was marvelous with lots of choices, including flaky pastries, fresh fruit, yogurt, sausage and eggs, and and as many hot, frothy cups of cappuccino as we wanted - it was wonderful lingering over coffee every morning. The grounds are lovely; the swimming pool is stunningly beautiful (especially at night) and artfully integrated into the architecture. It was closed in October but nevertheless a pleasure to view. Little nooks and corners abound in the building with tile, terra cotta pots, artwork and ceramics giving this hotel the air of someone's country home. Parking was secure and easy to exit when we used our auto to make day trips outside of Florence. The hotel is worth the bit of a jaunt to get to Florence but the shuttle was easy and convenient. We just took a taxi back in the evening. Be advised that our GPS led us to a location far short of the hotel - we continued on, turned right down a very narrow walled lane and then began to see the signs to the hotel.

Room Tip: We never heard any road noise but strongly advise that you opt for a room with a view of the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joyfuldc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#21 of 410 in Florence
842 reviews
Art Hotel Villa Agape
#13 of 410 in Florence
533 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 410 in Florence
3,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#29 of 410 in Florence
2,361 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#38 of 410 in Florence
2,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mulino di Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mulino di Firenze

Address: Via di Villamagna 119, 50126, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £100 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mulino di Firenze 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Mulino di Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing