We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel with 5 Star Quality Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
Ranked #29 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel with 5 Star Quality Restaurant”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is a great hotel!

We stayed here in May for 4 evenings and greatly enjoyed every minute of it!. We had a room with a view of the river/falls and a small balcony to sit and pull in the beautiful surroundings and wonderful Tuscan light. The bed was super comfortable and the decor excellent. Throughout this hotel you see high attention to detail and quality decoration from the restoration of the old mill that was here before.

The hotel has an exceptional restaurant with a wonderful chef who turns out a great variety of dining options. We enjoyed it so much, night after night, we just continued to eat in the restaurant; rather than venture back to the City of Florence. The Sea Bass and home made pasta and tomato soup are supurb - but its all good. The wine list is very good, with some excellent value for money bottle choices.

A highlight of our trip was Emilio who tended the cozy bar and made all of the patrons feel at home. This man is a wonder and added greatly to the enjoyment of our stay at this property. Other staff were also helpful, with everything from helping us sort through the wine, getting directions mapped out for a day trip to Sienna, to equipping us with free bike rentals at the property we could take out on the nearby trail along the river. The bike ride was relaxing and splendid. Thank you everyone!

We highly recommend this hotel, even if you use as a base to access the city of Florence or the surrounding country side and destinations.

Room Tip: The room we had on the 2nd floor overlooking the river had a balcony and was fantastic. Try to book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mulinofirenze, Direttore at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Jim C,

What a pleasure for me to read Your comment!

I glad You wrote about our restaurant: nobody better than our Guests that tried it can recommend it!
And what about Emilio... He makes the atmosphere special likewise of the sound of river!

Let us know when You will come to Florence again: me and the Staff will be all glad to welcome You again at the Mulino to enjoy our services and relaxed atmosphere!

Kind regards,

Giancarlo Carniani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    823
    232
    40
    12
    3
See reviews for
192
687
19
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here for a week on our honeymoon, and it was a lovely place to stay! The hotel is beautiful (the photos don't do it justice), the staff are welcoming (Emelio makes a mean negroni) and the restaurant is superb.

It's really easy to get into Florence, but it was also really nice to come back to a quiet and relaxing hotel.


Only disadvantage is that they're currently doing some building works, which makes sitting by the pool on a weekday a little distracting, but with Florence on your doorstep this didn't make too much of a difference.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mulinofirenze, Direttore at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Helen D,

Thank You for Your kind review, I am proud to read that You choose Mulino for such a special celebration as Honeymoon: it is a holidays You will remember for all Your life. In this way I hope You can carry with You good memories of Your stay in Florence and at the Mulino, and hope to welcome You again for Your future Anniversaries too!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here for a few nights in Dec 2013 on our way from Rome to Venice. This place is simply amazing, by far the best place we stayed during our 5 week European holiday! There were only a few other guests so we almost had the place to ourselves. The restaurant was beautiful (we discovered Chianti here!) and overlooks the river. The staff are so friendly. The rooms are nice and big and we had a lovely water view. It is out of town, but if you have a hire car its nice to be away from the city and be in the countryside of Tuscany so that you can appreciate this beautiful part of the world - very romantic! Cant wait to visit this place again someday

Room Tip: ask for a water view over the river - simply stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mulinofirenze, Direttore at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Emma M,

Thank You for Your words of appreciation, Your comment make us feeling like we are working in the right direction to let our Guests feel comfortable and happy!

I will be glad to welcome You again for Your next trip to Florence!

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

If the Germans did romance in Italy, this is what it would be like.

The hotel is superbly located on the outskirts of Florence with a shuttle bus into town so you don't have to drive into town and compete with a rat race of Fiat 500s down tiny streets, whilst having the freedom of being able to drive out to Chianti in half the time (they have a large garage).

The hotel is a cute, but practical, renovation of the old water mill. Bizarrely almost none of the rooms have windows admiring the is view and even in May they were reluctant to open up their terraces where you can actually get a view of the Tuscan countryside, so we alone drinking a glass of wine on the terrace whilst everyone else sat looking at each other or at the interior courtyard.

Breakfast was plentiful if a little 'canteen-like' in style; a fresh bunch of flowers, opening the doors onto the terrace...they could have done very small things to reduce the conveyor belt feeling.

The room was lovely, with a large bubble bath.

The staff were exceptionally helpful.

In sum, this is a good hotel...but it could be so much more romantic and special with the simplest of (inexpensive) changes. It felt like a romantic hotel that had been stripped back to be more practical. A few plants, a welcoming cosy atmosphere in the communal rooms rather than the spartan like museum atmosphere would go a long way to making this jump up the ratings. Also, they have 2 spectacular terraces. Use them - get some nice plants climbing up the walls, a purgola to provide some attractive shade...easily done. Also, the 'sap' is not a spa; it is just a steam room and a sauna.

The hotel looked to be in the process of building a large extension. I worry it is going further down the 'numbers vs quality' route.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Bear5308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mulinofirenze, Direttore at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Bear5308,

Thank You for Your kind comment and suggestions.

It is a fortune that we cannot control the Wildlife... in fact there is a time to plant flowers and pergola to decorate our Hotel. Make it too early and one cold morning will be enough to let the plants die. Our Gardener know it very well.
The same is for our terraces: even opening them earlier nobody would seat outside for dinner, if the temperature is chilly.

I am glad to read that You enjoyed our services... I hope to welcome You again in Summer time, You would be happy to see that Mulino can get even more beautiful and romantic with roses blooming.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

What a wonderful place to stay! I shared a room with 2 others and we had enough room for our 4 night stay. The grounds are beautiful, along with the rest of the hotel! The breakfast was great, and so was the restaurant on site. Spectacular views! Emilio is by far the sweetest person there, he remembered our names on our first day there and cared for us the entirety of our trip. The rest of the staff was great too, extremely helpful and accommodating!

The only downside of this hotel, it is about a 15-20 min drive into the city center which cost us on average 20 euros, one way. The hotel does provide a beautiful shuttle, but there aren't enough times that it runs. I believe the last shuttle comes around 7:00pm, which is unfortunate because restaurants do not even open until 7pm. In addition, our first day there we chose to lay out by the fabulous Roman bath, but there was major construction occurring on the grounds with jack hammers, saws, dumps trucks, and backhoes. It was very hard to unwind that day, but luckily the remainder of our stay landed on the weekend, the construction only bothered us that one day.

Overall, fabulous place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheTruth_247_365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mulinofirenze, Direttore at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Kyle-NC20

Thank You for Your kind review, I am glad to know You enjoyed Your stay even if You probably stayed at the Mulino in the only few days of working hard... but this was just to make Mulino much more beautiful and with a brand new swimming pool, so You can enjoy our new relaxing area next time You will decide to come back to visit Florence and the Mulino!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

oh what a lovely time we had , from the wonderful Sabrina at reception to the rest of the friendly competent staff. After trying different restaurants in the city we discovered the hotel had the best food on offer . Everything about this hotel was first class and even though its outside the city there is a courtesy bus which runs frequently.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irishtraveller97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mulinofirenze, Direttore at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Irishtrav,

Thank You for Your kind review, Sabrina and all the Staff were glad to read Your words of appreciation about Your stay!

We will be all pleased to welcome You again at the Mulino for Your next trip to Florence,

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights along with 4 other couples at the end of a 3 week trip. It was the perfect finale... restful, quiet, quaint, romantic and so pretty with fabulous views of the river and countryside. The staff was very helpful and tried hard to accommodate all our requests. Each of the 5 river view rooms my group had were different but all nice. The bathrooms were very modern (some additional shelving would be nice); some rooms had a Jacuzzi tub and some a Jacuzzi shower (there is a little learning curve in using the showers). There were some steps to some of the rooms (but our luggage was delivered) so ask if that would be an issue for you. The food in the dining room for dinner was fabulous and the bread was even better. The included breakfast was amazing and presented in a very elegant way. The outdoor dining terrace had not opened yet but we gathered there for wine before dinner. The only issue was the air conditioning which hadn't been turned on yet and because of the river and insects I was reluctant to open my window, so I was a little warm at night, however, the mattress and linens made up for that.
There is a small town about 1/2 mile away and we walked to the pizzeria for dinner. When we arrived at 2pm we where able to get sandwiches. My husband borrowed a bike and rode across the river and into Florence once but the shuttle bus (24 passenger) was fine for us. If you need to have dinner in town, you would want to take a taxi home. If you like hustle and bustle and night life stay in town but... if you would like serene scenic beauty, chose the Mulino.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lacy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mulinofirenze, Direttore at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Lacy49,

Thank You for Your kind review, all the Staff remember Your party and were very glad to read Your words of appreciation and suggestions!

Unfortunately due a multi-changing weather at the beginning of May we had a hard time trying to comply all the different requests of temperature... in fact sometimes we were asked for heating and cold a/c in the same day. But do not be scared about mosquitoes: the always-moving water of the river does not allow the insects to grow up!

I am pleased to know You had a great time and enjoyed the services of our Hotel, it will be a pleasure for me and the Staff welcome You and Your party again at the Mulino for Your next trip to Florence,

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 412 in Florence
800 reviews
Art Hotel Villa Agape
#15 of 412 in Florence
504 reviews
Hotel David
#2 of 412 in Florence
3,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#31 of 412 in Florence
2,302 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 412 in Florence
3,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mulino di Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mulino di Firenze

Property: Hotel Mulino di Firenze
Address: Via di Villamagna 119, 50126, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mulino di Firenze 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mulino di Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing