We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to Relax & Enjoy Tuscany”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
Ranked #24 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great place to Relax & Enjoy Tuscany”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We loved this Villa. A GEM We will go back in an instant if in the area again. This Hotel is much better than any pictures on website could show. This is a great place to be in Tuscany; away from the city with up to date amenities and rooms. You feel, with the hotel property and grounds very spread out, that you are really out in the hills of Tuscany. Parts of the property date from the 16th Century. Our room was great;clean, very up to date, on the large size (king size bed), and very comfortable. If great bathrooms are important, this place is a winner. You need transportation because there is nothing close by to which to walk. They have great areas for groups to sit and socialize.They have a great looking bar area but we sat outside. For us, there was nothing not to like about this property. We love laid back and not over the top, and not overpriced .As stated before; a gem. One tip; if there are 2 people in one room get 2 room key cards because if one person stays in room you need a key card to keep the lights/electricity from turning off after 5 minutes. Also the rooms are not all in one building so if you dislike walking, speak up.

Room Tip: If you don't mind walking up a flight of stairs, we thought the view was worth the stairs (they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fthomasj89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mulinofirenze, Direttore at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear FThomasJ8,

Such a pleasure for me to read that You would not hesitate to come back again for Your next trip to Florence!

Describing the Mulino like "a gem" You could not make me and the Staff happier... thank You for Your nice words!

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming You again here at the Mulino,

Kind regards

Giancarlo Carniani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    797
    219
    38
    11
    3
See reviews for
176
666
18
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

My sister and I took a short break to Florence and decided we'd like to stay outside as it gets so busy and hot in the city. We stayed at this hotel for four nights. We couldn't have chosen a better spot to relax after a day battling through the crowds. From the minute we arrived the receptionists made us welcome and we'd like to make a special mention of Serena who couldn't have been more helpful, gone to more trouble or been more fun. Our rooms were splendid overlooking the Arno and we had great fun at the bar in the company of Emilio whose cocktails are personalised and who is a 'one-off' guy.

We both have delicate stomachs, asked for food off menu and Alessandro took as much trouble over us as if we were his parents. Khalid was equally kind and considerate. Our grown up children happened to be visiting Florence at the same time and they were made equally as welcome as they joined us for dinner.

I can highly recommend this hotel. The staff understand that people are its main priority and that service is what people are paying for. Thanks for making our holiday such fun and so pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 428rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mulinofirenze, Direttore at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Rose D,

Thank to You and to Your sister for being such a nice and happy Guests in our Hotel!

The Staff were all very pleased to read Your words of appreciation, they always attend at their best all the Guests of Mulino to let them enjoy their stay, but... they all said that it was such a pleasure to do that for You!!

I look forward to the pleasure of having You here at the Mulino again!

My kindest regards,

Giancarlo Carniani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Really could not ask for better. So much nicer than staying in town. Beautifully decorated and gorgeous scenery. Service was top notch. Very rarely saw a manager but that's because everyone knows what they are doing and are obviously empowered to ensure that guests thoroughly enjoy their stay. Emilio is the finest example of this - his experience at 5 star establishments is clearly evident.
We stayed for 4 nights in a superior room with river view. We had dinner twice and it was as good or better than any we had in town. Even the breakfast buffet was better than most. Travelling to and from town was my only concern but it was very easy. Great value and would not want to stay anywhere else around Florence.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mulinofirenze, Direttore at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear John W,

You said the truth about my Staff: "everyone knows what they are doing", this allow me to take care of many different facets of the Mulino to assure our Guests a 360° always-higher-standard stay.

I am glad to know You enjoyed Your stay with us, hope to hear soon again Your "Wow" for Your next trip to Florence! Thank You for Your review!

Kindest regards,

Giancarlo Carniani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Let's start with the stuff you usually don't find in European hotels:

The shower is awesome. At least in this room, you can choose from a rain shower head, a very refreshing sheet head, the typical European wand or a series of jets. Yes, the stall is a bit small by American standards. But you very rarely see this kind of thing over there. Oh, and the pressure is good, too. Very nice touch. Super plush robes, slippers by the bed...great stuff.

And the room is large by any standard. Also plenty rare in Europe.

The property itself is delightful. An old mill, repurposed quite effectively. You are RIGHT on the Arno, just above a dam. They've converted the flow beneath the old wheel to a swimming pool. There is a deck there, as well as another in a courtyard they call the "solarium". The hotel has lovely public spaces with antique furnishings and portraits. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. And the restaurant was very good. One of the better dinners we had in Italy, and that's saying something. Breakfast was included in our price and was good. We did have lunch, and that was a disappointment. The "panini" was not heated in a press, and was pretty ordinary meat/cheese on typically uninteresting Italian bread. We had much better as we traveled in Italy. And the service there was slow. We also did room service for an early-evening snack and drinks. We had some cheese from an earlier stop and asked for bread. This time, it was very good bread, and it came gratis, as did a bowl of perfectly firm, fresh olives.

Yes, it is a ways from Florence centre, and the shuttle is not that conveniently scheduled. But you didn't decide to stay in the heart of town for a reason, right? I enjoyed the relaxing river, feet on the window ledge, watching the joggers and dogs on the trail on the opposite bank and the ducks and turtles in the water. This is an easy recommendation. Would love to return.

Room Tip: I think the river view was well worth paying for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martw66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mulinofirenze, Direttore at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Martw66,

I am glad to know You enjoyed the comfort of our Hotel: Your satisfaction having a great shower pay the efforts made to give modern comforts to the rooms still keeping untouched the old structure of the mill!

I would like to thank You also for Your comment and suggestion about restaurant and lunch time: this give us the chance to improve our service so You can enjoy it much better the next time You will come to visit us!

Kind regards

Giancarlo Carniani
Generla Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is a great hotel!

We stayed here in May for 4 evenings and greatly enjoyed every minute of it!. We had a room with a view of the river/falls and a small balcony to sit and pull in the beautiful surroundings and wonderful Tuscan light. The bed was super comfortable and the decor excellent. Throughout this hotel you see high attention to detail and quality decoration from the restoration of the old mill that was here before.

The hotel has an exceptional restaurant with a wonderful chef who turns out a great variety of dining options. We enjoyed it so much, night after night, we just continued to eat in the restaurant; rather than venture back to the City of Florence. The Sea Bass and home made pasta and tomato soup are supurb - but its all good. The wine list is very good, with some excellent value for money bottle choices.

A highlight of our trip was Emilio who tended the cozy bar and made all of the patrons feel at home. This man is a wonder and added greatly to the enjoyment of our stay at this property. Other staff were also helpful, with everything from helping us sort through the wine, getting directions mapped out for a day trip to Sienna, to equipping us with free bike rentals at the property we could take out on the nearby trail along the river. The bike ride was relaxing and splendid. Thank you everyone!

We highly recommend this hotel, even if you use as a base to access the city of Florence or the surrounding country side and destinations.

Room Tip: The room we had on the 2nd floor overlooking the river had a balcony and was fantastic. Try to book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mulinofirenze, Direttore at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Jim C,

What a pleasure for me to read Your comment!

I glad You wrote about our restaurant: nobody better than our Guests that tried it can recommend it!
And what about Emilio... He makes the atmosphere special likewise of the sound of river!

Let us know when You will come to Florence again: me and the Staff will be all glad to welcome You again at the Mulino to enjoy our services and relaxed atmosphere!

Kind regards,

Giancarlo Carniani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here for a week on our honeymoon, and it was a lovely place to stay! The hotel is beautiful (the photos don't do it justice), the staff are welcoming (Emelio makes a mean negroni) and the restaurant is superb.

It's really easy to get into Florence, but it was also really nice to come back to a quiet and relaxing hotel.


Only disadvantage is that they're currently doing some building works, which makes sitting by the pool on a weekday a little distracting, but with Florence on your doorstep this didn't make too much of a difference.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mulinofirenze, Direttore at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Helen D,

Thank You for Your kind review, I am proud to read that You choose Mulino for such a special celebration as Honeymoon: it is a holidays You will remember for all Your life. In this way I hope You can carry with You good memories of Your stay in Florence and at the Mulino, and hope to welcome You again for Your future Anniversaries too!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here for a few nights in Dec 2013 on our way from Rome to Venice. This place is simply amazing, by far the best place we stayed during our 5 week European holiday! There were only a few other guests so we almost had the place to ourselves. The restaurant was beautiful (we discovered Chianti here!) and overlooks the river. The staff are so friendly. The rooms are nice and big and we had a lovely water view. It is out of town, but if you have a hire car its nice to be away from the city and be in the countryside of Tuscany so that you can appreciate this beautiful part of the world - very romantic! Cant wait to visit this place again someday

Room Tip: ask for a water view over the river - simply stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mulinofirenze, Direttore at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Emma M,

Thank You for Your words of appreciation, Your comment make us feeling like we are working in the right direction to let our Guests feel comfortable and happy!

I will be glad to welcome You again for Your next trip to Florence!

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#16 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,843 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Hotel Villa Agape
#13 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#28 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mulino di Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mulino di Firenze

Property: Hotel Mulino di Firenze
Address: Via di Villamagna 119, 50126, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mulino di Firenze 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mulino di Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing