We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely romantic hotel with excellent restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mulino di Firenze

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
Ranked #22 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Lovely romantic hotel with excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights whilst we explored Florence. We were upgraded to a larger room when we arrived which was nice (there was some work going on outside bit that didn't really disturb us). The room itself was a good size, well equipped with a nice bathroom. We had a nice lunch in the main piazza and the staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. In the evening we had dinner on the veranda overlooking the river Arno and it was gorgeous. The food was excellent too. I couldn't recommend the hotel more highly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mulinofirenze, Direttore at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Nick N,

When You travel it is good to experience local food... and in our restaurant Il Grano D'Oro the Chef Domenico propose with passion all traditional recipes!

So I am glad to know You enjoyed Florentine tradition during Your stay with us!

Hope to have the pleasure to welcome You sonn again here at the Mulino,

Kind regards

Giancarlo Carniani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    790
    217
    36
    11
    3
See reviews for
175
658
18
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights in this sublime hotel surrounded by the most wonderful and hospitable staff. A special mention to Khaled and Emilio who make us feel so special. Relaxing in the courtyard drinking some beautiful wine or Emilio's special negronis, enjoying the amazing food offered in the restaurant. Breakfast was excellent as well. We can't stop sharing our experience and would have loved to stay a lot longer. Please don't change anything

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mulinofirenze, Direttore at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Marie G,

All the Staff pleasantly remember You and wants to give You its regards!

... and about the Negroni of Emilio... more than a cocktail seems to be a potion of happiness!

We all await Your next trip to Florence to have the pleasure of welcoming You again at the Mulino!

Kindest regards

Giancarlo Carniani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Overall: Very nice hotel in a quiet location. The rooms are large with real queen-sized beds (as opposed to two singles put together). Also, very large and well-equipped bathrooms.

Price: Compared to hotels located in the city center, the hotel is a very good value.

Location: located a few kilometers outside the city center. There is a shuttle that leaves from the hotel and picks up from the city four times a day (twice in the morning and twice in the evening). You can also get a taxi, which usually costs around 17-19 Euro, including tip.

Breakfast: A great reason to stay at the hotel is the breakfast. Huge selection and everything is well prepared.

If you want to stay away from the hustle and bustle of the city center, this is a wonderful option.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wrathokhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mulinofirenze, Direttore at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Moin K,

Start the morning in the right way make people happy all day... and being able to meet all the different preferences and needs that people coming from all over the world may have for breakfast is a special pleasure for us!

Because being in a new country and drinking coffee as You are use to drink at home can be as comforting as a hug!

Thank You for Your nice words, I hope to welcome You again at the Mulino for Your next trip to Florence,

Kind regards

Giancarlo Carniani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Mulino di Firenze is a boutique hotel about 10min outside Florence, made out of a converted old flour mill. The hotel sits on the banks of the Arno river in a pretty spectacular location. I stayed for 3 nights with 3 friends a year ago and had an amazing time. Service was excellent, particularly by the pool (which was an interesting shape and pretty cold, but still awesome). I really enjoyed being slightly outside the city but not too far away. Very romantic too, would highly recommend to couples.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mulinofirenze, Direttore at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Jeremy R,

I am so glad to read that You wrote Your comment after one year... because it means that You really carry with You good memories of Your stay with us!

I hope to have the pleasure to welcome You again very soon here at the Mulino,

Kind regards,

Giancarlo Carniani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We recently did another trip to Italy for business and decided while there to take a bit of a break to enjoy parts of Italy we'd not visited as well as go back to cities we hade such as Florence.

Having just left the insanity of Venice and before that Rimini it was a very pleasant break to get just outside the main city limits in the quiet setting where Mulino di Firenze is located.

While admittedly our room size wise reminded me of being in Japan or Hong Kong it was more than made up for when we opened the double doors to a little green area that overlooked the Arno ands surrounding countryside. Each morning there we were treated with beautiful sunrises just before us as the peaked in over the nearby hills with moments akin to those seen and memorialized in the great paintings of Italy, all while looking a the flowing Arno. Nice

The hotel while still being renovated in areas away from the main house is quite comfortable, with pool, sauna and a nice restaurant within. We ate there 3 nights in a row with no complaints from either my wife and I. For those wishing to take a it of a stroll there is a small village not far down the road (about 15 minute walk) that has two small restaurants if you'd like a little something different.

They have a shuttle that will take you into town that drops people off not far from the main sites and picks up 4 times later in the day. All quite convenient and all quite comfortable.

The thing about the property is it is about 5km outside city center and for those looking for hustle bustle of night life/ our generally wish to be in a very crowded city, this isn't the place for you. For those wanting to enjoy Florence without the insanity all the time of being in a highly travelled tourist center in the evening- this is the place.

If we were to go back to Florence we'd not hesitate to stay there again. Staff all were wonderful and special thanks to Aldo who checked us in and made sure we were situated and provided with all we needed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TahoeJoe1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mulinofirenze, Direttore at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear TahoeJoe1,

Thank You for Your nice words, here at the Mulino we have a special alliance: the nature, the river, the green and peaceful surrounding and all the little animals that leave in this frame... is something that cannot be bought! And I am glad You perceived it and enjoied it during Your stay!

I hope to welcome You again soon here at the Mulino,

Kind regards

Giancarlo Carniani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We should have stayed for a month. The Mulino is a wonderful hotel just close enough to Florence to be in the streets and museums within a few minutes, and just far enough up river to escape. This is more of a resort than a hotel, and we found nothing to fault in the four nights we stayed.

The hotel is immaculate. Inside and out, there is a higher degree of maintenance and cleanliness here than we have experienced at any hotel in Europe (or for that matter anywhere else). Fairly new (2010), the hotel seems to be cleaned constantly by the very attentive staff.

The rooms are sizable for Europe, very dark with the shutters drawn. The bathrooms are large - ours had a powered jacuzzi tub, bidet, toilet, sink, etc. Towels are soft and plentiful. Our room had a king sized bed which was very comfortable, a small desk, a wardrobe, several lamps, and a chair. If I have a complaint I'd say the television is entirely too complex to operate but for the few seconds we watched it no big deal.

The breakfast was truly special, breakfast outside overlooking the Arno rushing by, in the garden, with the sunrise, was fantastic. The food is excellent and plentiful, the coffee is also excellent.

The pool and pool area are very nice, with comfortable seating all around. The pool itself was still quite cold though we swam and enjoyed it. The pool is very clean.

The common areas and bar are excellent in every way, comfortable and plentiful seating all throughout the lower floor.

Parking is free.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river side are quiet; we had room 207 and the noise from the road wasn't bad but wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bradley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mulinofirenze, Direttore at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Bradley A,

I would like to thank You for Your comment, and say that You are right: Johnny and Frederick, together with our maids, they costantly clean the common area of the Hotel and make sure everything is well manteined. Instead Alexandru, our technician, take a special care to make sure that everything works properly all over the rooms and building.

Nothing more than Your words "we should have stayed for a month" make us feel like we are all working in the right direction!
I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming You again here at the Mulino,

My kindest regards

Giancarlo Carniani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

This was the perfect respite after a long day of site seeing! At first we were skeptical of being 10-15 minutes from town, but it was amazing. The river views are gorgeous & the staff is overly accommodating. Not to mention the fabulous breakfast with views of Tuscany! The hotel shuttle was so easy to use & we typically took it either to or from each day & took a taxi the other way. Emilio the bartender is a gem & makes delicious cocktails. We would most certainly stay here again upon a return trip to Florence. Perfection!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mulinofirenze, Direttore at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Steph B,

I am so glad to know You enjoyed our services during Your stay at the Mulino, Emilio will be pleased to make coktails for You the next time you will come and visit us here at the Mulino!

Thank You for Your nice words,

Giancarlo Carniani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Hotel Villa Agape
#14 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#28 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mulino di Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mulino di Firenze

Property: Hotel Mulino di Firenze
Address: Via di Villamagna 119, 50126, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mulino di Firenze 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mulino di Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing