We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“absolutely wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mulino di Firenze

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
Ranked #23 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Wales Uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“absolutely wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

You can not fault this hotel. The setting is beautiful, the rooms stunning and the staff are beyond compare. The free shuttle bus to the city makes life so easy. After a busy day in Florence you can return to a peaceful oasis where you can just put your feet up and relax. I think this is one of the nicest stays I have ever had and I would not hesitate to go back. If only all hotels were this great.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FairyDust1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    790
    217
    36
    11
    3
See reviews for
175
658
18
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

My husband and I chose the Mulino di Firenze because it was out of the hustle and bustle of the city and looked like a charming place to stay.

The Not So Good:
Before we left home for our trip to Italy, my husband emailed the hotel to find out how to get there from the train station. The response he received said to take bus 23B towards Nave a Rovezzano and get off at the last stop...the hotel is 600 m from there (no directions beyond that). Good thing we didn't take the bus the first night we arrived with all of our luggage because we ended up taking it the next night and got totally lost. We got off at the last stop and nothing looked even remotely familiar. We walked for a while, but it was night and we didn't feel comfortable wandering around so we decided to call the hotel. The woman at the desk told us we were on Marco Polo when we explained our surroundings and so we asked if she could call us a taxi...she said she couldn't because she didn't know where we were and just gave us the number for the taxi company. We called the taxi company and were hung up on because the person apparently did not speak English. So we had no idea where we were, how to get back to the hotel, and on top of it all, my phone was going to die. Luckily, we stumbled upon a Holiday Inn and asked them to call us a taxi. One minute later, a taxi was there. As we rode back to the hotel, we realized the bus stop we were told to get off at was nowhere near 600 m to our hotel.

We also chose this hotel because it's new and I figured it had to be clean. The first night, I noticed that I could see little black things through the sheet on top of the mattress. Plus, the bathroom wasn't all that clean.

The Good:
The breakfast was very good with a large assortment of pastries, cereal, eggs, bacon, juice, etc.

The view from the hotel was beautiful on the Arno river.

The shuttle service into the city was a nice thing to have and the times ended up working out well for us.

The food at the restaurant was very good.

Free wi-fi.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisah15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

We spent 5 nights in this hotel having discovered it by chance online. It is the old watermill for the city, converted into an amazing hotel right on the river and about a 15 mins drive from the city centre. So lots of rustic charm and brand new having just opened! Breakfast and dinner are buffets and there is a very good bar with outdoor terraces and a great swimming pool. The staff also spoke excellent English and could not have been more helpful.

They offer a free shuttle service into town and back, morning and evenings which we thought was excellent and meant that it did not matter that we were not central. The peaceful, beautiful location of the hotel is definitely worth it! Even if you missed the shuttle, a taxi was only c.€20. Nearby is a lovely local pizzeria and you can hire free bikes from the hotel to cycle along the river.

We would definitely recommend this hotel and would love to return again!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LdnBusinessTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

My partner and I had the pleasure of staying at the Mulino di Firenze for our holiday in August, and we would fully recommend it for anyone planning to visit Florence and Tuscany.

The hotel is ideally situated in the green hills just to the East of Florence - with pleasant views across the River Arno. A free shuttle service is on-hand to take you into the historic centre. Florence is also well situated to visit all the different regions of Tuscany and the hotel has the advantage of free parking if you’ve hired a car to explore.

In addition to the ideal location, the hotel itself was perfect. All of the staff were extremely helpful in all matters, particularly at the reception, where the service level excellent and the receptionists were always patient and willing to assist.

We also found the morning breakfast and evening buffet tasty, authentically Tuscan, wholesome, and reasonably priced.

The hotel refurbishment is impressive and to a high standard, with the most amazing swimming pool conversion of the old mill pond. We were so comfortable during our stay and really felt there was an attention to detail with everything.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPassepartout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

I stayed in this hotel for 6 nights with my boyfriend and it was a lovely experience.

The hotel is a little outside Florence, between €15 - €20 in a taxi but they offer a free shuttle bus service which goes in and out of Florence a few times a day.
The surounding countryside is idyllic and very romantic so the distance did not bother us, in fact we chose it for this reason.

Our room was very spacious and well decorated with some nice traditional pieces of furniture and looked out onto the back of the hotel which was the best view. It could be a little noisy at times as the footpath outside was cobblestone so any noise could be heard howeever this did not bother us too much.

We did not (much to our embarrassment) speak any Italian really but the hotel staff did and were extremely freindly and helpful to us.

The only criticism I would have would be the dinner choice. They offer a themed buffet menu every evening for €28 per person which was a bit expensive. It would have been nice to be able to choose from a proper dinner menu for a lower cost as there is nowhere very closeby to eat except one pizza place.
Their breakfast buffet was fantastic however and I am sure the dinner menu was too but we did not stay to try it any night.

I would recommend this hotel. It is not far from Florence and you get a lovely experience of the tuscan countryside around it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mashe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2010

The hotel is a little bit isolated from center town though they provide a shuttle service (the schedule is not very attractive for nighters and young visitors). Breakfast was a little bit of a disapointement (burnt bacon, strange fried eggs...) but the staff is efficient and they always make you feel at home. The swimming pool is out of this world (in a good way). I'd appreciated it if they didn't make you feel force to tip sometimes... Great place to stay anyway if you're looking for a quiet place. I still don't understand why they charge the visitors to use the wifi when it is totally free at the entrance to use the internet...

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inlasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mulinofirenze, Proprietario at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this review, 9 August 2010
Dear Tripadvisor user,

We thank you for your kind reviews which had our best attention, but we do think there is a misunderstanding regarding the wi-fi service.

We confirm wi-fi is completely free in our hotel (check your bill, you will find no charge for it). The misunderstanding could have happened because we ask our client to sign the receipt when we give them username and password (we are forced to do so for the italian anti-terrorism law), but we assure you it's completely free.

I have checked all files of all clients since the opening and we never charge anyone. Thanks anyway for giving us the opportunity to clarify the matter for future clients.

We listen therefore we care!

Best regards

The Management
HOTEL MULINO DI FIRENZE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

the hotel had just opened a month prior to our arrival and i must say i was impressed.
the breakfast is diversive, serving different tastes. service was wonderful and the room very clean. shuttle to the town was very good. of course, one would like more choices but on the whole a very nice service.
what the hotel can consider is better signs to find the hotel. the other is that for those arriving very late, a late and light meal can be available and not frozen pasta or stale sandwich. not everyone appreciates carbohydrates late in the evening after a long trip.
strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ann195381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mulinofirenze, Proprietario at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this review, 4 August 2010
Dear Tripadvisor User,

Thanks for your comment which has our best attention.
We appreciate comments on our service. We are a new hotel and we wish to perform better and better, therefore we are taking good care of your comment on our snack food.

We listen therefore we care!

The Management
MULINO DI FIRENZE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,988 reviews
Art Hotel Villa Agape
#14 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#26 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#28 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mulino di Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mulino di Firenze

Property: Hotel Mulino di Firenze
Address: Via di Villamagna 119, 50126, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mulino di Firenze 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mulino di Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing