We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet hotel offering a tranquil night after a days sightseeing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
Ranked #27 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Toulon, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quiet hotel offering a tranquil night after a days sightseeing”
Reviewed 27 February 2011

The hotel is on the outskirts of the City connected by the local bus system, nearest stop about 400m away. There is also free shuttle service, 2 trips in the morning and 2 late afternoon. Good parking at the hotel. Yes the satnav tries taking you the wrong way down one way lanes but the hotel is not really that difficult to find.
The restaurant meat was excellent and as a coeliac I was very pleased to be informed that the restaurant stocks gluten free bread and pasta; a first.
Only Italian tv channels available at the time of my visit.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard187257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    807
    222
    39
    12
    3
See reviews for
181
673
18
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2011

This hotel was truly beautiful! It was converted from an old watering mill and has so much charm and character. It is definitely not like a traditional hotel and that's what we really enjoyed about it. It is right on the river and has beautiful views. It is difficult to find if you are driving yourself and navagation does not help! We had to stop 2 times and get directions.

The rooms were really clean and pretty spacious. The bathrooms are quite large and very clean. The view from our room was of the entrance of the hotel and it was really quiet and peaceful. It has a lot of old world charm. We were there during their slow time and it was really nice and peaceful.

The hotel is not that far from the city center (10 to 15 minutes). We had a car and it was not difficult to get to the city center and back. I believe they said they have a shuttle but it drops you off in the city center at 9 am and picks you up at 5 pm.

They did offer free wifi but it was awful in our room. I am not sure if they were having trouble that day or if that is how it always is. It works perfectly in the lobby but does not work in the restaurant. You do have to type in a password each time you want to use the internet and you have to get a separate password for each device you have. We had iphones and a laptop and each had to have its own password.

The breakfast was not that great. They didnt have many hot food options and the cold options were not very good. They do offer fruit, cereal, pastries and breads. I wasn't impressed with the food. We didnt get a chance to have dinner at the hotel. The hours were very short...from 7 to 930 only. I think this was because it is their slow time. They do not offer room service either. And when we went to the bar at about 10 they said that the kitchen was closed and we could only get drinks.

Overall, this is great little spot to stay at. It is away from all the craziness of the city and you get to relax and enjoy a peaceful night. We would definitely stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to friends! They have a great deal going on right now but it ends in March. I am sure the prices will go up significantly after March.. so try to go soon!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AidanDemha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2010

I stayed at Mulino di Firenze for three nights in Nov 2010 with my wife & 6mth old daughter. The location is a little out of the way but excellent if you have a car, the hotel also provides complimentary return shuttle bus service into the heart of Florence everyday. The hotel itself is amazing, the rooms are excellent, the bathrooms spacious and well laid out. The grounds were lovely with picturesque views of the Arno (you couldn't get much better), and very well maintained. The restaurant in the hotel is nice and the service staff friendly. Two things to note for future travellers: the restaurant is closed on Sun night but the bar is still open and does serve food, the other is that the hotel has an opening special at the moment for greatly reduced prices for booking before Mar 2011 - check their website for details.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxmcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2010

We went buy car and it was a bit difficult to find the hotel. The hotel is very new and located next to a rive far from the city center. It has a nice swimming pool which could be very nice in summer. The room was well decorated and comfortable. The hotel offers free shuttle bus to city. The only negative comment is that the restaurant was not ready to welcome so many guesses. The menu is quite limited and they ran out of few dishes. Overall we enjoyed ours stay and we would be happy to return another time.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D0dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camdenton, MO
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

This place, built around an ancient mill, was everything we want in a hotel - some history, great views of the Arno River, friendly staff, interesting guests, a little difficult to find (that means it's probably authentic), clean, comfortable bed, modern bathroom and a restaurant on site so that we weren't forced to go out for dinner. A plus was the shuttle that took us into Florence and returned us at the end of the day with sore feet, aching backs and a smile. We would have probably liked a more diverse dinner menu but who really cares if you can drink all the wine you want and only have to walk down the hall to your room. It was too late in the year to use the pool but it was beautiful. We loved the quiet rural surroundings that were just a few miles from the bustling heart of Florence. If you're driving be sure to get directions - a one-way narrow road bordered by high stone walls was difficult to find until you understood the area. GPS didn't help!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

Bit cold when we arrived and no heating as took a couple of days to reach a decent temperature - so lucky the weather warmed up . Nice location on the river but watch those mozzies! Newly converted Watermill with high ceilings, bit of an echo, stylish but not cosy. Good base for being just outisde the frenzy of Florence and easy access to other prettier hill top towns and views.
Breakfast excellent, some of the staff friendly and helpful. Not bad, lacks a bit of atmosphere as all new but clean and tidy.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuildfordTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2010

We originally booked a room for 3 nights and due to the excellence of this hotel, we decided to take one day off from our next stop in Rome and added to our stay at the Moulino di Firenze. This is a very nice hotel located in the outskirts of Florence and by the Arno River. There is a free shuttle service from the hotel to Florence city center, the minibus stop is at the central Library. We enjoyed being at this hotel very much and also grateful that we were invited to the official grand opening party. I would like to commend the staff in general and the following staff people in particular: Verushka and Antonia at the front desk, Emilio at the bar and Ana at the breakfast room. All and all, our stay in Italy will be remembered in part for being at this hotel. Pity we did not have more time at our disposal to stay a little longer at the Moulino di Firenze.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MajorDani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 422 in Florence
765 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 422 in Florence
1,891 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 422 in Florence
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel David
#1 of 422 in Florence
3,130 reviews
Art Hotel Villa Agape
#16 of 422 in Florence
446 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#28 of 422 in Florence
2,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mulino di Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mulino di Firenze

Property: Hotel Mulino di Firenze
Address: Via di Villamagna 119, 50126, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mulino di Firenze 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mulino di Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing