We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New hotel, great location and excellent service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Ranked #50 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“New hotel, great location and excellent service!”
Reviewed 4 June 2011

The hotel is within a short walking distance of most major attractions in Florence, and a short cab ride (€10-12) from the train station. There are some steps to haul your bags up to reception, but they have a camera to see you coming and will come down to help. And, that is just the beginning of some seriously friendly and dedicated service - one of the best attributes of this hotel.

The rooms are bright and new, reasonably spacious by European standards. Our bathroom was quite narrow (about 1.5 people wide throughout), requiring some care to navigate. Other than that, the facilities were just fine. The WiFi didn't work for us, necessitating use of an Ethernet cable cheerfully provided. The room has a safe for stowing your valuables.

Breakfast is in one of more visually stunning rooms, as breakfasts go. The roof has some nice paintings in panels and considerably enhances the aesthetic appeal of the setting. There was a decent spread of pastries, juices, cheeses and cold cuts - but no hot items at all.

There is a nice little shop downstairs of the hotel, dedicated to Leonardo da Vinci's work.

Overall, very pleasant place to stay in Florence.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2travel560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, Booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
Thank you for sharing with us and other travellers your experience during your stay.
It was a pleasure having you in our Hotel and we look forward to welcome you again.

Warm regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    256
    37
    4
    3
See reviews for
183
469
34
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

My wife and our two children who are in their twenties stayed at this wonderful hotel in May. We relied on the reviews on Trip Advisor and we are so glad that we did. The entire hotel staff could not have been more incredible. They were always very helpful and friendly and made us feel like we were very special. Even before we arrived the staff made reservations for us at the Uffizi and The Academia. The accomodations were modern with old world charm and extremely tasteful. The rooms and bathrooms were large, clean and modern. The location was perfect. The breakfast was tasty and plentiful. This hotel is one that we would have no questions about returning to stay or reccomending to our best friends.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank satravelers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, Booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
Thank you for your review !
It is important for us to know that you have had a nice stay with us.

We love our work and we hope to be able to do it always in the right way

Friendly regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gun Barrel City, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

This hotel is in the old section of Florence but they called garage to pick up car (you can’t drive/park in the old part without permit); very good breakfast selection; desk very helpful and efficient; beautiful reception and dining rooms; all nationalities there. Our room and bath were very spacious (it might have been a handicapped room). The whole hotel is on the second floor of a building and you have to walk up lovely marble steps to the reception desk. Not a problem if you are able. While on a busy street, the rooms are to the back and very quiet. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cclgbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, Booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
All our staff wants to thank you for having beeing so kind to us.

It is nice to read such a consideration in your words.

Hopefully you will came somewhen.

Warm regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Traveling to Europe for the first time with my husband and young teenage son, so I didn't know what to expect. This hotel more than met our expectations and had a great location. Very central to all the attractions and within walking distance of the train station. The staff were extremely helpful from the minute we got there. They asked if we had reservations for the Accademia and Uffizi, which we did not. A call was made while we were checking in and before we were in our room we had reservations for both, one was for that same day.

We also asked for dinner recommendations two different nights. Both were excellent and we got good recommendations for real gelato and granita. Again, both were excellent.

Breakfast buffet was more than ample and great selection. We had the suite since there were three of us, with my son in a single room and my husband and I in the other room. Plenty of room for us and everything was very clean.
Beautiful hotel, excellent staff and great location. You can't go wrong!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gardeninggirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

The hotel occupies one floor of a building on Via Cavour, north of the Duomo, and appears to have been recently renovated. There is no elevator, so you have to walk up 20-30 steps to get to reception. The public areas of the hotel were spacious and attractive. The room was clean, well-maintained, reasonably spacious, and the bed was comfortable. The room itself was clean, but there was a mold problem in the shower (room 122). Hotel staff was friendly, efficient, and accommodating. Good value.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

My friend and I stayed for four nights at this hotel. It is situated a short walk from the Duomo in one direction and St Marco's and The Accademia in another. It took us approximately 15 minutes to walk from the main railway station but with directions it was straight forward. However, as the hotel is not itself directly on the road, you need to look out for the number 21 on the wall.
When we arrived we found that the booking agents had not made it clear to the hotel that we would require twin beds and they had made up a double but straight away it was sorted out and we were offered coffee while they did this.
The room was very clean and bright with adequate space to store our clothes. The beds were extremely comfortable. The double glazing worked a treat as did the air conditioning. The TV was modern with a flat screen.
We had a nice spacious bathroom with a shower and toiletries and towels were provided. The linen was changed on our beds also during our stay.
Breakfast was continental and could not have been better. The type of food provided is too long to list here but be assured you will not go hungry and there is sure to be something for everyone's taste.
We found the staff welcoming, friendly and helpful. The coffee from the bar was reasonably priced and very nice. One evening whilst having coffee, we were told the very interesting history of the rooms prior to it becoming a hotel.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this family run hotel to anyone and if I was ever to return to Florence then I would look no further than to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rubytops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

Wonderful hotel that we didn't want to leave. Newly renovated with all mod cons but retains beautiful architecture and frescoes throughout. Ideal location just mins from the duomo and other major sites but able to keep a calm quiet ambience inside, a rare thing in a busy city! Staff couldn't be faulted, so friendly, helpful and knowledgable, nothing was a problem. Breakfast was fresh and tasty with a very good choice and lovely coffee/tea. Rooms spotless light and modern with everything you need. Best hotel we have stayed in for a long time, Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nursekittykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#67 of 412 in Florence
543 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#31 of 412 in Florence
2,302 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#40 of 412 in Florence
2,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#56 of 412 in Florence
499 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#55 of 412 in Florence
795 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#39 of 412 in Florence
1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel dei Macchiaioli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel dei Macchiaioli

Property: Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 21, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel dei Macchiaioli 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel dei Macchiaioli is a brand new 3 star hotel located in Florence's beautiful historical centre, the perfect choice for those looking to spend a holiday in the very heart of the city known as the cradle of the Renaissance. The hotel is situated in the historic Palazzo Morrocchi, centrally located on via Cavour, one of the city's most prestigious streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel dei Macchiaioli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing