We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely staff, fabulous place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Ranked #58 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We had a great stay at this hotel and would recommend it to anyone - we'll stay here again next time.
A beautiful grand old breakfast room with a great breakfast to match.
Free wi fi in rooms.
Good, clean and quiet hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ineed100moreholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2011

Thank you for the time you took to write your review.

We wish you a happy life !

Kind regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (902)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

507 - 513 of 902 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2011

My husband and I had a great experience at this hotel in Florence, Italy. The location was ideal and the staff were so super friendly and helpful. They were some of the nicest people we met in all of Italy! The hotel was clean and beautiful and very comfortable. We hope to be back. We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone visiting Florence. The staff will go out of their way to accomodate you and make your experience a great one. Thank you Hotel Dei Macchiaoli!!
Sean and Debbie - June 2011

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank italyvacation_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2011

Thank you for writing a review and thank you for let us know how your stay was.
We really try to do our best to let have a pleasnt stay to our guests, always.

Warm regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Delightful small hotel in the centre of Florence. Don't be put off by the street entrance. Just 3mins to Duomo/Accademia. New hotel in old palace so decor fresh and bright, everywhere kept very clean. But the most important fact is that Francesca, Paulo and the staff are most friendly and helpful with information and bookings.
Had good meals at nearby Mangiafuoco Restaurant. Medium price.
Best Church and city view San Miniato

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Crag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2011

Thank you for your review.

We are happy to read that you have had a nice stay.

Friendly regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

The hotel is within a short walking distance of most major attractions in Florence, and a short cab ride (€10-12) from the train station. There are some steps to haul your bags up to reception, but they have a camera to see you coming and will come down to help. And, that is just the beginning of some seriously friendly and dedicated service - one of the best attributes of this hotel.

The rooms are bright and new, reasonably spacious by European standards. Our bathroom was quite narrow (about 1.5 people wide throughout), requiring some care to navigate. Other than that, the facilities were just fine. The WiFi didn't work for us, necessitating use of an Ethernet cable cheerfully provided. The room has a safe for stowing your valuables.

Breakfast is in one of more visually stunning rooms, as breakfasts go. The roof has some nice paintings in panels and considerably enhances the aesthetic appeal of the setting. There was a decent spread of pastries, juices, cheeses and cold cuts - but no hot items at all.

There is a nice little shop downstairs of the hotel, dedicated to Leonardo da Vinci's work.

Overall, very pleasant place to stay in Florence.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luv2travel560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, Booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2011

Thank you for sharing with us and other travellers your experience during your stay.
It was a pleasure having you in our Hotel and we look forward to welcome you again.

Warm regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

My wife and our two children who are in their twenties stayed at this wonderful hotel in May. We relied on the reviews on Trip Advisor and we are so glad that we did. The entire hotel staff could not have been more incredible. They were always very helpful and friendly and made us feel like we were very special. Even before we arrived the staff made reservations for us at the Uffizi and The Academia. The accomodations were modern with old world charm and extremely tasteful. The rooms and bathrooms were large, clean and modern. The location was perfect. The breakfast was tasty and plentiful. This hotel is one that we would have no questions about returning to stay or reccomending to our best friends.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank satravelers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, Booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2011

Thank you for your review !
It is important for us to know that you have had a nice stay with us.

We love our work and we hope to be able to do it always in the right way

Friendly regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

This hotel is in the old section of Florence but they called garage to pick up car (you can’t drive/park in the old part without permit); very good breakfast selection; desk very helpful and efficient; beautiful reception and dining rooms; all nationalities there. Our room and bath were very spacious (it might have been a handicapped room). The whole hotel is on the second floor of a building and you have to walk up lovely marble steps to the reception desk. Not a problem if you are able. While on a busy street, the rooms are to the back and very quiet. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cclgbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, Booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2011

All our staff wants to thank you for having beeing so kind to us.

It is nice to read such a consideration in your words.

Hopefully you will came somewhen.

Warm regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Traveling to Europe for the first time with my husband and young teenage son, so I didn't know what to expect. This hotel more than met our expectations and had a great location. Very central to all the attractions and within walking distance of the train station. The staff were extremely helpful from the minute we got there. They asked if we had reservations for the Accademia and Uffizi, which we did not. A call was made while we were checking in and before we were in our room we had reservations for both, one was for that same day.

We also asked for dinner recommendations two different nights. Both were excellent and we got good recommendations for real gelato and granita. Again, both were excellent.

Breakfast buffet was more than ample and great selection. We had the suite since there were three of us, with my son in a single room and my husband and I in the other room. Plenty of room for us and everything was very clean.
Beautiful hotel, excellent staff and great location. You can't go wrong!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gardeninggirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 411 in Florence
2,408 reviews
San Lorenzo
Florence Dome Hotel
Florence Dome Hotel
#87 of 411 in Florence
438 reviews
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#70 of 411 in Florence
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Colomba
Hotel Colomba
#79 of 411 in Florence
1,276 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#51 of 411 in Florence
2,829 reviews
Hotel La Fortezza
#63 of 411 in Florence
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel dei Macchiaioli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel dei Macchiaioli

Address: Via Camillo Cavour 21, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £44 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel dei Macchiaioli 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel dei Macchiaioli is a brand new 3 star hotel located in Florence's beautiful historical centre, the perfect choice for those looking to spend a holiday in the very heart of the city known as the cradle of the Renaissance. The hotel is situated in the historic Palazzo Morrocchi, centrally located on via Cavour, one of the city's most prestigious streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel dei Macchiaioli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing