We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, perfect location and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Ranked #58 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Even though we only spent 1 night, the hotel was very good. Friendly staff who took care of our car (private voiturier - not expensive and at least the car is safe). Very good location: 5m, from the Duomo and city centre. Very clean room, nice bath room.
Note the frescoes in the dining room!
The breakfast has lots of choice but the service was a bit chaotic as we were missing plates, knifes etc...but all sorted out in a couple of minutes.
We would recommend this very good hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schipot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, Responsabile reception at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2011

Thank you !!!

We hope to see you somewhen again :)

Kind regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (892)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

501 - 507 of 892 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2011

If you are going to Florence and are looking for a nice, central, clean place to stay, this is it. But if you stay in this hotel, you´ll get a super bonus: a sweet and special staff, in a cozy environment. This is a new hotel inside an historical building, everything is quite perfect, good room, nice bed, good bathroom, good shower, nice breakfast. Near the main sites in Firenze! Francesca, Alessandro, Paolo and Marco will do eveything for you to feel welcome and home! And you sure will. I met other gests that were spending their vacations there and they all felt the same way! So, search no more!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Luizasch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, Responsabile reception at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2011

"simply the best" we like to read it :):)

Thank you so much !
We are happy to hear that you have had a nice stay with us.

Friendly regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Thanks so much to the entire staff at Macchiaioli - what a helpful bunch! They truly go out of their way to make your stay comfortable and to make sure that you have everything you could ever want or need. One evening, my father and I were a bit tired and wanted to sit on the small balcony outside of the breakfast room and drink wine and the staff opened our bottles, suggested that we take chairs outside, came to check on us and later suggested some things to do the next day, including stopping by a bakery that sold fresh treats that would go well with my father's favorite wine. They really made the stay a treat. Aside from the staff, the rooms are quite charming, the bathroom was large, they accommodated our request for 2 beds, the breakfast was great and everything was extremely clean. In an area where there is truly NO parking, they can easily arrange for your car to be picked up and dropped off at the hotel for you for 24 euro/day, which is a bargain and was very convenient. The only thing to prepare for is a walk up some stairs. It's not a problem if you know about it in advance, but come prepared and leave your big suitcases in the car. Overall, this is a great, charming, beautiful place with amazing service. I plan to stay here on my next trip to Florence and recommend it to anyone looking for a great place in a great location!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nolegirl217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, Responsabile reception at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2011

Dear Guests,

we thank you for the time you took to write your review and thank you for the nice words.

Warm regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We had a great stay at this hotel and would recommend it to anyone - we'll stay here again next time.
A beautiful grand old breakfast room with a great breakfast to match.
Free wi fi in rooms.
Good, clean and quiet hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ineed100moreholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2011

Thank you for the time you took to write your review.

We wish you a happy life !

Kind regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

My husband and I had a great experience at this hotel in Florence, Italy. The location was ideal and the staff were so super friendly and helpful. They were some of the nicest people we met in all of Italy! The hotel was clean and beautiful and very comfortable. We hope to be back. We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone visiting Florence. The staff will go out of their way to accomodate you and make your experience a great one. Thank you Hotel Dei Macchiaoli!!
Sean and Debbie - June 2011

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank italyvacation_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2011

Thank you for writing a review and thank you for let us know how your stay was.
We really try to do our best to let have a pleasnt stay to our guests, always.

Warm regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Delightful small hotel in the centre of Florence. Don't be put off by the street entrance. Just 3mins to Duomo/Accademia. New hotel in old palace so decor fresh and bright, everywhere kept very clean. But the most important fact is that Francesca, Paulo and the staff are most friendly and helpful with information and bookings.
Had good meals at nearby Mangiafuoco Restaurant. Medium price.
Best Church and city view San Miniato

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Crag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2011

Thank you for your review.

We are happy to read that you have had a nice stay.

Friendly regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

The hotel is within a short walking distance of most major attractions in Florence, and a short cab ride (€10-12) from the train station. There are some steps to haul your bags up to reception, but they have a camera to see you coming and will come down to help. And, that is just the beginning of some seriously friendly and dedicated service - one of the best attributes of this hotel.

The rooms are bright and new, reasonably spacious by European standards. Our bathroom was quite narrow (about 1.5 people wide throughout), requiring some care to navigate. Other than that, the facilities were just fine. The WiFi didn't work for us, necessitating use of an Ethernet cable cheerfully provided. The room has a safe for stowing your valuables.

Breakfast is in one of more visually stunning rooms, as breakfasts go. The roof has some nice paintings in panels and considerably enhances the aesthetic appeal of the setting. There was a decent spread of pastries, juices, cheeses and cold cuts - but no hot items at all.

There is a nice little shop downstairs of the hotel, dedicated to Leonardo da Vinci's work.

Overall, very pleasant place to stay in Florence.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luv2travel560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, Booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2011

Thank you for sharing with us and other travellers your experience during your stay.
It was a pleasure having you in our Hotel and we look forward to welcome you again.

Warm regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#27 of 410 in Florence
2,390 reviews
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#67 of 410 in Florence
586 reviews
San Lorenzo
Florence Dome Hotel
Florence Dome Hotel
#87 of 410 in Florence
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#55 of 410 in Florence
515 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#51 of 410 in Florence
2,823 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Colomba
Hotel Colomba
#78 of 410 in Florence
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel dei Macchiaioli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel dei Macchiaioli

Address: Via Camillo Cavour 21, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £44 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel dei Macchiaioli 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel dei Macchiaioli is a brand new 3 star hotel located in Florence's beautiful historical centre, the perfect choice for those looking to spend a holiday in the very heart of the city known as the cradle of the Renaissance. The hotel is situated in the historic Palazzo Morrocchi, centrally located on via Cavour, one of the city's most prestigious streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel dei Macchiaioli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing