We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Lungarno(Florence)
US$603
US$572
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$317
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Orcagna Hotel(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$163
US$159
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
NH Firenze Anglo American(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$182
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Degli Orafi(Florence)
US$396
US$321
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$970
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa(Florence)
US$638
US$485
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$364
US$280
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$298
US$274
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Davanzati(Florence)
US$357
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (920)
Filter reviews
920 results
Traveller rating
594
274
42
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
594
274
42
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast roomgreat locationtrain stationno elevatorfrescoed ceilingsfamily suitevia cavourpainted ceilingyogurtaccademia galleryheavy bagsfirst floorsmall hotelthe hotel staffwonderful hotelwalking distancesmall balcony
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
471 - 476 of 920 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed at the Hotel in October 2011. The location is perfect. Less than five minutes walk from the Duomo and close to the Accademia. The hotel is immaculate. But, the best part is the staff. Both Alessandro and Paolo bend over backwards to be helpful. They recommend restaurants and sites, make and change reservations, give directions, and in general take care of your every need. Their English is great. Paolo took us on a private tour of the Uffitzi. The breakfast room is charming. Be aware that there is a long flight of stairs up to the hotel. But Paolo and Alessandro jump to get your luggage, so you only have to get yourself up. Also, although the hotel is on a very crowded street, it is remarkably quiet. I definately would stay there again. I've already recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2011

Dear D,

thank you for your nice words.
Expecially A. and P. say a huge THANK YOU to you !

We are proud that you have had a nice stay and that you liked the uffizi tour that P. made for/with you.
His tours are getting very popular :)

Warm regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

I have stayed twice at this hotel, and my second visit did not disappoint in the least. Paolo and Alessandro are both friendly and willing to make your Florence visit the best possible. They both speak English and have great ideas for dining, tours and the like. They guided me toward Boston Travel, literally 1 block away, for train tickets. The breakfast is delightful and the caffee is always fresh and hot. The hotel is clean, and there was plenty of hot water. When I return to Florence, next year, I will definitely stay here. I consider both Paolo and Alessandro my friends. I highly recommend this hotel. It's not the cheapest, but the personal touch you receive is well worth the money. They also will arrange for tickets to the Uffizzi and the Academia.They act in a sincere manner and really do care about your stay.

Room Tip: really, all the rooms are quiet, though there is not much of a view from your room. There is no fitness center here. The restaurant is only for breakfast, though I did request a caffee later in the day.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2011

Dear friends,

it was amazing having you here. We really hope that you can plan to came back to Florence somewhen.

We are happy that you liked your stay so much.

See you !!!!

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

This hotel was absolutely fantastic! The staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast was delicious, the rooms were spacious, modern and comfortable and the location was within walking distance of everything. In addition the hotel is quite affordable. I highly recommend staying here for any trip to Florence and hope to come back again some time soon.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CNKBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2011

Dear Guests,

we thank you for taking time to write us a review.

Your words let us understand that we are on the right way.

Kind regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

I can't find one fault with this hotel! Everything was great, especially the lovely kind service of the staff at the front desk. Great location just down the road from shops and restaurants. Good variety at buffet breakfast too.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuiH82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2011

All our staff says THANK YOU !!!!

Thank you let us know how was your stay with us .

We hope to see you again here.

Friendy regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

My friend and I spent three nights at the Hotel dei Macchiaioli. We were welcomed at the door by our "host", Alexander and made welcome throughout our stay. The hotel is beautifully decorated, blending the old ceiling frescos and molding with a modern clean look. The breakfast was very good and served at reasonable hours. With so little time and a wish to sample the best of Florentine cuisine, the staff made wonderful recommendations and even made reservations for us. Any return trip to Florence will mean a return trip to the Macchiaioli!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clara m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2011

We are so happy that you loved yout stay with us !

We always try to let our guests have a nice experience in our hotel.

Warm regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews