We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Ranked #43 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved this hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

I just returned from traveling around Italy. I cannot say enough about the quality of the staff at this lovely Florence hotel. Alessandro and Paolo, whose English is excellent, helped me make and change reservations, looked up plane and train schedules for me, and let me keep a bag there while I hiked for a week in Tuscany. Francesca, who is also charming, and Paolo helped lug my bag up or down the stairs, depending on who was there when I came and went. The hotel is immaculate, the service excellent, the cappucinos delicious, and the location was ideal for sightseeing, shopping, and good restaurants. For my next trip to Italy, I will try to plan it around Florence so I can stay there again!

Room Tip: As a single, I was in #108 twice. It was small but quiet and comfortable. Very happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
Dear N.

thank you for your review !

As you was in room 108 we are particularly happy the you have had a quite stay.
That means that the EXTRA SOUNDPROOF DOOR that we put at the begin of the corridor to protect the rooms 108, 109, 110, 111 and 112 against the possible noises coming from the bar works great !!

We wish you a "quite" life .

Warm regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    249
    34
    4
    2
See reviews for
176
453
32
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel dei Macchiaioli for 4 nights during our 3-week trip through Italy that took us to Sicily, Rome, Venice and Florence. First and foremost, we cannot say enough about the wonderful staff who greeted us with the same smiling "Ciao" on the first day as they did each time we left or came back to the hotel. Alessandro, Francesca and Paolo are simply the best. They are friendly, knowledgeable and helpful with everything you could possibly need to make you stay in the hotel and your visit to Florence perfect. And, Alessandro's restaurant recommendations are "spot on"!

The hotel is centrally located making sightseeing a breeze; we walked easily to the Duomo, the Baptistry, the Uffizi, the Ponte Vecchio... really all of the major sights. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious and IMMACULATE. The breakfast buffet has a nice assortment of fresh fruits, yogurt, pastries, cheese, meats, cereal, juice, coffee, teas, etc. There is a bar and sitting rooms where guests can read, exchange information, sip a glass of wine or a cappuccino and generally relax and unwind. While we were there, we saw guests enjoying a late night pizza and wine at a table in one of the sitting rooms. It is truly a family-like atmosphere.

It is rare to find a hotel that is so well run, so clean, so centrally located and that also has such a welcoming and friendly feeling. Easily the best hotel of our 3-week trip. This is one you should not hesitate to book...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginclearwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
Wowwwwwwwwwwwww!!!

You review ia amazing. Thank you :):)

We really don't know were to begin to say thank you .
We Al. , Fr. and Pa. are so happy about your words.

Please came back if you can.

Warm regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed at the Hotel in October 2011. The location is perfect. Less than five minutes walk from the Duomo and close to the Accademia. The hotel is immaculate. But, the best part is the staff. Both Alessandro and Paolo bend over backwards to be helpful. They recommend restaurants and sites, make and change reservations, give directions, and in general take care of your every need. Their English is great. Paolo took us on a private tour of the Uffitzi. The breakfast room is charming. Be aware that there is a long flight of stairs up to the hotel. But Paolo and Alessandro jump to get your luggage, so you only have to get yourself up. Also, although the hotel is on a very crowded street, it is remarkably quiet. I definately would stay there again. I've already recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
Dear D,

thank you for your nice words.
Expecially A. and P. say a huge THANK YOU to you !

We are proud that you have had a nice stay and that you liked the uffizi tour that P. made for/with you.
His tours are getting very popular :)

Warm regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, il
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

I have stayed twice at this hotel, and my second visit did not disappoint in the least. Paolo and Alessandro are both friendly and willing to make your Florence visit the best possible. They both speak English and have great ideas for dining, tours and the like. They guided me toward Boston Travel, literally 1 block away, for train tickets. The breakfast is delightful and the caffee is always fresh and hot. The hotel is clean, and there was plenty of hot water. When I return to Florence, next year, I will definitely stay here. I consider both Paolo and Alessandro my friends. I highly recommend this hotel. It's not the cheapest, but the personal touch you receive is well worth the money. They also will arrange for tickets to the Uffizzi and the Academia.They act in a sincere manner and really do care about your stay.

Room Tip: really, all the rooms are quiet, though there is not much of a view from your room. There is no fitn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
Dear friends,

it was amazing having you here. We really hope that you can plan to came back to Florence somewhen.

We are happy that you liked your stay so much.

See you !!!!

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

This hotel was absolutely fantastic! The staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast was delicious, the rooms were spacious, modern and comfortable and the location was within walking distance of everything. In addition the hotel is quite affordable. I highly recommend staying here for any trip to Florence and hope to come back again some time soon.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CNKBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
Dear Guests,

we thank you for taking time to write us a review.

Your words let us understand that we are on the right way.

Kind regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

I can't find one fault with this hotel! Everything was great, especially the lovely kind service of the staff at the front desk. Great location just down the road from shops and restaurants. Good variety at buffet breakfast too.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuiH82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
All our staff says THANK YOU !!!!

Thank you let us know how was your stay with us .

We hope to see you again here.

Friendy regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

My friend and I spent three nights at the Hotel dei Macchiaioli. We were welcomed at the door by our "host", Alexander and made welcome throughout our stay. The hotel is beautifully decorated, blending the old ceiling frescos and molding with a modern clean look. The breakfast was very good and served at reasonable hours. With so little time and a wish to sample the best of Florentine cuisine, the staff made wonderful recommendations and even made reservations for us. Any return trip to Florence will mean a return trip to the Macchiaioli!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clara m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
We are so happy that you loved yout stay with us !

We always try to let our guests have a nice experience in our hotel.

Warm regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#56 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#34 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#40 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,843 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#52 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel dei Macchiaioli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel dei Macchiaioli

Property: Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 21, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel dei Macchiaioli 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel dei Macchiaioli is a brand new 3 star hotel located in Florence's beautiful historical centre, the perfect choice for those looking to spend a holiday in the very heart of the city known as the cradle of the Renaissance. The hotel is situated in the historic Palazzo Morrocchi, centrally located on via Cavour, one of the city's most prestigious streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel dei Macchiaioli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing